We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay. The BEST little motel in the Smokies.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I booked a room at the Townsend Gateway Inn after reading the other reviews. My wife and I were very pleased when we pulled up to the office and were immediately met by Kali the motel mascot. She is a very sweet and friendly dog who seems to take to everyone. We were quickly checked in by Colleen ( hope I spelled her name correctly) who escorted us to our room. She then delivered a snack basket to us for our stay and even replenished it when we returned from a day of activities on Saturday.
I had seen the photos of Room #6 online but was floored by the renovations. Laminate on the floors, and tile in the bath. WOW! To stay in a room of this quality for the price couldn't be beat. We usually stay in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg when we go to the Smokies but we didn't miss them AT ALL. The river is right across the road. You can sit out on the porch and rock your cares away to the sounds of the water (when the bikes aren't driving past). Colleen and her brother Mike are really cool man! They don't mind taking the time to sit and visit with those that stay with them. I will highly recommend The Townsend Gateway Inn to everyone I know and we will most assuredly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteheadfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

We booked this hotel because of the reviews on this site, they were "spot on"! It was super clean, Mike and his family were fabulous! The welcome basket was a lovely surprise! We will stay there again when visiting the smokies!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaNTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david3117, Owner at Townsend Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and extremely gratifying to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on the "peaceful side of the smoky's"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had a great stay. It got cold the night we stayed (35 Had been 70's and 80's) Owner brought heater and extra blankets. The rooms are very clean and nice. The owner was very helpful and informative. Will stay here again later this year. Great views and rocking chair right outside the front door.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david3117, Owner at Townsend Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review and staying with us during your visit to Townsend. We appreciate your kind words and truly hope you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the future, we'll keep the light on for ya.

Kindest Regards,

The Girard Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a great time staying at the Gateway Inn. The cabin was exceptionally clean and very nice. The owner was very personable and gave us good ideas for places to eat and places to see. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat! If you are looking for a clean, affordable stay....this is it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfied_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The innkeeper was not operating the inn, but a cabin was available. It was clean and exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately, we had to leave early for a family emergency. Mike refunded our money for the second night's stay. We plan to return to Townsend later in the year and will certainly stay at Gateway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We enjoyed our stay here more than any hotel we have stayed at in the Smokies! It is like stepping back in time to a more laid back time of life! The rooms are beautiful and the view of the mountians out our front door were great. The rocking chairs were an added bonus. Mike and his family were so warm and welcoming. We will diffinitly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish72_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This little inn is a GREAT place to stay! I wasn't expecting much to be honest. The room was just adorable (super clean), I loved the shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser in the shower, the Welcome Basket of snacks in the room was a pleasant surprise and the price was unbeatable! When visiting the Townsend area in the future, I will definitely return for a stay at the Townsend Gateway Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhairedgirly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#47 of 77 in Gatlinburg
181 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
722 reviews
11.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing