We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I did a sectionn hike from Davenport Gap to Route 19E in June 2012, ending at Mountain Harbour Hostel. My one-night stay there was excellent.

it's a short downhill walk tothe west of the Trail, close enough so as not to even bother hitchhiking. the owner and staff were friendly. I arrived after the 5 PM shuttle but she still brought me to the barbecue place in town where I got a plate of pulled pork for $7. in the morning,I got the $9 breakfast, which others had told me was a gourmet feast - and it was. imaginative items shared at elegant tables with the B & B guests as well as other thikers.

The place was exceptionally clean. it was a hot day and my only complaint was that the loft where the four single beds were, was very hot - so i slept on the porch using my air mattress instead.

After breakfast, I used the wifi on my smartphone while sitting in the lovely living room of the B & B. and got a shuttle in to Johnson City.

Summary: excellent excellent excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Mary may well be the best inn keeper I have had the pleasure of knowing! She never seems to run out of steam or stories and puts out the best array of breakfast delicacies one could ever dream of. We stayed in the Jefferson Room..not in the hostel...but everyone we met was so friendly and knowledgeable! A true gem and the fact that she serves so many HUNGRY AT thru-hikers more than just food..but offers advice...wisdom..and says just the thing they need to hear to keep them going.....this place is a shining example of what and how a B and B should be and is! Thanks Mary, Terry, and the whole family! Good luck hikers!!!

Room Tip: The Jefferson Room has a private bath..that was important to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikvikBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The people, the breakfast, the animals! This is a great place to rest after a
day or week or month of hiking-or just to go to get away from it all. Mary and Terry are the best hosts, and are there to help in any way they can. Best of the best!

Room Tip: Any or all rooms are great-The Jefferson rooms' jacuzzi can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

As soon as you drive in, you see goats and horses grazing in their pastures and several dogs chasing each other across the lawns. The lawn and gardens are well maintained and the house/hostel are very clean. I stayed in the hiker hostel because I'm hiking the AT at the moment, but I was so jealous of those staying in the cozy house. Rocking chairs on the front porch, 1800s wood burning stoves in the hostel, and a large great room with couches and work tables.

In the morning, we were treated to a fine breakfast of peach cream pastries, sausage, ham, french toast with walnut spread, spinach omelette, bread pudding, watermelon/pomegranate seeds/mandarin orange fruit salad, etc. The food was beautifully presented, all laid out on matching white china platters. Mary, the hostess, was a delight to converse with and she brought an open warmth to the room. It was a fantastic morning for everyone, I think.

5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solex4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

For less than half the price of a lower-end chain hotel, we had both a comfortable night's stay in the "barn" house and a gourmet breakfast. The breakfast included quiche, french toast, peach cream puffs, fresh-baked muffins, sausage, among other dishes. The barn house was homey, and the interior of the main house was spotless. The picturesque scenery immediately outside the house includes a field with horses and a stream with goats. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This place was my slice of heaven. After the standing bear hostile and many other hostiles that treated hikers as sub human, it was nice to go to a place where respect cleanliness, and quality was tops. This was my best stay on my 750 mile trek from Springer Mt. Tater Tot 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tatertot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I just spend a wonderful weekend at Mary's & Terry's B&B. The room was wonderful and the location is so pretty. It was nice to look out of the window and watch the goats and the horses or go out and play with the cats and dogs. The perfect setting for us to get a breather.

I hear that Mary's breakfast has quite a reputation on the trail. Hikers checking in specifically ask for it and I have to say, it certainly lives up to hype. We got spoiled rotten.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing