We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another guest was given our room and tried to come in at 12:45 a.m.!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another guest was given our room and tried to come in at 12:45 a.m.!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Let me start by saying the hotel needs help. I agree with other reviews in that the lobby is very deceiving. They have remodeled it and not much else. The pool area is very old. Pool is small and there were about 30 people in it at 11 p.m.!! It's not a big enough pool for the size of the hotel. A boy was running in the pool area and slipped and fell, cut his back and bumped his head. You will usually see an employee checking things out now and again. I understand no life guard, but you expect someone that worked there to be keeping an eye on things....not one.

When we checked in that afternoon, we went up to our room only to find out that neither of our key cards worked. We only came from Knoxville. After a very long and hot 2 1/2 hour drive in bumper to bumper traffic (that should have been about an hour, but there was road construction on top of the already very busy roadway) I have to go back to the front desk and wait on someone to change our keys. Mind you, the hallways did not have air nor did the elevators. Crazy!! I get our new keys and the woman at the front desk says to keep them away from our cell phones so they don't demagnetize. I read other reviews and this seems to be an issue they have often. The worst part is that me, my mother and small child were sound asleep in our room when we awoke at 12:45 a.m. to someone jamming their key in our door and jiggling the handle over and over. Once I realized what it was and it was our room, I jumped up and someone had opened the door, but the dead bolt was on. They basically said, oops...wrong room. We called security and they came up and told us that when we got the new keys our names were removed from the room and the room was given to someone else!!!! WHAT???? Now I've stayed in rooms before where someone has knocked and got the wrong room, but I felt safe because they didn't have a key. We DID NOT feel safe here. What if we were down at the pool and this person went in and took all of our stuff? The manager offered us breakfast and to change rooms. We declined. We were traveling on points and the manager said he would return them. How could we go back to sleep??? We checked out and drove home. It was too upsetting to us as 2 women and a young girl on our own. It is such a big hotel that you don't see people all of that often. Also, they have an elevator from the pool back to the rooms where you don't see a single person the entire time. Green badly stained carpet and old cushions of some sort piled up against the wall. It is very creepy and not a place I will ever...ever go back to.

Please read all the reviews before you decide to stay here. They have tried to mask it's disrepair and not very well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Talbs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Talbs1972,

We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. On behalf of myself and the entire Management Team here at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, we extend you our sincerest apologies for the incident you described.

Upon investigating the circumstances we have determined this was the action of a new employee in training. We have addressed this training issue with the individual in question to ensure this does not occur in the future. We understand your concern and we want to assure you that the safety and security of our guests is our highest priority.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, our Management Team will be more than happy to speak with you. Simply call us at 865-428-2700 or email hi.pgftn@cooperhotels.com and we will get in touch with you right away.

Sincerely,

Josh Eldridge
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    134
    141
    90
    67
See reviews for
196
153
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be a great property. It has a great location, nice size rooms, and a large lobby area. However, it is in need of serious updating. The tub in my room had cracks, the covers on the toilet seat screws were missing, the bottom of the bathroom door was falling apart, and the bathroom walls had water damage above the the shower. I am also disappointed to read other reviews that talk about an inexpensive breakfast. We were not told anything about a breakfast buffet. I feel I should also mention that even though the indoor pool is nice, it is not kid friendly. The pool depths start at 3 feet and go up from there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjstek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Social Media Administrator at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sjstek,

We want to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We enjoy direct feedback as it allows us to deliver a great experience and a wonderful product to our guests. We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We have shared your comments with our Management Team for review. They will see that these matters are properly addressed.

We do offer a full service restaurant called Louie's Grill which is open for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant offers a great value to our guests and we are pleased to be able to offer such options to our guests. We apologize that you were not made aware of this during your time with us.

We hope to see you again so that we may improve your opinion of our property and our service. Perhaps next time you can enjoy a meal with us at Louie's Grill.

Thank you,

Josh Eldridge
Social Media Administrator
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

portland, or
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It is a fixed up old hotel. Probably built in the late 70s or early 80s. Holiday Inn refreshed it but you can still tell its age. It was fine to stay there but the AC was loud and the bed super hard. I wouldn't stay there again. I wouldn't go back to Pigeon Forge in general if you paid me, too much of tourist trap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Social Media Administrator at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Sotar09,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your review of our property. We like to take every opportunity to collect feedback from our guests. This allows us to provide the best service possible while delivering the best product available. We have shared your comments concerning your room with our Management Team who will see to it that those issues are properly addressed. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Pigeon Forge.

Sincerely,

Josh Eldridge
Social Media Administrator
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The food is fresh and the employees are nice. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfy. They could use a little updating, but still clean and comfortable. There was a fridge and microwave as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaOreO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear ThaOreO,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thank you,
Candis Mullins
Social Media Director
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlap
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was clean. The staff was very nice however when we went to take a load of our stuff to the car a housekeeping employer came in our room and threw the rest of our stuff away. It was an hour and a half before check out time and we had the privacy tag on our door. We were only gone about 3 minutes we had to dig through the garbage to get our stuff out. The manager offered to pay for breakfast at the motel. Be aware and don't leave things in your room that you don't want throwed away. She could have came in anytime and took what she wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Devan1234,
I am very sorry about the problem you encountered during your stay. I have notified our housekeeping team about this issue, so they can prevent this problem from occurring in the future. We do our very best to ensure that each guests has a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We would love to have you as guests in our hotel again.

Sincerely,
Candis Mullins
Social Media Director
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here only one night. The hotel lobby and restaurant are amazing and eye catching. Don't let this fool you! The rooms are actually older. Despite being older the room was clean but needed a lot of cosmetic repairs. The pool was ok and there was a waterfall which was a nice touch to be in the pool area. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast buffet that we purchased for only a few extra bucks when we reserved the room. The breakfast is amazing due to there being a full service restaurant in the hotel and we were very pleased with the breakfast buffet. This is not your continental breakfast this is an actual restaurant quality buffet. I would actually drive there just to eat breakfast even if I did not stay at the hotel! Overall average hotel with great breakfast!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank k_dog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear k_dog01,
I am very glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our pool area. Thank you for your hospitality and your choice to stay with us. We enjoy receiving new ideas from our guests as to how we can make your stay more enjoyable. This is an older property but it has a rustic touch to it to make our guests feel more comfortable. Please feel free to give us any more feedback as to what we can do to enjoy your company.

Thank you,
Candis Mullins
Social Media Director
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Breakfast buffet is delicious, good variety, nice servers. Hotel rooms are spacious and clean. AC unit cycling on and off in the room was a little annoying but typical. Room keys tend to "lose" their coding so both of us had to go to the front desk and have our cards reprogrammed a day or two into out stay. Glad I wasn't in a hurry when that happened.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSull8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnPF, Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear TSull8,
Thank you so much for such as outstanding review of our hotel! We are very happy we were able to make the rest of your vacation enjoyable. Our staff is very caring and we are glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and found our rooms to be clean. We encourage our guests to contact our 24 hour front desk if there are any issues so that we will have an opportunity to better accomodate, as we want you to have an enjoyable stay. I have shared the A/C unit issue with our maintenance department. I do apologize for the inconvenience you expereienced and thank you for letting us know. We hope to continue giving you amazing service with every future stay with us. We strive for excellence and it is our main goal to not only please, but to make sure your stay is memorable. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Candis Mullins
Social Media Director
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pigeon Forge
0.3 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge

Property: Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Address: 3230 Parkway, PO Box 1383, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you enter our lodge-style lobby, you will feel right at home at the Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge. We are a completely non-smoking full service hotel in the center of all that Pigeon Forge, TN has to offer. Our knowledgeable guest services team is here to help you with your questions about The Great Smoky Mountains National Park or your favorite local attraction. We will make sure you are ready to get your adventure started in the right direction. Each guest room is equipped with a 42 inch LCD-TV, microwave, refrigerator, and FREE wireless internet. As the only Full-Service Hotel in Pigeon Forge, you will be able to eat, sleep, relax, and play all under one room. We offer over 11,000 sq ft of meeting/banquet space with state of the art audio visual equipment that is perfect for seminars, dinner banquets, weddings, reunions, etc. Our on-site Sales and Catering team is here to ease the stress of planning your event. Whether you are here attending an event, enjoying a meal at our on-site restaurant, or in need of a getaway, we provide you with the level of service that you deserve Enjoy total comfort and convenience in Pigeon Forge with the most trusted name in travel and we will make your stay a memorable one. We are planning for your arrival and waiting to say Welcome Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing