We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for parties and fantastic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Stuntney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our company Christmas party for 120 guests was held at the Old Hall last week and we all agreed it was the best we have ever had. All the staff were extremely professional, yet friendly and helpful. Alex did a fantastic job in organising the whole event for us and catered for our exact needs. The food quality was excellent and presented superbly. The marquee looked just as good as the photos on their web site and the disco was great, good selection of music and great light show.

Some guests stayed overnight and enjoyed tea and cake on arrival, a comfy night in one of the sumptuous rooms and a lovely full English breakfast the next morning.

Altogether the night was almost perfect. It just didn't last long enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_bannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Old Hall for a wedding recently. We are local but wanted a treat, and I would most definitely recommend it! The room was spacious and yet cosy as the nights get colder, and the bathroom was literally the best bathroom I have ever been in (and I never knew I could get passionate about a bathroom!). We were looked after really well and I tried both of the breakfasts on offer (over two days I hasten to add) and can recommend them both. I have recommended the Old Hall to friends and family, local and far afield, as I just think everyone should have at least one night's experience there! I look forward to coming again for a wedding in August 2014. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Old Hall is simply wonderful !
Alex is a fantastic organiser, I met with her Early Spring to discuss my ideas. I wanted to host a dinner for my best friends and for 10 of us to stay over to celebrate my 40th birthday.
The 24th May was free , friends were able to turn up mid afternoon for wonderful tea and home made cakes, Chatting and relaxing in the hall was simply perfect.
Friends staying over were able to get ready at leisure in their rooms and from 7pm we had lovely canapes and glasses of Pimms to start the evening. (even my parents popped by for canapes) Dinner was served after 8pm and we had a delicious 2 course meal, prime rib of beef and local veg followed by a trio of desserts and a cheeseboard. Everyone remarked on how wonderful the food was and the presentation.
We retired to the hall for more drinking and chatting (including coffee and mints, not just alcohol) !!
We all found it so relaxing, this place has real charm and the owners are just superb !
Fortunately being the birthday girl , I chose to stay in the Cromwell Room, to be honest all the rooms are beautifully decorated with sumptious finishing touches you would not be disappointed.
It certainly was a memorable 40th Birthday in a stunning building and location.
I am thinking of an opportunity to return............fortunately have been invited to a wedding in Sept. 2014 ............
Thank you 'Morbey' family for making it a birthday to remember. x

Room Tip: Cromwell Room for the view and the space .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was working in Ely for 3 days and stayed at the Old Hall. It could not have been more comfortable; an absolute luxury of a room and bed! It's all beautifully decorated and with lots of character.
The history of the place is wonderful and it's great that it has been in the family for so long and that they care about it so much.
A wonderful treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Its a fabulously elegant place down a long winding lane through its own grounds, just outside Ely. The rooms are huge, fully of character and have wonderful views. Its a family-run business and they're charming hosts with a great sense of humour creating a lovely friendly atmosphere, yet the surroundings are about as upmarket as you find. We stayed in the Stewards room, whilst the in-law stayed in the Cromwell room. I'd certainly like to re-visit the Old Hall one day, perhaps bring some overseas friends/relatives. If you've not stayed here yet, prepared to be wowed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendEscapeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I attended an 80th birthday party here at the weekend, and it couldn't have gone smoother. The service was efficient, friendly and relaxed. The food was superb and venue marvellous. I was a day visitor so can't comment on the bedrooms but the hall was welcoming with big squashy sofas, the newspapers laid out and a fabulous view through the leaded light windows of Ely Cathedral beyond the landscaped gardens and lake. The lunch was for 80 people so were were in the "wedding" marquee at the rear of the property which is a high quality marquee with doubled glazed "walls" over looking an outdoor seating area and the gardens. If you are looking for a wedding venue I would strongly advise paying them a visit as they handled our 80 guests with ease! Highly recommended on all counts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This most beautiful hotel is situated close to Ely. We stayed here 3 years ago & wanted to stay again so much that we travelled out of our way to do so. We were not disappointed. The hotel is of such a high standard, the bedrooms are beautiful & the freshly cooked breakfast superb. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel, if only all hotels could be of this standard – this is exceptional value for what you get for your money normally.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuntney
1.6 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
553 reviews
3.9 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
396 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
1.1 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#6 of 25 in Ely
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Old Hall Soham Road, Stuntney, Ely CB7 5TR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Stuntney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stuntney
Price Range: £113 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing