We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite get away weekend spot”
Review of Evins Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evins Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite get away weekend spot”
Reviewed 3 November 2009

This was our third trip to Evins Mill. This time we took another couple with us who will also look forward returning in the future. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the food, the beauty of the area and the big smiles of the staff. The rooms are clean and the perfect place to get away. The fireplace was roaring when we wanted it to in the main lodge and the smell of the flickering fire made you want to do nothing but RELAX. If you are looking for a weekend place to chat on the phone, watch tv and stay stressed, this is not it. But if you want to get away from the world, recharge and relax, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place. I hate to write such a good review, only because I don't want to have trouble getting a room when other people hear how great this place is :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookbooknola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
114
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My husband and I came to Evins Mill to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We got to the Inn early and went for a short hike. The trails were challenging for novices like us but the view where the 2 waterfalls met was a good reward. We enjoyed participating in the pumpkin carving contest and playing in the game hall. We had a box lunch, but I wish we would have had the sit down lunch with the warm soup. The Hors d’oeuvres were amazing and set us up for a spectacular dinner. The soup, salad and entree were fantasic and I wanted to ask for more grits!! Dessert was a little dry, but we really appreciated the candle that they put on top to honor our personal celebration.
Overall the weekend was amazing and I would go back just for the food!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiefee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Our experience at Evins Mill was great! We enjoyed the views, walks and even our work time. The staff is very attentive and easy going. The chef is an excellent cook and we found ourselves looking forward to the next meal almost as soon as we were done with the current one. Our servers were great and we really had a ball with Darla. We would recommend Evans Mills to anyone looking for a place to host a retreat as well as individuals looking for a relaxing and fun get-a-way. It was great working with both William and Laurie…they are phenomenal!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadi781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband and I have enjoyed the Inn at Evins Mill on several locations. We love the quiet serene setting, the relaxing babbling stream, and comfortable accomodations. On each trip Chef Jason has impressed us with his creative menu selections and fabulous food. Both the dinners and breakfasts are scrumptious. This is a true gem close to home.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyelmore456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I had the lucky opportunity to attend a meeting at the Inn at Evins Mill. I was pleasantly surprised in many ways by my stay. The quite location in Smithville, the attentive staff when I arrive, the fantastic dinner I had while attending a meeting all where fantastic. They even had my favorite bear at the bar!

The room I stayed in was overlooking a bluff down on a quite stream. I had my own rocking chairs to relax in and binoculars where available if I wanted to scout out a bird or two. One of the main parts of my stay was visiting the man made waterfall they have which helps power the grist mill that is on site. This is a one of a kind waterfall and not to be missed with your stay. I was not able to visit the natural waterfall they have on site which I am told is the 10th largest in the state.

Since I was on business travel from the other side of the U.S. I might not able to ever make it back again to the inn. But if I lived in the Nashville area I would be sure to return several time a year for the peace and quite.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ios_admin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My stay at Evins Mill this weekend was an absolute slice of heaven.
So close to Nashville, yet so secluded, quiet and beautiful. Even though the Inn was full we felt as though we had the place to ourselves... how did you do that?
The staff was unbel...ievably gracious, helpful and you could tell they were sincere and not "just there for the gig".
The food was spectacular. I could fill pages about the quality of the ingredients used. I'm a foodie and this is 4 star. Tell Chef Jason thank you for making me a Gluten Free desert - wow - how unexpected!
We made two hikes to your magical Carmac waterfalls. We swam in the pool at the bottom of the falls and felt like something out of a Hollywood adventure film. Special stuff! We will return very soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondHillInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The atmosphere and food was excellent. Great location, friendly staff. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonflyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
20.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
20.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
19.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Gordonville
Rodeway Inn Gordonville
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
2 reviews
16.5 mi away
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
22 reviews
17.7 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#2 of 4 in McMinnville
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evins Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evins Mill

Property: Evins Mill
Address: 1535 Evins Mill Road, Smithville, TN 37166
Region: United States > Tennessee > Smithville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the estate of US Congressman Joe Evins, today Evins Mill is a historic inn and resort offering a scenic setting, bluff view accommodations and southern gourmet cuisine. Select amenities abound, as do on-site activities and nearby excursions. Straddling the Highland Rim and Cumberland Plateau, the forty-acre property boasts one of the few Eastern Hemlock forests in the region, lending it a mountain appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Evins Mill Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing