We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a MUST if you have kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are a Wyndham owner, this resort is a MUST for toddlers through teenagers. If you are not a Wyndham owner they have a hotel at this location as well. Our family of 4 stayed here last week and had a wonderful time! Our kids are 9 and 6. We have stayed in many Wyndham properties and this one is every bit as nice as the one in Waikiki. Granite countertops, full kitchen, washer and dryer, spa tub, workout center. We stayed in a 2 bedroom in Building 6. The suite was very spacious and clean, very well appointed. Loved the master suite as well as the 2nd bedroom. There were 2 double beds in the 2nd bedroom. We were split into two reservations and had a pool view first and later a river view. Both were really nice.

What sets this resort apart from all the other Wyndham properties? Two things- Tennessee hospitality and the included onsite WATERPARKS. You really could just stay onsite the whole time and have a great time! The people of Sevierville are the most polite, hospitable, helpful people. Teenagers open the door for you and call you ma'am. The outdoor waterpark was open for most of our stay. The lazy river is big and goes around all the slides outdoors. My husband braved the VORTEX and the kids and I did the giant slides...we all enjoyed floating around in the lazy river. Lifeguards are everywhere making sure everyone is safe. Life vests are also hung up all over for the little ones. Salamander Springs, the outdoor water park across the way is also included, but we never ventured onto the other property.

What gives this resort its crown is the AMAZING indoor water park! It is incredible. It is very clean, very big and there is absolutely something for everyone. Inside the Wild Water Dome is so nice, as it is warm in there no matter what the weather. It also was not very crowded. Even on the weekend the crowd was not too bad, and we were there during Spring Break. You have to be a guest at the resort to be able to go into either water park. We had a few rainy days during our stay, but this was no issue for the Wild Water Dome! The family water slides were so much fun! My son's absolute favorite thing about our whole vacation was the Storm Chaser Thrill Ride which he rode many times. I really enjoyed the indoor tube slides. They were so smooth and fun and you could ride single or double. My daughter's favorite was the Great Wave Pool. Plenty of clear tubes, doubles and singles to use to ride the waves and many lifeguards watching over everyone. We all tried out the Surf Rider as well. The lifeguards were so nice, they were really helpful and even taught my daughter a few tricks when riding the Surf Rider! Before leaving the water park, we sat in the awesome indoor outdoor hot spa. One time it rained outside and it was so nice to sit in the hot spa and feel the cool raindrops.

The Wilderness Adventure Park was also WONDERFUL! For an extra fee, we bought the all stay passes. If you plan on buying them, look in the coupon book the resort provides first. This gave us unlimited: Ropes Course, Rock Wall, Bowling, laser maze, bouncy ride, and mini golf. The Ropes Course is challenging and so much fun! You are tethered so you are very safe. There are also attendants on the course in case you need help. Our family loved the bowling (mini balls, mini pins, and 5 frames) and played many rounds!

We ate at the Thirsty Miner really late one night (as we were still on California time) and the food and service was top notch. The portions are HUGE- big enough to share and kids eat free.

I really cannot say anything bad about this resort. The location is just fantastic as well. A very short drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We visited Dixie Stampede, Lumberjack Feud and Wonderworks. We also went hiking and horseback riding. If you are an adventurous family, you would love staying the Great Smokies Lodge. The kids begged to stay another week. We are planning to come back and do more hiking in Smoky Mountain National Forest and visit Dollywood next time. My daughter actually hugged the doorway before we left!

Room Tip: Building 6 was very close to the indoor water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mylilfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed April 27-29 at the Stone Hill Lodge(up on the hill) in a two queen bed with pullout sofa room(21053). It was nice and very clean, you could tell it has been getting some age on it. The carpet was a little stained and the bathroom had a few marks but all in all it met are needs. We were on the frist floor and a descent walk from the main lobby, we did not have abalcony but a small view of the convention center. We used the indoor and outdoor waterparks during out stay, always a great time with the kids. Ate at the Thirsty Miner and ordered pizza from the indoor waterpark, always very good and plenty of food. The water park on the hill (Salamander Springs) is more for the little ones and the water was much warmer in my opinion. The outdoor waterparks Lazy River is awesome and the Vortex waterslide is pretty amazing. For the the price Stone Hill is the way to go, never waited on the shuttle more than 5 minutes. We will be back in June and already booked the River Lodge that is next to the waterpark.

Room Tip: Stone Hill Lodge is up on the hill and need to take the shuttle to get to the indoor waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife & I were invited to visit Pigeon Forge for a few days to view the Wyndham resort along with an owner, who is our friend. We were excited because of the positive things we heard about the resort. Upon arrival at the welcome center we were warmly greeted, but then the problems began. Instead of being treated to a quality property, we were sent to the Creekstone Resort instead.......OMG.....what a disaster!

This story could take several paragraphs, but I'll spare you the details. Just look at the so-called "resort" here in Tripadvisor where they placed us for the dream weekend! Wow.....what a joke. Needless to say, we were appalled that Wyndham would invite us to view their so-called luxury property, only to be booked in a horrible exterior entered antiquated third world motel!

When speaking with the Wyndham staff, they were as shocked as well. However, doesn't help. They should be more professional and honest! Will we ever give them another chance? Properly not......their lack of honesty was too much.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for making us aware of the concerns you had while visiting our resort. We know this provided a major inconvenience during your stay. If your reservation was booked as an offer package this may explain why you were reserved in a different location. To confirm what happened we have alerted the proper staff for further review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great experience at Wyndham Resorts at the Great Smokies Lodge. I have stayed at similar places in the area and they were much more expensive. We booked through booking.com and got a 2 bedroom unit for $418 for 2 nights. This included waterpark passes for the kids. Our favorite features of the room was that it had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. The back patio for our building was very nice. It had a fire pit and rocking chairs with a golf course view. In the lobby was a machine to rent movies and a room with computers with internet access. There was also free wifi in the room. The only reason I didn't give this property 5 stars was that there was coffee left in our coffee pot and hair in a bathroom drawer. Other than that, our room was very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicap room in building 9. I would prefer not to stay in a handicap room again jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this condo through Armed Forces Vacation Club for our 3 grandkids spring break. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and it was beautiful and spacious. Wyndham facilities are almost always top notch. The indoor water park and adventure park are awesome and kept myself and the grandkids entertained all week.
The condo was spotless and everything that we needed in the kitchen was provided. There's a Kroger 5 minutes away as well as many fast food restaurants. The nice thing about the location is that it is only a few miles off the interstate and you don't have to fight all of the traffic going into Gatlinburg. I highly recommend this facility!!

Room Tip: We were in building 6 which was only a short walk to the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Kind of in the middle of no where and yet close to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, and of course the Great Smoky Mountains.

We has a couple of 2 bedrooms, and one Presedential Suite. The Presedential was very nice and spacious, and the 2 bedrooms were clean and nice. The indoor waterpark and arcade are a kids dream. They were not in our building, but in the summer no big deal to walk across the parking lot. There were also 2 outdoor water parks, and the kids loved these too. There is plenty for 5 and under year old kids to do, and for much older kids.

We made day trips to water falls, and hiking trails, and to white water rafting (about an hour away, we used the company, Rafting in the Smokies). We did easy paved hikes, and longer harder hikes like Laurel Falls, Burgess Falls (great), and Ozone falls (may have been further away).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red-Beerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here the first week of march and from the get go had problems. We came into town a day early and even though the place seemed for the most part empty we could not get into our timeshare without paying the equivalent of almost a whole week just to stay one night. The property is very nice and well maintained but for the price we paid we could have stayed somewhere nice, and had a lot of extra money to go out and have fun. If money isn't an issue for you this is a good fit but its not very lucrative to the average vacationer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
584 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
625 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
476 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range: £114 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing