We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trailer Park”
Review of White Possum

White Possum
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Smithville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trailer Park”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Typical of small town "Seafood Restaurants". The average price per meal was $10 plus drinks, the "crab legs" were $20, the servers (teenage girls) had no idea what utensils went with seafood. The service is awful, the food is served cold, and late. (Noticed the locals got there food first). The menu has no drink selection, at lunch time they were "just ran out" of 3 of the four side dishes. $100 & we stopped at a fast food place right afterwords because the kids were starving. My bet is that anyone who gives this place a good rating, is either a local, or has no idea what a restaurant is supposed to be like. One of those bucket list items, you regret....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was one of the worst dining experiences I've had. First off, I must mention that I was in a party of 12 and it was a Friday. BUT, the service was awful, the food wasn't served at the same time and the orders were wrong, there was zero customization to the menu and the prices were incredibly for the quality. We waited over an hour for our meals as well.

DO NOT EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vtbrooklyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, TN
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We always thoroughly enjoy our meal when we get to eat at the White Possum Grille. The food is so good that my mouth waters when I think of the beef teryaki I had the first time I was there. The menu is so packed with good meals, it will take quite a few visits before we get to try all the choices we like! It is a great place to take friends or family, whether you are celebrating and want a special meal, or just out for a bite to eat. If you go out on Friday night, try to get there before the crowd!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneThiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Girls night out!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Went here with two friends and we had a wonderful time. The food was good and the service great. The fried pickles were awesome!! and so was the spinach dip, for starters. I had the Moonshiner steak and it was tender and delicious. Well, be going back and taking my family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2travel_0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a happy surprise!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We went camping at center hill ragland bottoms and we're looking for somewhere close for a good meal. I checked trip advisor and read the reviews of this place...we went by the night before to check it out and pick up a menu to review. Looked good and the trip advisor reviews were good so we went. Absolutely great food...good variety to suit all tastes ..the fried pickles we're the best we had ever eaten...steaks with marinades were awesome and the desserts are to die for? Owner came by to check on us and he was a super young man. Very personable and knows his business. The building lacks the character this place deserves..but he told us he was searching for a new one. Food is worth the trip from anywhere to try...highly recommend trying anything on the menu..you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kade435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Possum also viewed

 

Been to White Possum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing