We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Dock's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dock's Motel & Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dock's Motel & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Dock's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at Dock's. We won't stay anywhere else when we are in the Smokies. The first stay was in one of the rooms which is a throw back to the 50's. Which is it's charm. This time was in one of the cabins. Which was really nice. Great value. We love it here and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I highly recommend this place. The people are friendly, the rooms are clean and well-stocked and you couldn't ask for a better location, especially for the price. I have stayed in a motel room and in the Rendezvous 2 cabin and both were great experiences. The cabin was very nice, the kitchen was very usable. The only complaint I have about the rendezvous cabin is the water pressure in the shower. The owner offered a $30 discount per night for keeping the hot tub at the cabin closed so I took her up on that. If you don't care about hot tubs maybe you could mention that too. Highly recommended overall

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomoosacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was a great place to stay! We stayed in a "Rendezvous" cabin. It was small but very adequate for 2 people. Everything was very clean and worked well! We were treated very friendly and Dock's is in a great location to access Cades Cove and the restaurants and amenities in Townsend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Dock's is a jewel despite what some high-falutin' reviews have said about it's being a relic of yesteryear. The cabins on the river are delightful. They have large porches complete with 2 Adirondack chairs for watching critters as the Little River flows gently by and a picnic table for dining out. The river cabins are quite spacious and diverse. All have a fridge, sink, cooking utensils, and microwave. They have a cast-iron gas furnace for heat and a wall AC for summer use.

We have never been in the dozen or so rooms offered as part of the old motel structure, but given the cleanliness and fixtures of the 4 cabins we've had over the years, we believe they would be more than adequate for a few nights and better yet, they have a lower rate.

The grounds are spacious at the rear of the property, where there is a full covered patio under which are a half-dozen picnic tables. Just beyond are charcoal grills for customer use. There is a wooden stairway leading down to the river, where there is a fire ring for customer campfires. A pile of native oak and hickory is nearby.

Suggestions for improvements would include better wi-fi service (low signal in cabins by river and difficulty with access to wi-fi when the router is not working); front desk is open only until 8:30 p.m.; and check-out time is not flexible.

Thanks for the opportunity to comment!

Room Tip: Noise increases in cabins and motel rooms as one is closer to Rt 73, which leads to the Smoky Mtns N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelilahDreggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We took a chance on this hotel.....and OMG this is the cutest mom and pop hotel!!!!! Cabins right on the river!!! Very clean room. I could have stayed here for a week. There is a good walking trail along side the road that goes through Townsend. Horseback riding right across the street.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarbro_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We researched this place before going, and was very disappointed in what we got.. The rooms are from the 1940s. No updates at all have been done. When the neighbor next door flushes you hear it. No secure locks on the doors, just chains, and a chair in front of the connecting
room next door. Was advertised as queen beds, but were only double. Window units for air, and space heaters for warmth. When I confronted the owner about the beds, all she did was take me to another room, and showed me what a double bed looked like. It was the same bed. Mattress are old, towels have holes in them, and we had to go to the dollar store to get bath soap, as the only thing in the shower was hand dispenser with hand washing soap, like gas stations have. Cramped, with old tvs, that the reception goes on and off. There is WIFI, but as I went into the office to get the code, there was another customer complaining that he couldnt get reception. Advertised cabins, but actually there are just cheap houses constructed very close together. Could have stayed in Pidgeon Forge for half what I paid for this thing. Cheap carpet, garage sale furniture... Dont stop, when you see this place, run.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bamahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Dock's in July, 2012. Our rooms were nice, quiet and clean. Service was great. Stayed 2 nights and wanted to stay another, was no problem, just moved to another room. The knotty pine decor is beautiful, gives you the feel of being in a cabin. Several restaurants nearby. Close to Cades Cove. Beautiful scenery all around you.
We plan to stay here again in October! Great Value.

Room Tip: double queens are a bit larger than the full size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlasikLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
11.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
9.9 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock's Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock's Motel & Cabins

Property: Dock's Motel & Cabins
Address: 8219 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4307
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing