We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Ridge Resort
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We have just returned from a week at this resort.
The resort is older, but the upkeep of it was great! We had a one bedroom with fold out sofa sleeper. The unit was smaller that we expected, but was very clean and up-to-date. Everything in the room was nice, and worked good. The only complaints we have are: the water pressure in the shower was about like our camper-- little to none!
The pools are way too small! Even though our child loved them, I thought they needed to be a lot bigger.
The view from out third floor balcony was unbelieveable!!! It was one of the best views we have ever had. The Great Smokey Mountains was in its full glory.
One night they had their guest relations building burn down. The building was only being used as storage, but still it was a very dramatic event for us to watch. We stayed on the balcony for over an hour (3:15am!!) and watched the wonderful firemen doing their jobs.
The Smokeys are a sight to see. We did a lot of driving and hiking and were very taken with the place. Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg we could have missed and not noticed (or cared).
We had to go to Dollywood and Splash Country for the child. She loved them, but my hubby and I could have passed.
The resort was sold as a smoking resort, and I had read that in the past. We are very cautious with the smell of smoke, but we never smelled anything.
The location of the resort first seemed kind of weird, but after we had been there a while, we enjoyed the location. It is back in a residential area, but that means away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank darlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 215 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2008

Hello - we just returned from a week long family vacation & we stayed in the Sunrise Ridge 1 bedroom deluxe timeshare. The room was well laid out for a family of 4. The kitchen was well equipped. I would say it was a very typical timeshare layout with the kitchen, stacked washer and dryer, pull out bed, etc.

Pros: Loved the grills right outside the resort rooms
Loved having both an indoor pool/Jacuzzi or outdoor for inclement weather times when you still want to swim (thunderstorms, etc.)
Service at front desk was very helpful and responsive
Parking was ample
Loved the bellman luggage carts you could utilize to roll your own luggage or groceries into your room whenever needed

Cons: Strange location - way up the side of a mountain on a narrow residential street in the middle of nowhere
Pigeon Forge is super tacky - Gatlinburg is much nicer
Smoking is still permitted so CALL the desk prior to your arrival to have them treat the room - I was really worried about this and went so far as to also purchase candles to mask the smell which I DID have to use - if you do not deal well with smoking/smell of smoking you can still handle it - just run the A/C, get the room treated before you arrive & go ahead & purchase some candles & you will be fine - I have terrible allergies to smoke and stayed 5 nights & was fine

Must do's: Old Mill Restaurant, Applebarn Restaurant, Ober Gatlinburg Lift, White Water Rafting Tour (really long drive but worth it)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gollal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

My wife and I, and our 4 young children (5, 3, 2 and 9 mths) spent a week of relaxation (Feb. 16-23rd) at the Sunrise Ridge Resort, using RCI "extra vacations". It is located just off the parkway (via teaster lane, then ridge road) and sits on a ridge (of course); we stayed in a 2BR/2BA condo on the 1st (of 3 total) floor. There were also Pedestal homes scattered throughout the property. The view from our 1st floor balcony and master bedroom were incredible and I would expect them to be from any of the condominiums. Some of the pedestal homes were a little downhill from the main condo units and may, or may not have the same vantage point. The full kitchen was nice, though was a little limited in some utensils. Being a larger family, a larger skillet, for example. (our unit only had 1 skillet, 8-10 inches) The room was very clean, but our unit had some pretty noticeable carpet damage just to the left of the dining area. Possibly from a pet? (even though I think they are not allowed) This was a very minor thing, however. The master had a King, the 2nd BR w/ 2 full/double size and a full size sleeper in the LR. T.V.'s w/ remotes in all of these rooms. Very nice jacuzzi (open area) in the MBR and a walk-in shower in the closed area of the bathroom. 2nd bathroom had standard tub/shower, plus stacked washer and dryer. (nice to go home with clean clothes) The balcony is large enough for table and 4-6 chairs. I saw a couple of outdoor pools (closed for the season). The indoor pool area is very nice, but was a pretty good distance from our unit. It has a nice sized, heated pool, hot tub, sauna, bathrooms and plenty of sitting area with glass enclosure, so you can enjoy the views. Kids loved this! Our only negative for the week happened when they overdosed the hot tub with chlorine one morning. My wife's solid peach two-piece now has a tie-dyed appearance! There looked to be several gas grills at picnic areas near the pools, as well. We didn't brave the cold/wind we experienced during our week, however. They do have an activities center with things to do during the week (closed Fri). hotdog cookout, lasagna dinner, pepsi/coke/rc taste challenge, pamper yourself were some of the themes during our week. The workout room is limited to treadmills (3-4 maybe) and there is a small video gameroom, all located adjacent to the activities center office. You can take advantage of small discounts for some of the attractions at the activities center. We used it for the Aquarium in Gatlinburg. I think the Dixie Stampede is another they offer discounts for. At check-in they will hit you up for the timeshare presentation; not really a pressure deal, just offering a free breakfast, and a pretty decent discounted rate on select attractions/shows. We declined b/c of our kids, but didn't inquire whether they offered childcare for this or not. Other than the pool, there really isn't much for young children at the resort itself, but really, you don't go to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg to stay at your resort all day anyway, right? In warmer months, we might have enjoyed a playground and they do have the space to add in the future, should they decide. Overall, we loved our stay and definitely would return and would recommend to anybody. The location is fantastic. I would estimate that it is b/t light #'s 4 and 6 on the parkway and just a few minutes drive down the mountain to the parkway. We made a day trip to Cherokee, NC and then back thru Cades Cove. Enjoyed the Comedy Barn (Hillarious!) and the aquarium (Gatlinburg). Plus, the millions of Christmas lights were still up for the kids to enjoy. Too much to do and to mention, and all lot's of fun! Hope this helps!
p.s. forgot to mention, the activities center offers the discount cards to Food City; we had already made the trip to the Wal-Mart Supercenter before we knew.....

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

The resort was smaller than expected. Good views of the mountains are possible, but you would have to be staying at the top of the hill. There is a lookout point for good pictures. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and clean, and the building was large and well-heated. There was a nice picnic area next to the indoor pool with grills. The exercise room is small, treadmills only, and you have to get a key from the front desk. The best part was our pedestal house; it had plenty of room for eight people, it was clean and furnishings and carpet were fairly new. The resort is very close to Pigeon Forge, about a 5 minute drive. Bottom line: A nice place to stay if you’re going to Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg, but not a destination itself. Gold Crown status should be reviewed, unless they offer more amenities, such as a park/playground.

Quick Tips/Suggestions:
•Things to do in the area: Deer Farm petting zoo, Old Mill and Kids’ rides in Pigeon Forge.
•Things to do outside your room: walk the hills, go to the pools, have a picnic, play video games in the game room.
•Suggestions for the resort: add a park of a play-ground. There is a large flat, open space at the bottom of the hill that is taken up by a parking lot and a building they use for their real estate meetings. This area would make a great park. And they need something there for kids.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank birthdayboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.9 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#8 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pigeon Forge
Hilton Garden Inn Pigeon Forge
#10 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,590 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Resort

Address: 2301 Ridge Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#18 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Ridge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing