We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic house”

Rippavilla Plantation
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Spring Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Historic house”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A wonderful small plantation house open for tours and for rent for special events. Go tour it if you are in Nashvill or Franklin, a real gem

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Southernman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great historic site”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

interesting site and the tour guides are very knowledgeable and patient, always willing to answer any questions one may have
the plantation it self is very pretty, the ground are very large and they sometimes have events going on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A very interesting place to take the family its a must if your going to be in the area and the corn maze and also the craft/antiques shows are great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
259 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A "Must" For History Buffs”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I were married on the front steps of Rippavilla in 2001. It's a great place for such events. But it's a fantastic stop at all other times for history buffs. The house is a rare find itself. And the furniture, photos, and Civil War memorabilia collections are amazing. The staff knows a lot of the history of the house and is able to put it in context. It's easy to access from I-65 if you're passing through the area -- only about 10 minutes out of your way. They also do a lot of concerts, fun events, and more throughout the year -- a corn maze in the Fall, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8TravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Sure it Was Worth the Bother”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The first time I tried to see this plantation they were having a History Fair and I couldn't even get in the (very long) driveway so vowed to come back another time. I returned a couple weeks later, arriving shortly after 9 a.m. because that's when the brochure said they opened for tours. There was a note on the door saying they opened at 9:30. We stayed until 9:45 and, when not one opened the door or answered the phone, finally decided to move on to our next destination. We returned a few hours later and finally took the long awaited tour. It is a beautiful house but has been changed a lot since Civil War days. It seemed like there was more explaining about all the changes that had been done to the house than anything else. The little bit of history we did hear was interesting though. They were getting ready to have a wedding on the premises later in the day. It would be a beautiful place to getting married. However, after touring several other plantation houses in the state I'm not sure it was worth the bother. I would have rated it higher if we had been allowed to take pictures though. Since, I'm sure, pictures allowed for weddings why don't they allow pictures on tours?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rippavilla Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing