We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safety is a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Safety is a problem”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We do a mini family get away once a month. For December 2013 we chose Wilderness at the Smokies. This is a good place to bring your family, however: be aware there is a great lack of security. No one once asked to see our water park bracket or guest cards, we were allowed to enter the water park thought the gift shop area with out any questions if we were guests at the hotel or unregistered guests. We were able to access the elevator and guest rooms without having to use our key cards. We had to make sure our son know that we needed to use a code word if someone approached him. I would STRONGLY recommend everyone think hard before coming here, for the safety of your family.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank medic1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    798
    401
    222
    201
See reviews for
1,927
47
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
468 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Came the weekend before Christmas. Not very crowded @ all. We got a junior suite, kind of pricey but nice. Had 2 adjoining rooms, nice to put kids in one side you in the other. Complete kitchen. Stove top & mini fridge in the other side . We brought our own breakfast food , instead if eating out. The buffets here are pricy. Eats eat free though with a paying adult. We did not eat here. Too many close great restaurants. They offered cookies & hot chocolate on arrival. I stood in line 10 minute to check in. Not too bad. Learned if you are staying @ stonehill lodge you check in there not @ the watermark lodge. Our friends were staying there & checked out the room & decided to check for rooms @ the waterpark lodge. More expensive but also more convenient . Who wants to ride a shuttle bus wet in the winter, not me. Beds were comfortable, lots of extra pillows& blankets. Our room even had a toaster. No cooking pans, only dishes, silverware & glasses. You might want to bring a pizza pan @ pot from home. One down side was the parking. Tight spaces &not enough of them. Two school buses were parked taking up several spaces. Management should make them park someplace else.
Upon checking in they give you a voucher for a on property coupon book. Beware this is a sales pitch for a time share. I just said not interested. Got my coupon book without too much resistance. The general store does have flip flops, swim suits , goggles in case you forget yours. They do have a nice arcade. We have stayed @ the great wolf lodge near kings island in cincinnati several times. the rooms here are nicer. But the main lodge @ GW has a much bigger '& nicer lobby, hands down. Here they did have dressed in costume Carolers. nice touch.

We will come back.
Tip: stay in the main water park lodge.
Look for e coupons or specials.
Bring your own pop, water, milk etc.
Too expensive. Water in the room was $3.99 a bottle!
At night if you go out to eat, your parking spot will be gone. I drove around several times.
I am gluten free so I checked the restaurants before hand & not alot of options. :(

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We visited here just before Thanksgiving this year. The place is huge and would probably be enjoyed even more during the summer months when all of the out door pools are open, but we had a great time none the less. Plenty of attractions at the indoor water park to keep every one busy and entertained. We were two grandparents, daughter and son-in-law, and 2 grandkids ages 3 &6. We stayed in a 1 BR room. The Master bedroom was separate from the rest of the suite, but there were 2 pull down Murphy beds in the gathering area which accommodate the family of 4 just fine. The room had a microwave and a mini-fridge. everything was clean and fresh.
For dining there are many options available off property and I would suggest checking them out as eating on premises was pricey (our kids and grandchildren had been here before, so they knew). All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room at the "main" lodge, otherwise you have to rake a shuttle to the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevyman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We came in for the Santa Hustle Half Marathon weekend, which left the resort sold out! Wanted to add an additional day prior to race day but they were booked solid. Definitely a good value for the price, considering the water park entry is included, and also received one complimentary adult ticket to the Aquarium of the Smokies, which is another great attraction for all ages!
Had a slight problem with a broken spring on our pull out but manager was in the room to correct the problem courteously and affectively, within 30 minutes the maintenance crew had the pull out sleeper completely changed out and everyone was pleasant and very apologetic for the inconvenience! Very very pleasant stay, courteous staff and clean accommodations even if you're not staying in the main building that is attached to the water park. We'll be back for the race next year and another stay at the Wilderness!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnrunrgrl262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We only stayed one night at this resort, but we had a great time. My two children and I met my friend and her two kids here. We were able to check in early and use the water park - the kids were thrilled to have extra time swimming. The room was comfortable and reasonably priced, considering we would have paid to get into the water park and a night at another hotel if we had not stayed on site and had our water park passes included. We loved the resort and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the waterpark was awesome! Their swimming-pool sized indoor/outdoor hot tub was my overall favorite!!! Minimum wait time for shuttle bus and everything you want or need is right there on site! You never have to leave during ur stay!! I will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend this place for all ages!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G8trgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Awesome place to take kids for a special weekend. Nice room and excellent service. Could not ask to better service and the rooms are real nice with fridge, microwave, stove. Just bring you family for a great time.

Room Tip: Choose to stay at the river lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjohn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
532 reviews
6.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,193 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing