We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean simple affordable place right outside GSMNP & Cades Cove.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Friendly family owned place, nice rocking chairs out front to relax after a long day of hiking. Complimentary basket with coffee & snack items is great for peeps on the go. Free wireless worked great in our room (#8). We had an updated room with 2 queen beds.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FestivalGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Such friendly owners and such good value for money i can't recommend this place enough.
We arrived really late but the owners were kind enough to wait for us and see us into our cottage. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and really well equipped. We only had one night here but wished it was longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Townsend Gateway Inn is an absolute gem! It was attractive, clean and comfortable. The owners are delightful people that truly care about their property and their guests. I would definately return again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokymountainslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Clean, clean, clean. The hospitality was excellent. We arrived late (around midnight) and someone came right out to help us. Courtesy is the byword for this pleasant place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, the outside walkways and flowers are attractive, and the price point is excellent. I cannot recommend Townsend Gateway Inn enough. We felt truly welcomed and cared for during our short visit. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThriftSeneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a lovely, comfortable place with spacious rooms. We were here for a wedding up the road. This place is literally right on the bike path, which is fantastic if you want to explore the area on foot or by bike. We loved the hardwood floors, comfy bed, and generous snack basket. We also appreciated the environmentally friendly features like bulk shampoo/soap dispensers and CFLs. The only little thing was our room rate (for a king) was higher than advertised on their rates page and when I emailed to ask why, didn't hear back. But a very minor thing...we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruhamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Cant say enough positive things about this place. Nice location, rooms are clean and quiet, and the beds were perfect. The people who run the place go over the top to make sure if you need something that you get it. We did a 4 night stay, and it was just awesome sitting in the rocking chairs out from and talking with other guests. If you are looking for a place to stay near the tail of the dragon that is fairly priced. look no further. The Townsend Gateway inn is the place you want to be. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonafternoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We chose the Townsend Gateway Inn based on the reviews that raved about how clean the rooms in this motel were. We were not dissapointed! If this motel was not the cleanest, it was in the top two that we have ever stayed in.

The owners were very friendly. As soon as we arived we were met by Mike. After checking in he asked us if we drank coffee or tea, which we did not so he told us he would give us hot cocoa in our snack basket instead.

Another reason we chose this motel was because we didn't want to get involved in al the hub-bub of Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. Townsend is MUCH quiter than Gatlinburg. But still only about 35 minutes away if you want to go there for the day. The Smoky Mountain National Park enterance is only 2 miles away. And Cades Cove is 9 Miles.

Another thing we liked about the room was the vintage heater. Most motel room have a very noisy heater that clanks and hums all night. But this heater was silent.! Others have talked about the snack baskets, wood floors, friendly owners, clean bathroom and soap dispensers and we liked all of these.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laseradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
706 reviews
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £74 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing