We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great li' day trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reelfoot Lake State Park

Reelfoot Lake State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This hunting and fishing harbors almost every kind of shore and wading bird, as well as the golden and American bald eagles.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great li' day trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great day trip with some beautiful scenery! Good photo ops of wild life and the surrounding cypress trees and knots ! Visitor Center had several Bald Eagles, hawks and owls on view. Boyettes across the street has some good catlish and/or ham dinners ! A must stop while in the area. Historical Civil War marker for Island # 10 which was a Confederate Fort located on the now submerged island. A Great Day Trip !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, TN
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our photography club took a field trip to Reelfoot Lake State Park last weekend. We booked a lake tour on a pontoon boat. It was a truly great tour. Our guide/boat pilot was very knowledgeable about the lake, the wildlife and the flora and fauna around it. She knew the places to take us for some really awesome photo opportunities and slowed to let us take advantage of those photo ops. After the tour we were able to witness and photograph the release of an egret back into the wild, then our guide brought out a baby screech owl and a red-tailed hawk for us to photograph. Finally she let us go inside the eagle enclosure and get some very close photos of an adult eagle and a juvenile eagle. Everyone was so pleased with our outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Missouri
Level Contributor
216 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Get close to nature on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We took a 2 hour drive to Reelfoot Lake to do a little photography and walk some trails. A lot of things have changed since we visited it as children. The boardwalk through the marshy area was a nice walk to take and we saw water snakes, herons, ducks, turtles and fish. There is a nice visitor center where you can handle live snakes (we didn't) and learn about the history of the area including the lake's formation by the New Madrid earthquakes of 1811-1812. There is a seismometer there as well. This was a nice way to spend an afternoon. There are restaurants right across the street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maldenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Boardwalk is wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stopped at the visitor center for about an hour. The boardwalk was the highlight for me. The walkway is built on wooden posts placed in the lake. It meanders through tall bald cypress trees which are majestic. We saw several turtles sunning themselves and numerous water birds floating on the water. I imagine there's far more wildlife during warmer months. Around the center, we also enjoyed watching several fat red squirrels eating tree nuts. The center also has a large caged enclosure which holds injuired birds, including eagles, hawks and owls. I loved watching them at such close quarters. The birds are used for traveling educational wildlife shows. The center contains a museum which has many interesting displays on how Reelfoot lake was formed, the local animals and the human history of the area. I would certainly go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Most Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We live about 1.5 hours away, and figured this would be a good first trip in our motorhome. The spots, are level, paved, and very clean. most of the water front spots have 50amp service. All the sites have picnic tables, grills, and fire pits. The bath houses are very clean. This is a must see and must return state park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dchaney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reelfoot Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Reelfoot Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing