We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern "Discomfort"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dogwood Cabins at Trillium Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern "Discomfort"”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My first experience was disappointing with a stay at the Southern Comfort cabin, mainly because it was filthy upon arrival. After reading through all these other reviews, I can't understand the inconsistency in the service. How much is up to Dogwood and how much is up to the homeowner? It's either fabulous or filthy. Being in the woods you would expect the occasional bug, but it look liked no one had vacuumed in quite some time (it could be that the vacuum in the cabin didn't work and that is the one that was used?) Dust, cobwebs, crumbs inside cabinets, dirty dishes, floors that turned your white socks brown on the bottom along with an unhealthy HVAC unit that had a layer of grime so thick on the intake that you could barely see the slats. There was some sort of animal feces and multiple mousetraps in one closet (?) The kitchen was ill equipped with a rusted coffee maker, a dishwasher (broken racks, missing wheels on the bottom rack that prevented the spinner from even functioning without some creative use of 2 wine corks) that was probably original to the cabin 12 years ago, chipped dishes, beds had worn out mattress covers and nasty yellowed, stains on pillows, light bulbs were out everywhere, the amenities list a charcoal grill, but only a rusted "gas" grill that was unusable existed and the first several hours of "vacation" were spent cleaning - how is this right? The view outside was fabulous if you didn't get a splinter in your behind from the broken wood on the rocking chairs. The hot tub seemed functional - I hope it was cleaned as there was an additional "hot tub cleaning fee" charged, but I'm not confident in this matter due to the condition of the cabin after it had been "cleaned." The cleaning folks need re-trained... or just trained correctly to begin with - I have been in the industry and know that it can be accomplished with some quality control checks and accountability along the way. The cabin in general is badly in need of some updated appliances, new linens, a carpet cleaning, a window cleaning, etc. It wasn't the worst place I've experienced and I will report that my bedbug glue trap came up empty - thankfully. There is a plus - it was bedbug free, for now. It also said NO SMOKING which was a big plus for me on the amenities list, but in the corner of the porch was a butt can full of cigarette butts-what? Did enjoy that the cabin wasn't directly next to other cabins so there was a sense of peaceful serenity out on the porch swing. Being outdoors and enjoying the hills on bike rides around the golf course was fun - have my eye on some other cabins that I might want to check out in the future, but not sure I can trust Dogwood and the false advertising provided on the website. Enjoyed Townsend as opposed to the traffic in Gatlinburg and the close proximity of Smokey Mt. National Park.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BedBugChecker_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in Blueberry Cottage for 10 days in September 2013. It is a beautiful cottage with a wonderful view. The hot tub iwas so relaxing and it is placed so you can enjoy the mountain view while you are relaxing. We did have an issue with the A/C while we were there but it was taken care of immediately when we voiced our concern. The cabin was very clean and comfortable....had eveything we needed and more. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We picked Dogwood Cabins on the recommendation of a friend. We picked the Hibernation Station because it had Wi fi for the teens (but no cell reception). We absolutely loved having a whole house to come home to every night and I used the washer & dryer. My husband even had a long conversation with the friendly neighbors! My complaint is that the whole house could have used a good cleaning before we checked in. Remote controls were missing batteries and Tvs were not hooked up to cable. There was a layer of dust on everything, especially the hard to reach places. There were ants in the downstairs bathroom and the front door wouldn't lock without a key. I may stay at Dogwood Cabins again but would pick a house with a view of the mountains.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MiMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at Blueberry Cottage for a week recently, and found the view to be absolutely stunning. Our cabin was clean and in good shape. Our only complaint was the endless stream of black ants and the wasp nest under the deck. The staff was attentive to our needs and ultimately stopped the march of the black ants and sprayed the wasp nest. We only wish that had been taken care of before we arrived (our son was stung the first time we walked up the front stairs!). The pool at Laurel Valley was very nice and clean. Without a doubt, Townsend is the place to stay during the summer in the Smokies. Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg are overcrowded with bumper-to-bumper traffic.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Headhunter1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We found several positives as we stayed in Bear Creek cabin near Laurel Valley Golf Course this week but unfortunately, the negatives of the cabin's cleanliness far outweigh the positives.

Starting with the positives, Bear Creek cabin is a very nice one BR with a queen bed, and a king size bed in the sleeping loft. The layout of the cabin is very nice, although the master bath is located off of the sleeping loft, which we thought was a bit odd but not a problem. The furniture in the living room and the kings sized bed was very comfortable, much more comfortable than other cabins we have stayed in on past visits to the Gatlinburg area. The cabin is very shaded which makes for very comfortable seating on the back deck, or the front porch, and the gas grill provided allows many opportunities for preparing your meals rather than eating at the local restaurants. We found the kitchen equipped with pretty much any utensils, dishes, or tableware that we would want. The cabin is easily accessible from US 321, with many great views of the Laurel Valley Golf Course on the drive. The resort has a security guard at the entrance during the evening hours, who was always pleasant and joking when we arrived home from the day's activities.

The negatives of the cabin though, FAR outweigh the positives. We found the cleanliness and general appeal of the cabin to be woefully inadequate in comparison to other cabins that we have used in past visits to the area. First off, in the kitchen above the cabinet over the sink, and in the master bathroom areas there were hanging cobwebs in locations that would easily be reachable by dust mops. In the ceiling light in the master bathroom there were umpteen dead insects that were clearly visible when the light was on. On several locations on the ceiling in the master bathroom there were spots of mold. The walls in all areas of the house with the exception of the living room, had not been painted with a finish coat, and were covered with many scuffs and smudges. The only shower that was located in the cabin had the moldiest and poorest fitting shower curtain liners that we have seen. And the kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms all had the shoddiest trim we have seen in any rental cabin we have used in the past.

For the services provided by Dogwood Cabins, the staff appears to be friendly, but very disinterested about the complaints that we brought to their attention. Upon checking in, we were told to make sure all trash was taken to the community trash bins. We took the trash there twice during our visit, and BOTH times the garbage bin was not there, which forced us to make the trek to the Dogwood Cabins office to dispose of the garbage. When we checked out, and informed the staff of the cabin's general dirtiness, I was informed that the owners of the cabin had been there in June and performed a "thorough cleaning". Please judge for yourself from the pictures uploaded.

We loved the quiet side of the Smokies that Townsend provided, but we will not be using Dogwood Cabins in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volsandshoesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is the first time we booked with the Dogwood Cabins. The check-in went so smooth, Nancy was so very helpful and even gave us some suggestions of good places to eat. We stayed at the Wolfe's Den. OH MY, it was so awesome. It was a steep drive all the way up to our cabin, in fact we were told that this was the 'highest' one that Dogwood had and when we booked she said if we were afraid of heights, this one would not work. It took us approx. 15 min. drive time from highway 321. It is only 5 miles, but took that long because of all the curves, but it was well worth the drive!! Every morning we woke up to the beautiful view from our deck. The cabin was spotless and had everything we needed. There was even a pool table, which my husband and I didn't think we would even touch, however, we ended up having several pool games. It rained almost every day we were in Townsend ( we stayed 5 nights), but it didn't bother us at all, because we had the cozy cabin to stay in. I would highly recommend staying at this cabin!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPod14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We booked Eastanelle and loved it. It worked out perfect having a 2 yr. old with us. Everything you could need to grill and relax on the back deck. Loved that the hot tub was off to the side. We had a problem. They came and fixed it right away and were apologetic about the problem. Have stayed in other cabins before. Will use Dogwood Cabins again. Staff is great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stlshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#45 of 78 in Gatlinburg
174 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
12.6 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dogwood Cabins at Trillium Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogwood Cabins at Trillium Cove

Property: Dogwood Cabins at Trillium Cove
Address: 101 Painted Trillium Way, Townsend, TN 37882-4232
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Laurel Valley...A fourteen-hundred acre gated community located in the quaint mountain village of Townsend, Tennessee.Bordered by The Great Smoky Mountain National Park and the Laurel Lake Nature Preserve ... Our picturesque views and natural beauty are protected from development and change only with the seasons. At the heart of the valley is a beautiful and challenging eighteen-hole golf course, which is open for daily-fee play. Conveniently secluded at the entrance to the National Park and only minutes from Knoxville ... Life in Laurel Valley can move as fast or slow as you choose ... And whether you prefer acres of privacy or a golf villa overlooking manicured fairways ...Laurel Valley Mountain Resort is Smoky Mountain living at its finest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dogwood Cabins At Trillium Cove Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing