We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Daze Campground
Reviewed 6 November 2010

There were 3 campers of our group from three different towns, which had reservations for the first time at this campground. We stayed there for 8 nights. During this whole time the bathrooms were out of order especially the men's. We were told when we checked in that they were having sewer problems and we needed to use the baths in our camper if we could. They also stated they were having to pump it out every couple of days. If this was true why would a business not get someone in there to repair it as quickly as possible. Also after thinking about it would the campers not be emptying in the same sewer? As for the camp sites they were not too bad just a ittle crowded. But we had come to enjoy the mountain and trails so thankfully did not spend much time in campground. I would not stay there again and would not recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Meemaw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have been coming to Lazy Daze for several years because it is convenient, and we can stay on the water. We have always overlooked the fact that the sites are so close together that you can't even enjoy a campfire because you might set your neighbor's RV on fire. However, the one thing that has always bothered me is the old lady who runs/manages the campground. She is never friendly...even when you call to make your reservation, she is rude on the phone. For that reason, I always dread going into the office to pay or deal with any issues. This last time, however, I have just had enough. Something clicked with me that I don't have to keep coming here year after year because there are several choices right here in the same area! We have decided not to continue to give Lazy Daze our money when management is rude and does not appreciate its guests. Only use this campground as a last resort if all the others are full.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank Junebug37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The location is just outside the entrance to the Smoky Mountain National Park in Townsend, a quiet little town. We have stayed several times in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, but don't enjoy the crowds and commercialism of these tourist traps - we will stay in Townsend or Wear Valley from now on. Lazy Daze has very small spots, you will have very little privacy, but the sites are nicely shaded so we never even put up our awning. Our water heater sprang a leak on the first day so we had to use the public restrooms which, like the rest of the campground, is starting to look a little run down and not always as clean as we would like. The showers were small and had a lot of "redneck engineering," which made the place look even more run-down and dingy. I didn't like their policy of no refunds, no matter how much notice you give, but it worked out for us with no problems. All in all, not a terrible place, but I think I'll look for something a little nicer next time, even if it does cost more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pensacola_FLYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed here over Memorial Day and loved it! The staff was very friendly and always have a smile on their face and willing to help with anything. The campground was always very clean and the maintenance man was in the campground all day checking on people to see if they needed anything or just to talk for a minute. If you go you have to get an ice cream at the store from grandma, the ice cream is great and grandma loves to joke with the customers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beartrucking6807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Used to love Lazy Daze, but since the new owners took over this place has gone down hill fast. The store and office hardly ever stay open, and the maintenance is a joke. Will not stay there again. On down the road is wonderful at the Riverstione Lodge

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My family and I were suppose to stay there Thursday - Sunday in one of their little cabins and ended up leaving Friday morning. Before we went to bed on Thursday night we killed 3 cockroaches and 2 spiders inside the cabin. During the night, the fridge leaked water in the floor which brought snails into the cabin. It was dirty and the management was very unprofessional. They would not give our money back nor even a discount for our inconvenience and stated they we must have brought the roaches with "US". I will never stay there again, as we stayed last year and enjoyed it. We ended up leaving and wasting the money we had already paid and drove a little further up the road to KOA and I highly recommend this campground. It is a great place to stay for tent sites or lodges!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaceesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My fiance and I had originally planned on staying with them a month, and the price was not that bad, due to family emergencies we had to alter our arrangements. We had already given a $100.00 deposit and was told by the elderly lady that "works" there that we could only apply that to a two night stay and in one of the worst spots in the campground! Their "non river site rate" is $38 so basically they got us for an extra $24, which, had the old woman been a little more professional or even offered us a better site may not have been so bad. Her attitude towards us was unprofessional and extremely offensive. I would advise anyone to chose one of the better campgrounds in Townsend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InchwormFromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
3.4 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Dancing Bear Cabins
Dancing Bear Cabins
#9 of 22 in Townsend
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze Campground

Address: 8429 Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Lazy Daze Campground Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing