We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sewanee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sewanee Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sewanee
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Everything fine-except for the shower door
My family wants to stay there next reunion.
Bike rentals, walking distance to the quad.
Walking distance to Greens View and walking trails.
Very good breakfast, but smaller portions should be offered.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Cary M,

We are so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our complementary bikes! We appreciate your feedback on the shower door and will address that issue with our maintenance department. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and will pass along the idea of offering smaller portions to the Chef!

Thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
290
143
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A great place to get away for the weekend or more. Everything was perfect. We loved the atmosphere and the friendly enviroment.
A great bar to hang out in and meet new people. A great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Warren W,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were so happy to hear that you referred to your stay with us as being perfect! It is very important that we always exceed our guests expectations. We love the fact that you enjoyed our ever popular Shakerag Lounge and were able to enjoy our delicious weekend breakfast buffet also!!

Thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hate to tell anyone about this place, Bc it will be even harder to get a room! Great Place to stay on The Domain! This facility has been open about 2-3 months and is a great little hotel. Right on the new golf course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Trent M,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us!!

We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

the best place to stay while visiting the University of the South-very comfortable and in a lovely setting-everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and helpful in helping us 'get acquainted' with the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jean W,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here. I was glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful tranquil setting here on the mountain and found our staff to be very welcoming! Our staff is very well versed on the surrounding area and was happy to help you become acquainted with the area!

We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurinburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Sewanee Inn affords a person/people with a 5 star stay and the graciousness of Southern hospitality at its best! The staff treated me as if I was a dignitary, and that is what I call Southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Lee H,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Referring to the inn as a 5 star stay with the graciousness of Southern hospitality at it's best! Our staff treats all of our guests as dignitaries, as they deserve nothing but the best!!

We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My stay in the new Sewanee Inn was incredible! They also maintained and created new character in the Inn, a room devoted to Sewanee history and campus life. All artwork is University related. Service is also great! After leaving the bar at 1AM I had a 20 minute conversation with the young lady at the front desk, thanks for humoring me! Keep up the good work, I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Fred R,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We appreciate the kind words referring to our great service! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the visitor center, which proudly reflects Sewanee's rich history and tradition. This is a very popular attraction for our guests. I am glad you were also able to visit Shakerag Lounge to relax.

We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sewanee Inn is a comfortable, quiet haven in a beautiful town. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a lovely room. The outside views of the golf course are beautiful. We look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMimi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear TexasMimi2,

We are so glad to hear that you found the inn to be a comfortable quiet haven. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and were able to enjoy the beautiful view of the golf course.
We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.
We hope to see you again soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sewanee
4.0 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
4.2 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
18.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sewanee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sewanee Inn

Property: The Sewanee Inn
Address: 1235 University Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37375
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sewanee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sewanee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sewanee Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greeting you as you enter the campus of The University of the South, The Sewanee Inn features 43 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, over 8,000 square feet of event space, and a full-service lounge. Situated right on Sewanee's celebrated 9-hole golf course, the Inn offers sweeping vistas of the rolling Tennessee mountain-top plateau and an atmosphere of casual elegance coupled with unparalleled service. The Sewanee Inn extends to its guests an experience commensurate with the quality of the institution whose name it bears. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Sewanee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing