We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and dated motel with prefab cabin options. Good choice,”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dock's Motel & Cabins
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Historic and dated motel with prefab cabin options. Good choice,”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Dock's is a family owned motel located at the intersection of Hwy 321 and Hwy 73 (which goes into the GSMNP). It is located along the south side of the Little River.
History of the motel is available for guests to read. The motel was started by the current operator's grandmother. The wood used in the construction of the motel was cut from the GSMNP and taken off the train coming out of the Park. The motel was later moved across the hwy to it's current location.
All of that to say that this is a historic older property with beautiful wood construction. The rooms have comfortable beds and traditional 50's bathrooms. The rooms are all full of older and dated furnishings with the exception of a plasma television on the wall.
The off-season cost of the rooms was very reasonable and that is why we give it a 4 star rating.
The front desk is family operated and has stated hours. It appears that at least some part of the family resides in the area behind the front desk.
The property has a row of about 12 classic motel rooms, some average size and some slightly larger (in which we stayed). The row of rooms runs from the check in area to the river. Parking is in front of your room.
Dock's has added about 8 to 10 prefab cabin looking structures, some of which front the river and the others are opposite the traditional row hotel rooms. These rooms are more expensive.
Parking required one to travel to the end of the lot to turn around to exit the property.
In summary, if you have an appreciation for historic 50's type motel room at a reasonable cost in one of the last to yet to be developed gateways to the GSMNP, then this is a good choice. It should be noted that our family prefers Townsend over any of the gateway towns around the GSMNP. Townsend has plenty of basic dining and hotel choices to meet your needs. If you are looking for the Marriott, then this is not the place for you, If you are looking for Pigeon Forge activities, then this is not the town for you. But if the GSMNP is why you are here, then this is a good place to stay as long as the cost is as reasonable as it was during our most recent trip.

Room Tip: Classic rooms with wood cut from the GSMNP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cheapseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was a great place to stay and an absolutely bargain for the money. We stayed in the motel, but you quickly forget you were in a motel as it felt just like a cabin or cottage inside. The inside has the feel of a log cabin and is laid out in a similar fashion. The room had a full kitchen so we were able to do all of our cooking there. It was very clean and had a classic, rustic, feel to it. It was my first time going to this part of Tennessee, and was a great location for not only the quiet experience of Townsend, but not far from Gatlinburg and deeper locations in the Smokey Mountains. I would definitely check the place out again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We rented the largest cabin (2 rooms) for 3 nights, 2 families with 5 small kids. Everything worked perfectly and the owners are doing a great job, I can only recommend this Motel for those visiting the quiet side of the Smokeys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Its nice and quiet. The owners work the desk. Its a little dated, but considering where you are the whole area is a little dated. The rooms are clean and it is very good for the price. There are some cabins also. Some of the cabins have hot tubs which can be a plus. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins have hot tubs from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved our stay! Sweet people, excellent accommodations. Private, quiet, lovely view. In heart of the Smokies. Within a few miles of Tremont and Cades Cove. Gas fire place, fridge, microwave, and kitchen supplies. Wifi and TV. Bring your bike! Townsend has bike trails.

Room Tip: Pick the cabins rather than hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auggie1doggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the River Cabins and it was very clean and well maintained. The cabin is very cozy and a neat little place to stay. It was right on the river and so peaceful. Walking distance to pretty much everything in Townsend and only about 15 miles or so to Gatlinburg. The best part is you get to come back to the cabin away from the crowds of it all and just relax on your private deck overlooking the river! We have stayed in the more expensive places and did not have much to say about the service or the accommodations. The staff at Docks makes you feel just like part of the family and they are actually glad you are visiting. It really does feel like home away from home. I would highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a great get-away and stress free time. I am looking forward to my next visit already!

Room Tip: The cabins are a great choice for couples! All rooms are of high quality and comfortable, but those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stay at Dock's every July. I love this place and the owners. Dock's is located in the center of Townsend and close to Cades Cove. I have never been disappointed. Quiet and the rooms are large and I really like that you can pull right up to your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#47 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#44 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
11.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock's Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock's Motel & Cabins

Property: Dock's Motel & Cabins
Address: 8219 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4307
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing