We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best southern fried chicken around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Apple Barn Cider Mill And General Store

The Apple Barn Cider Mill And General Store
Ranked #3 of 45 Shopping in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best southern fried chicken around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

we go every year and have not found a better place for real southern food. from the fried chicken to the chicken and dumplings to the delicious soup, and desserts you can't find a better restaurant. Usually quite a wait to get a table but you can sit outside on the porch or walk over to the quaint stores while you are waiting for a table. Don't miss this one!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank christmas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    130
    34
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great country style food, great gift barn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have been here a few times, and it's always great! It's all homemade food and desserts. The service is great. Its family friendly. Our table had applewood pork loin, liver n onions, fried chicken, and the trio platter. Salad, soup and dessert come with the meals as well. And they bring you a basket of apple fritters and apple julep before dinner. Its def worth the money.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Southern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Apple Barn restaurant is a must every fall when we travel to Sevierville, TN. I love the apple fritters, greens , chicken and dumplings. Fritters and apple cider are brought to every table and quickly devoured. Plan on eating early b/c there is always a wait. While waiting, you can use the rocking chairs or swings on the front porch. If there is a long wait, go to the general store and browse. You will hear your name called from the restaurant.The fried chicken and mashed potatoes are also good. We always go to the general store and buy apple butter. No matter how much we buy, we always run out beore returning so buy online. When there , we buy the larger jar which isn't available online. Take your time, browse the general store and the Christmas store.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catawba NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Prepare to pay big bucks for breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We ate breakfast at the Apple Barn and for 6 of us it was $80.00. The food was good and the amounts were massive but very pricey for breakfast food which is the cheapest meal of the day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank goheels03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never knew so many things could be made from apple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My kids love the fresh cider from the Apple Barn Cider Mill. We have to go by every trip so they can get a glass to drink and a gallon to bring home. You can buy your fresh cider hot, cold or as a slush. Also there are delicious pastries to have with your cider such as apple pie or dumplings. The general store is loaded with all things apple. You can get candles, charcoal , food items, figurines, the list goes on. The staff in our last trip was not overly friendly. They weren't mean, just not really interested in chit chat with tourist. We had a good time, the kids got their cider and played a bit if checkers and then we left.

Helpful?
Thank A2MTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Barn Cider Mill And General Store also viewed

 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to The Apple Barn Cider Mill And General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing