We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHOA!!!! No; it's NOT the Taj Mahal...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dock's Motel & Cabins
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WHOA!!!! No; it's NOT the Taj Mahal...”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

.... but it is a wonderful, inexpensive, clean, friendly motel in one of the most beautiful places you can imagine. How often do you find that??? We stay here at least once a year, sometimes more, and have always enjoyed the place.

The motel brings back memories of those family owned places from the '50s that really took care of their customers. Well, here it is.... updated, clean and right where you need it.

I host a flyfisher's gathering here every year, and no one has ever complained about noise.. or for that matter anything about the place... both husbands and wives. Everytime I say something about, "Would you guys like to try someplace new?" I get the, "Have you gone totally insane?" look.

You are literally on the river, within walking distance of restaurants, tubing centers, and shops. So what more do you want???

Room Tip: Room #14 for lovers on a budget, Room #8 for guys, any of the riverside cabins for that special &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Dock's is conveniently located in beautiful surroundings, reasonably priced, with an accommodating staff. The facility is clean and well kept. That said, amenities are basic at best, and space in the motel units is minimal. One person in the bathroom is a crowd. The walls between units are paperthin, so ALL of our neighbors' activities were clearly audible to us.
You get the picture!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veryoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This place is awesome. Good reputation, 3rd generation owner. Takes cleanliness and reputation seriously. They have lots of info on local attractions and take the time to answer any questions. There reputation is so good they are not even in the AAA tourbook (dont need it). Layout is good, river is right behind them, restaurants are within walking distance.
We did stay at other places the first few times in Townsend, but this one is the best and we dont go anywhere elese now.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I emailed Dock's a week in advance of my trip, and someone replied, telling me to call them. I called many times and left a message, but no one ever answered or returned my calls. The answering machine message is misleading in that the speaker tells you their business hours. However, no one responds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Rendezvous Cabin for four nights while visiting the Smokies and running the Dragon. The cabin was very clean and well equipped; the king bed is good and the hot tub was a delight every night. We were there during off season, so it was very quiet. We were surprised at how close the cabins were to each other, but since there was no one in the cabin next to us, nor many people at all in the entire facility, that was not an issue. I wonder what it would be like with everything filled up. The place is well kept--no complaints there--but does lack a certain element of ambiance--for example, in an attempt to give the cabin privacy, there are high fences around the deck, which is OK for privacy, but it means you have no view; and the hot tub is right under a huge dusk-to-dawn light that really ruins any view of the sky. But all told, these are our only complaints.

The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes etc. and you have a stove, oven, microwave and a dishwasher, TV in living room and bedroom (not large screens but OK), gas fireplace is very nice and warms up the cabin quickly. Central heat and AC work really well. Since there is no insulation in the walls and ceilings to speak of, the cabin would really warm up during the day (temps were in mid 70's during the day and low 30's at night), so I learned to turn on the AC when we left in the morning, and then the furnace for during the night, since the cabin would really cool down by morning.

The bathroom is a bit small, but does include an apartment size clothes washer and dryer. The bathtub is small (not sure how I, being 6 ft tall, would take a bath in it, and thus the shower is rather tight, but it worked OK.

All in all a great stay. Price was OK for what we got (often paid that much for a regular room at a hotel), of course it was off season.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadlephia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed at Dock's Motel for 4 nghts with my boyfriend so we could visit Smokey Mt Nat'l Park. What a gem! We had a cabin on Little River, with a nice porch with rocking chairs and a picnic table. You just walk down a few stairs and you're in the river. Behind our cabin was a pavilion with picnic tables and bbq grills for the guests. Across the street are the Smokey Mt stables and the property also has a nice pool. AND we were 1/2 mile from the Nat'l Park entrance.
Our cabin was clean, great comfy king-sized bed, stong AC, nice fireplace but we didn't use it. Basic dishes and towels were provided which were just fine.
You can tell the place is family-owned and everyone was very nice and helpful.
There is not alot of nightlife in Townsend, but if you are in town for the Nat'l Park, Little River, Tuckeleechee caverns, horseback riding, swimming in waterfalls, well this is your place. Overall, excellent value for our money, lovely little cabin in a great spot. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleKakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#47 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#44 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
11.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock's Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock's Motel & Cabins

Property: Dock's Motel & Cabins
Address: 8219 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4307
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing