We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outrageous cabins - Animal House cabin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starr Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starr Crest Resort
Hurley, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outrageous cabins - Animal House cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Excellent view. Cabin is nice. Don't trust Outrageous cabins if they tell you "Internet Access is available" in the area! We needed internet to keep up with business while there, and I asked the guy when we made the reservations if it was available. He says that the neighborhood has access available. Most of the cabins surrounding ours are Dollywood cabins and they have internet access, but it is locked out where you cannot access it. Other than that, the cabin is really nice. They do need to upgrade the sheets and comforters to "Fit" the bed, as they are too small and the blankets have been chewed by some animal, probably a dog, yet folded and put in the closet. Bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stokes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    38
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
99
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windham ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently stayed at Bearly Awake, Outrageous Cabins. All we expected and more. Easy to find the office and then our cabin. To say that the view is breathtaking really is an understatement. There are no words to describe the beauty. The cabin itself was just as advertised. All wood, glass and comfort. The bed was the best. Luxurious mattress and blankets, great nights sleep. The hot tub was clean and hot, just the way we like it. As far as internet, we brought a laptop with us, the connection wasn't the best but that is what we expected, no problem. We could not figure out the TV or the heat, called the office and Dale came right away and got us all fixed up. We sat on the deck every morning having our breakfast, enjoying the peace and view. Oh by the way, watching the bear wander around on the road below us wasn't too bad either. Hope to be able to go back to Bearly Awake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windhamwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

You can't go wrong booking this cabin, trust me! I've got to admit I was alittle skeptical simply because the rental rates were so low (compared to others in Pigeon Forge) but this cabin was really AMAZING. We had a couple problems when we first arrived but the management at the rental office of "Outrageous Cabins" had the repairs completed within 24 hours. Very courteous, very prompt.
First let me tell you, the cabin and it's views have the "WOW" factor! Really, really nice furniture, polished floors, wall-to-wall windows with views over Pigeon Forge. The up-stairs loft area is pure heaven for your kids. It's one HUGE room with Air-Hockey table, Foose Ball table, Pool Table, Multigame (two player) sit-down Arcade game, Desk w/ computer, King-Size Bed with nightstands, LARGE wall-mounted television with dvd player, wii and stereo. There's an open-window jacuzzi bathtub & shower. The balcony off the loft has rockers, a swing and the jacuzzi! There's everything a kid (or kid at heart) could want!
There's plenty of available sitting in the living room & dining room. The kitchen is fairly stocked but could be better. The bedroom on the main level has beautiful furniture and a private bathroom with a shower. There are two more bedrooms downstairs that we didn't rent.
Now, here's the reason's why I couldn't give it 5-stars...
#1- The bottom fitted sheets didn't fit the mattresses. Throughout the night you'll find yourself pullings the corners back on. Or, you'll wake-up on the bare mattress. The mattresses are soft and squishy.
#2- The bath towels were really small. (cheapest I've seen) Barely covered my 9 year-old grandchild.
#3- The fireplace in the living room wasn't REAL! It was a LIGHTBULB and a blow-out heater. VERY disapponting for being in the mountains in Pigeon Forge! I don't believe the website stated this.
#4- The jacuzzi is sort of "low-end" and the jets are really pittiful. It did heat good.
With all this being said, I "WILL" go back to "Away From It All" Only, next time I'll bring my own sheets, bathtowels and not look forward to a crackling fire. For the money, it was really GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is the third year our family has stayed in the Smoky Mountain Cabins. We booked our trip through Dollywood Vacations. Wild Thing is located at the very top of the mountain so It made for a spectacular view, morning and night. We LOVED it! there was plenty to keep everyone busy. Pool table, Games table, Hot tub, and Jacuzzi, aka "swimming pool" for our 3 yr old, and 5 month old, along with TV, cable and video games. You could NOT be bored! The only thing that was unexpected was how windy it got up there, since we were so high up on the mountain. It sounded like a hurricane at night, but a worthwhile sacrifice for the view! LOVED IT! Will definately be returning again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJGateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at Heavenly View for a few nights in February 2013. The office was easy to find check in was simple with directions to our cabin. We arrived at our cabin not sure what to expect the cabin was beyond cleaned and well stocked with things to get us thru our trip. The view was breathtaking from the parking area and decks. We couldn't have asked for a better cabin. We found the beds uncomfortable, but managed the few nights we were there. I called the main office for directions to places they were very helpful. I highly recommend these cabins.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sibah731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Animal House cabin by Outrageous cabins for 5 nights, January 23-28th. It was a great experience. We arrived around 130pm and our cabin was ready for us. Check in was a breeze, with friendly service. We were skeptical because the cabin allowed for pets, so we were worried that it may not be super clean. We were wrong. It was beautiful and immacculate. It smelled so clean we had to open the windows! The view was amazing, and we enjoyed sitting in the hot tub daily. Check out was just as easy. We definately look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Corinne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

recently stayed in this property(top of the mountain cabin). found it at the last minute and got a great price. the staff (Carroll and Shannon) were very nice. the cabin was great. we found everything in working order and clean. had to call to figure out the television since it was DISH and the girl could not have been any nicer. the pictures shown on the website were what was there. the weather coming in was questionable for the night before we were leaving and they granted my hour later check out (since it was not reserved for the next night). we will be staying there again and again!!!!! we had a great family get away!!

Room Tip: we had a view over pigeon forge as opposed to just a view of the mountain and trees, it was really p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family778811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
4.4 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
3.8 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
#12 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
3.3 mi away
Accommodations by Parkside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starr Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Crest Resort

Property: Starr Crest Resort
Address: 1431 Upper Middle Creek Rd, Sevierville, TN 37876-8849
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starr Crest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Starr Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Crest Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing