We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good food”

La Tavola Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Smyrna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
440 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice, good food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Reading other reviewers, I agree that finding La Tavola provides a bit of a challenge. It is set back in a line of store fronts close to the train station. We arrived on a Friday evening around 8 p.m. without advanced reservations. The establishment was busy, but not overwhelmed. The hostess seated us immediately, but at a table immediately next to the kitchen. More unfortunately, next to a group of three who appeared to be regulars as one of the wait staff sat down at their table and joined in conversation. One of the threesome shared his recent situation with a computer scan; followed by phone calls, while at the table and loud enough for us to hear the entire conversations, to both the computer company and his credit card company. Disappointing.

My wife had the veal piccata and I had the Fish of the Day which was served baked. Our salads were fresh, appropriately sized with a tasty dressing. The veal piccata was tender and well prepared. The Fish was flavorful, but a bit overdone and bordering on dry.

The highlight of the evening was dessert. My tiramisu was prepared in the old-style with lady fingers! One of the best that I have had.

With a bottle of wine and tip, our bill was $94.

Great place for the locals. A pleasant surprise for someone from out of town. Very good with the potential for excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small, tucked away place with awesome food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic, authentic Italian food, great service, charming atmosphere... can't say enough good things. It was the best lasagna I have ever had, the bread was delicious, desserts amazing. It's quite easy to see why it's rated #1 in the town! Will definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make the trip to Smyrna for great Italian food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Great food at a fair price makes for a truly enjoyable dining experience. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The Ripieno is a wonderful chicken dish. Breast rolled flat and stuffed with prosciutto, mozzarella cheese, covered with a mushroom cognac cream sauce with either vegetables or pasta is my all time favorite chicken dish. Come meet Chef Massimo, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Having become accustomed to relying on TA to find good food in unfamiliar locations La Tavola did not disappoint. From the second we were seated and greeted by a professional waitress to the minute we walked out the door there could be no criticism! The very personable Massimo is a world class chef, my pork tenderloin with smoked mozzarella and my husbands mahi mahi were cooked to perfection....and the homemade Lemonchello cake - ummmmm! Go there, you will not be disappointed!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

It doesn't look like much on the outside, but inside is a different story. Nice small eatery feel. Food is always good, the best is the pasta dish with muscles!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nashvillefoodie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tavola Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Tavola Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing