We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful! A+”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap & Cheerful! A+”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

While about 3 or 4 miles from the exit it is worth the drive. The first hotel I stopped at was full and the desk attendant recommended the Deerfield Inn. I was pleased with the $72 price after taxes for a king sized bed & nonsmoking room. The room was clean and well maintained. It had fresh clean towels and bed linens. The walls are a little thin but the Inn was quiet by 9:30 p.m. even though it was almost fully booked. The staff was nice and respectful. They also serve coffee, cereal, milk, and orange juice for a light breakfast. Breakfast is included in the room cost. I saw no bugs, dirt, or stains in my room. I stayed in room 208 and would be happy to stay there again while traveling. Also, there are many dining options close by for dinner. If you want groceries a Food Lion grocery store is very close by.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChellDecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Simply put, unless you book direct with them, you are treated like a second rate citizen. I booked this through expedia while driving and was not capable to get anything but a verbal confirmation number. (no fault of Expedia) I arrived at 9:00 pm. and upon checking in, I asked for confirmation of rate. They said as I check out the next morning, it would show up on my receipt, they were not sure what my rate was. I insisted that we establish a rate before I checked in, and the manager reluctantly said he would call and confirm. In the meantime, I went outside and made a call to Expedia, and they confirmed what my nightly rate was. I went in and although the manager was still on the phone, I advised him I would take the room.

On check out the next morning, they cited that they would not issue me a receipt, and directed me to call Expedia to get a receipt.........somewhat of a inconvenience! Expedia cited that a few hotels have real heartburn with travelers using Expedia or other hotel search engines to book rooms, and will give the customers a rough way to go. This was one of them! There were only three vehicles on my side of the hotel that evening, clearly nowhere close to capacity. They can ill afford to treat customers this way.

As for the room, I did find it to be clean, comfortable, and quiet. I can't recommend this hotel. They were a major inconvenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

They must have changed since the last 2 reviews. We had a nice clean room with what appeared to be new bedspreads and clean bedding. It's not plush, but served the purpose of getting us off the road for the night. The parking lot is very small which made it difficult to park our box truck, but again, I have no complaints and I'm a former front office manager at a Hilton property so I'm picky!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewcityfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We payed for a room went in and while my wife was washing her face I pulled the sheets back and there were stains and cigarette burns in the sheets. We packed up and went back to the front desk. He charged us $10 for using the water. Do not waste your time or money. You'd be much more safe and comfortable in your car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed for one night only, that's all I could take for this place...... Never again going back........... Could not sleep comfortably, I was itching all night.. They should wash the bed sheets and covers once in a while..... I didn't use the bed sheets and covers while sleeping.. One more thing, the towels felt hard and had a smell like it's been sitting there for more than two months just collecting dust...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 2 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#2 of 10 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallatin
Hampton Inn Gallatin
#1 of 5 in Gallatin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Franklin
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn White House
Hampton Inn White House
#1 of 5 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Franklin
Days Inn Franklin
#6 of 10 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 416 Highway 52 W, Portland, TN 37148-1465
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sumner County > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deerfield Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing