We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort Not To Be Missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

WOW, and that is saying it mildly. This is resort is very nice; lots of things for the kids to do. The water parts is the best. Almost any type of water fun for all ages to enjoy.

If you your going with-out kids there is a nice golf course to enjoy.

NOTE: watch for the off-season time the outside water park is not always open during the week.

Could not comment on the restaurants on the resort as we did not experience them.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room in the back of the resort; nicer view of the Golf Course.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briana N, Site Accountant at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you , Earlyn for the great feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. The water parks are a fantastic feature that our guests and owners get to experience during their stay. We hope that you can join us between Memorial Day and Labor Day on your next trip so that you can enjoy the outdoor parks as well. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Briana Nininger
briana.nininger@wyn.com
865-286-6481

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you travel with kids, or if you're a kid at heart, this needs to be at the top of your wish list. The Wyndham and other accommodations at this site give visitors to several indoor and outdoor water parks -- all at one expansive property. And no matter whether you stay at the Wyndham, at the Lodge, or at other accommodations at this site, you have access to all of the water parks.

If you're adventurous, try the Vortex (then hurry back and do it again!) or the giant slides at Wild Water Dome, the main indoor park. If you have little ones, try Salamander Springs, up on the hill. Don't forget the super high slides, offered both indoor and outside, at several of the indoor and outdoor water parks. Wave pools, surf riders (including instructions and how-to-do-tricks from the staff), lazy rivers ... it's a water lovin' family's dream site.

Is it too rainy to go to Gatlinburg or hike in the mountains? No problem! You can choose from several indoor parks and other activities at this location. For an extra fee, visit the Wild Adventure, onsite, and try out rock climbing, golf, laser mazes, and bowling.

Then there's the Wyndham itself. The rooms are modern condos, beautifully furnished and equipped with features like granite countertops, in-room washer/dryer, balconies, and full kitchens. My room was very clean, but like other condo rentals, it was not cleaned or restocked every day. That was not a problem for me, but for someone who expects clean towels and linens every day, this should be a consideration.

And yet ... if I'd known about the other accommodations at this location, I would have stayed at an onsite hotel instead. For example, my check-in experience was memorable for all the wrong reasons.

The lobby had two check-in desks. Signage indicated one line was for VIPs. Nothing on my reservation said anything about my status as a VIP, so I waited in the long line with everyone else. Meanwhile, only one or two people checked in at the VIP line during my wait. So after waiting 30 minutes at the longer line, I found out I should have been in the VIP line. What?! Although a sign behind the VIP line indicated I should have checked in there, I was so distracted by the VIP sign that I ignored the Wyndham sign.

Then there was the cost. I paid about $250 a night to stay at the Wyndham, but I could have paid about half that price to stay in a hotel at this same site. Both the Wyndham and the hotel included access to all of the water parks.

Finally, I was given incorrect information about local shuttles and area attractions by the Wyndham staff. When I followed up with concierge staff from the hotel, however, they shared accurate and more comprehensive information.

Bottom line recommendation: the water parks at this site are location are AWESOME! The Wyndham is not so much.

Room Tip: Parking is very tight and somewhat limited. If you are interested in the great water parks and are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briana N, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear redink46142,

We are so pleased that your party enjoyed the water parks. The location of our site gives guests and owners a wide variety of options, even on a rainy day. Our staff are always here to help so towel and linen exchanges are no problem. Regardless of the type of request, we would like to make every effort to accommodate to the best of our abilities.

I apologize for your delay at check-in. We know after a long day of traveling the last thing you want to do is wait to get into your room. With your feedback we can continue to enhance the guest experience. Thank you for guiding us on what needs improving.

We would like to see you visit us in the future and have a worry free stay. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
Briana Nininger
briana.nininger@wyn.com
865-286-6481

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have been to a lot of wyndham properties and this one had the friendliest staff. Workers always spoke to us in the hallways and the front desk staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the water park! The water in the indoor pool and wave pool were a little too cool for me, but it would be ok for most. We are interested in coming back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tanawha208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briana N, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you, Tanawha208 for taking the time to let us know about your vacation. We are pleased to hear you had great experiences at Great Smokies Lodge and will be sure to share your comments with our staff. It's true, the water in the parks can be a little cool in the spring and fall, but it changes quickly with the weather. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Briana Nininger
briana.nininger@wyn.com
865-286-6481

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are a Wyndham owner, this resort is a MUST for toddlers through teenagers. If you are not a Wyndham owner they have a hotel at this location as well. Our family of 4 stayed here last week and had a wonderful time! Our kids are 9 and 6. We have stayed in many Wyndham properties and this one is every bit as nice as the one in Waikiki. Granite countertops, full kitchen, washer and dryer, spa tub, workout center. We stayed in a 2 bedroom in Building 6. The suite was very spacious and clean, very well appointed. Loved the master suite as well as the 2nd bedroom. There were 2 double beds in the 2nd bedroom. We were split into two reservations and had a pool view first and later a river view. Both were really nice.

What sets this resort apart from all the other Wyndham properties? Two things- Tennessee hospitality and the included onsite WATERPARKS. You really could just stay onsite the whole time and have a great time! The people of Sevierville are the most polite, hospitable, helpful people. Teenagers open the door for you and call you ma'am. The outdoor waterpark was open for most of our stay. The lazy river is big and goes around all the slides outdoors. My husband braved the VORTEX and the kids and I did the giant slides...we all enjoyed floating around in the lazy river. Lifeguards are everywhere making sure everyone is safe. Life vests are also hung up all over for the little ones. Salamander Springs, the outdoor water park across the way is also included, but we never ventured onto the other property.

What gives this resort its crown is the AMAZING indoor water park! It is incredible. It is very clean, very big and there is absolutely something for everyone. Inside the Wild Water Dome is so nice, as it is warm in there no matter what the weather. It also was not very crowded. Even on the weekend the crowd was not too bad, and we were there during Spring Break. You have to be a guest at the resort to be able to go into either water park. We had a few rainy days during our stay, but this was no issue for the Wild Water Dome! The family water slides were so much fun! My son's absolute favorite thing about our whole vacation was the Storm Chaser Thrill Ride which he rode many times. I really enjoyed the indoor tube slides. They were so smooth and fun and you could ride single or double. My daughter's favorite was the Great Wave Pool. Plenty of clear tubes, doubles and singles to use to ride the waves and many lifeguards watching over everyone. We all tried out the Surf Rider as well. The lifeguards were so nice, they were really helpful and even taught my daughter a few tricks when riding the Surf Rider! Before leaving the water park, we sat in the awesome indoor outdoor hot spa. One time it rained outside and it was so nice to sit in the hot spa and feel the cool raindrops.

The Wilderness Adventure Park was also WONDERFUL! For an extra fee, we bought the all stay passes. If you plan on buying them, look in the coupon book the resort provides first. This gave us unlimited: Ropes Course, Rock Wall, Bowling, laser maze, bouncy ride, and mini golf. The Ropes Course is challenging and so much fun! You are tethered so you are very safe. There are also attendants on the course in case you need help. Our family loved the bowling (mini balls, mini pins, and 5 frames) and played many rounds!

We ate at the Thirsty Miner really late one night (as we were still on California time) and the food and service was top notch. The portions are HUGE- big enough to share and kids eat free.

I really cannot say anything bad about this resort. The location is just fantastic as well. A very short drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We visited Dixie Stampede, Lumberjack Feud and Wonderworks. We also went hiking and horseback riding. If you are an adventurous family, you would love staying the Great Smokies Lodge. The kids begged to stay another week. We are planning to come back and do more hiking in Smoky Mountain National Forest and visit Dollywood next time. My daughter actually hugged the doorway before we left!

Room Tip: Building 6 was very close to the indoor water park.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mylilfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed April 27-29 at the Stone Hill Lodge(up on the hill) in a two queen bed with pullout sofa room(21053). It was nice and very clean, you could tell it has been getting some age on it. The carpet was a little stained and the bathroom had a few marks but all in all it met are needs. We were on the frist floor and a descent walk from the main lobby, we did not have abalcony but a small view of the convention center. We used the indoor and outdoor waterparks during out stay, always a great time with the kids. Ate at the Thirsty Miner and ordered pizza from the indoor waterpark, always very good and plenty of food. The water park on the hill (Salamander Springs) is more for the little ones and the water was much warmer in my opinion. The outdoor waterparks Lazy River is awesome and the Vortex waterslide is pretty amazing. For the the price Stone Hill is the way to go, never waited on the shuttle more than 5 minutes. We will be back in June and already booked the River Lodge that is next to the waterpark.

Room Tip: Stone Hill Lodge is up on the hill and need to take the shuttle to get to the indoor waterpark.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife & I were invited to visit Pigeon Forge for a few days to view the Wyndham resort along with an owner, who is our friend. We were excited because of the positive things we heard about the resort. Upon arrival at the welcome center we were warmly greeted, but then the problems began. Instead of being treated to a quality property, we were sent to the Creekstone Resort instead.......OMG.....what a disaster!

This story could take several paragraphs, but I'll spare you the details. Just look at the so-called "resort" here in Tripadvisor where they placed us for the dream weekend! Wow.....what a joke. Needless to say, we were appalled that Wyndham would invite us to view their so-called luxury property, only to be booked in a horrible exterior entered antiquated third world motel!

When speaking with the Wyndham staff, they were as shocked as well. However, doesn't help. They should be more professional and honest! Will we ever give them another chance? Properly not......their lack of honesty was too much.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for making us aware of the concerns you had while visiting our resort. We know this provided a major inconvenience during your stay. If your reservation was booked as an offer package this may explain why you were reserved in a different location. To confirm what happened we have alerted the proper staff for further review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great experience at Wyndham Resorts at the Great Smokies Lodge. I have stayed at similar places in the area and they were much more expensive. We booked through booking.com and got a 2 bedroom unit for $418 for 2 nights. This included waterpark passes for the kids. Our favorite features of the room was that it had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. The back patio for our building was very nice. It had a fire pit and rocking chairs with a golf course view. In the lobby was a machine to rent movies and a room with computers with internet access. There was also free wifi in the room. The only reason I didn't give this property 5 stars was that there was coffee left in our coffee pot and hair in a bathroom drawer. Other than that, our room was very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicap room in building 9. I would prefer not to stay in a handicap room again jus...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
592 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
6.0 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range: £145 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing