We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed here many times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Motor Lodge
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We have stayed here many times”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I live in Knoxville but when we want just a little get away this is where we go. Yes it is a little outdated but for the price why complain. The rooms are very spacious and always clean,. The jacuzzi tubs are amazing and we have never had any problems with people being rude to us. As a matter of fact Chris Garza is SUPER! He has always gone out of his way to make sure we enjoy our stay,
I have a bug phobia and I can tell you that we have stayed here probably 20 times if not more in the last few years and I have NEVER seen a bug of any kind in my room. We have also never had any trouble parking and NEVER had to pay to park. Anyway if you just want a nice clean place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
93
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in a 2 room suite. It was a nice size for a family of 5. We had plenty of room to spread out. Nice pool area. Man at front desk was nice. I liked this hotel, but there are other hotels in pigeon forge I like a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sher0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Date of stay - Friday, April 5, 2013 in the "penthouse".

Could not check in at time reservation lady told us, (which was 3 p.m.) Had to wait over an hour because housekeepers hadn't even started cleaning when party guest were arriving.

Heavy set male desk clerk was very rude. Came half running out of the office to the outside and asked, "where did that old man go?" I said he was my husband and that he was getting things out of our car. No apology for his rude remark.

He began raising his voice at me saying we were going to be charged 15.00 per towel if our sons did not take towels at pool up to our room. They weren't even our towels!! Nonetheless our sons picked up dirty pool towels and took then up to where we were staying. We ended up having almost double the amount we started with. Desk clerk you need to get your act together.

"Penthouse" was dirty and smelled like smoke. But could hardly check out with 10 youth having to start their party late as it was and some already had to leave for work before they could even get into the "penthouse" because of late cleaning. Manager said we could have checked out if we didn't like it, but that was impossible at 5 on a Friday night for that many people. All the larger good facilities had already been reserved at the beginning of the week!

Indoor pool was cold and we were told it only heated a half degree per hour.

Carpet and furniture had stains and tears.

Later when my husband and I went to bed we discovered the phone outlet was torn and hanging by wires, streaks of roof leakage above bed, small full bed pad on bed instead of a king size. Sheets were wrinkled and didn't even look changed. Husband went down to get fresh sheets and didn't have one for the mattress, just one flat sheet, (with hairs on it).

Pillows were rock hard. I have a firm pillow at home because I like support, but these pillows made my ear hurt they were so hard.

Dead roach behind bathroom door.

Filthy stove and oven.

No dishwasher to wash the few dishes that were in cabinets. Not sanitary at all. Had to buy paper plates, silverware, etc.

Paid over $140.00 for this "penthouse". Given all the problems, management would not even give us a partial discount.

We live in this area and husband drives trolley. Believe me, he will not recommend this place to anyone...he wouldn't want his trolley riders being disappointed and treated rudely.

We have photos and if you want to see this for yourself you can email us at aliceclaybo@gmail.com

IMPORTANT - this is the RIVERSIDE MOTOR LODGE which is beside Food City. (There are other River named places in Pigeon Forge so don't want anyone to get them mixed up.)

Room Tip: Check the room BEFORE you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliceC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon O, Owner at Riverside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am so sorry for your unpleasant stay with us! we are now under new ownership and have done many changes and up grades to all of our rooms including our penthouse. we have since replaced all of the carpet, changed the majority of our rooms (including the penthouse) to non smoking, replaced all of our tvs with new flat screen tv's, replaced all of the old furniture with new couches where needed. we also have upgraded our security system to better protect both our guests and there personal property as well as our parking area. in addition to this we have also reformed our staff to be gracious and kind to all of our guests and restaffed where needed as well. we also take our reviews very serious and follow up with the issues that are addressed by our guests and it was this review that prompted a major change in our business.

thank you for taking the time to point out these problems for us to address and we hope that now that we are under new ownership and have done these upgrades that you will give us another chance!

thank you so much,
Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

For our wedding night, we stayed in Gatlinburg and were unhappy with the room we received. The next night we went to Pigeon Forge and bought our room at the Riverside Motor Lodge. Indoor heated pool, friendly staff, convenient location next to Food City. The rooms were spacious - with a jacuzzi, fireplace, and cable TV. No issues over the years, everything has always been great - the staff even remembered us thru the years! We stayed at this same hotel every year for 12 years in a row on our anniversary! We love it here, and will come back in the future. We wish they were pet-friendly, but I guess one can't have everything. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the motor lodge and the room was definetly worth the price. It was clean, spacious, and the fireplace was very nice. Everything worked very well and housekeeping did a very good job, plus the indoor pool was clean. Another plus was you can walk to alot of things a whole lot better than having to fight traffic. The cons to this hotel were the beds could be more comfortable and the wifi was not good at all. Overall, we probably won't stay here again I would rather have a hotel with free breakfast and better beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWright2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is an OLD motel. No flatscreens here, but there is a tv, just older model. However, the rooms were very clean, everything worked, new carpet, new tile. Love the way it is set up. Come in the room, there is kind of like a butler's pantry area with a little fridge, (looked new, worked great, no freezer in it), little sink, two eye electric cook top, furnished silverware, plates, cups, etc., then walk thru area where there is vanity area into other full bedroom. So you get two bedrooms that can be closed off by sliding divider and one bath between the two. For the amount of money, I was pleasantly surprised and pleased. I think they are redoing all of the rooms in the motel and we may have gotten one of the ones that had been redone. Like I said it is old, but had no complaints about the room and the beds were soooo comfortable. Slept like a baby. Will definitely stay here again. Within walking distance of everything downtown Pigeon Forge. Can walk to the Old Mill area and Patriot Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abemzpcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have stayed at this motel a number of times, and we were aware it was outdated, but didn't know customer service was outdated as well. From the disinterest at check-in, to the very rude behavior upon our efforts to find a parking space in their lot (to which we were told they don't guarantee a place to park during busy weekends), to the lack of supplies in the room.....our stay was a challenge. We paid to park in the adjuacent church parking lot, and could not move our vehicle all weekend for fear of losing that space as well. The night staff was very friendly and readily provided supplies not left by the cleaning staff, but the day staff didn't care. We paid for two rooms (almost $900 due to the show), yet didn't even get to park our one car, had no room supplies, and rude service (day only)......so we were disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KaylaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 mi away
RiverGate Mountain Lodge & Wedding Chapel
0.2 mi away
All Season Suites
All Season Suites
#35 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,038 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shular Inn Hotel
Shular Inn Hotel
#47 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Lodge South Motel
River Lodge South Motel
#82 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motor Lodge

Property: Riverside Motor Lodge
Address: 3575 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#25 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Old Mill Avenue and Dollywood lane in Pigeon Forge, Riverside Motor Lodge has everything you need to make your vacation complete. From our wide range of suites to our over sized Penthouse, no matter what the occasion we have what you are looking for. Our heated indoor pool offers fun and relaxation even through the coldest winter days while the fireplaces in our family and honeymoon suites wait to warm you back up. Before you settle for another standard room come see what a Riverside Vacation is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Motor Hotel Pigeon Forge
Riverside Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing