We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blood?!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Laplace, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blood?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I just quit smoking 2 weeks ago, asked for a non-smoking room and the whole room smelled like cigarettes. Microwave must be 40 years old, television - old tube tv, must be 15 years old. Upon further inspection there is red/brown splatter stains on the bathroom wall. wifi password was not written anywhere in the room had to call and ask for it. Was told we would be charged additional fees to have someone stay with us? Will not ever come back here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Inn-Sparta, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We truly apologize for this out of the ordinary experience, and we thank you for letting us know about these issues. The 1st occupant requested a smoking room at check-in, but a 2nd occupant, who was not present at check-in, later came down saying the room was smoky. There might have been a misunderstanding at the front desk or between the occupants as we do have nonsmoking and smoking rooms. We were willing to move the customer also, but they had declined this move. The property is not quite that old, so we are uncertain about the microwave being that old. We are also in the process converting the TV’s to newer flat screen TV’s. Again, if this issue was brought up at the time of the visit, we would have gladly helped with the move into a room with a flat screen TV (which we had shown the 2nd occupant). Yes, the additional double occupancy fee was presented, due to the fact special single occupancy rates were given directly to the company that requested these rooms. We really do try our very best to accommodate for our guests, and we are truly sorry that you had a bad experience,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillman, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Quite impressed with this motel, good location and great price, room was clean and comfortable.
They do need to make some minor improvements to the rooms. Oh ya, what ever they were cooking in their residence smelled nasty and they should work on that issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie123_123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Surprisingly....good.
PROS: Hotel is clean and rooms are CLEAN and comfortable. Internet was excellent, password required. It is close to town, Route 111 takes you past Wal-mart, Kroger, Macdonalds. Town is boring with typical places to eat. Outdoor pool was clean, parking areas clean, new carpets, family operated. Clean and safe with Low price makes it A BEST VALUE. A positive and friendly attitude on the part of the family (husband, wife, son). Bible in the room, lights worked well, plenty of AC, hot water, good clean bedding, towels about average. Corners of the room were CLEAN. Compares well to Days Inns/Super 8. Better pricing. No bad smells. Generally good maintenance. Decent views of landscape (hilly area) from the front. 36 rooms. Computer terminal available in lobby, no printer noted.

CONS: Walk up window at night, breakfast not provided, no newspaper, lobby smells like curry powder? Slow drain at sink. Otherwise a good room at a very low price. I would stay there again. Also, sits on a hill with limited parking. This would not work well for semi-trucks but just fine for me.

Room Tip: Front side for view, back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2012 while visiting family in Sparta. We had stayed there previously a few years back so we knew it was a place we would stay at again. You can't beat the price. Nightly rate for a King Bed non-smoking is around $47. The room was clean and included a couch and coffee table which we liked as an alternative to sitting on the bed and watching TV. Free Wi-fi. Bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet, we had no issues. There is a pool but we didn't get a chance to use it. There should be more reviews to help others choose this hotel as I know there are very limited options actually in the city of Sparta. Location is great - Right on the main highway and everything you could is right nearby; Kroger, Mcdonald's, KFC, Walmart.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Megmusicgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. When I made the reservation I forgot to ask for a ground level room. Staff helped us carry our things upstairs since there were no available ground level rooms. The TV in our room was not working properly - again the staff came and replaced it with a working one. The room was clean and comfortable. There are no coffee makers in rooms (except jacuzzi suites). When I inquired about a coffee maker the staff brought one up for us. Someone in our room previously had moved the mini fridge and microwave underneath the clothes rack - the staff came up and moved it to it's proper place. I think this hotel is a good value for your money and the staff were excellent. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a pet traveling with you inquire which rooms are pet friendly. Only certain rooms are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scostes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
23.7 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#2 of 4 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
12.8 mi away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 4 in McMinnville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
12.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Property: Royal Inn
Address: 803 Valley View Drive, Sparta, TN 38583
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sparta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wireless High Speed Internet, Refrigerator, Microwave, Swimming Pool, Truck Parking, Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Handicap Accessible Rooms, King and Double Rooms, In-Room Jacuzzi Suites, Iron/Board Available. Payment: Cash, American Express, Diner's Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa. General Amenities: Swimming Pool, Guest Computer, Truck and Trailer Parking, High Speed Internet, Refrigerators Available, Pool, Microwaves, Handicap Accessible, Non-Smoking and Smoking Rooms In Room Amenities: Cable TV with HBO, High Speed Internet, Hair Dryer, Refrigerator, Microwave, Air Conditioning (In Room), Bathtub, DataPort, Desk, Hair Dryer, Internet Access (In Room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing