We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townsend Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Townsend Gateway Inn is exactly what it says it is. It is almost at the entrance to the Smokey Mountain National Park. It is clean and neat. There are restaurants a walk away. You can cross the street and sink your toes into the icy cold waters of the Little River.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    92
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
223
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

the rooms are very nice and clean.Can't beat the price. beds are comfortable.and we enjoyed our weekend visit there. Will for sure be back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very convenient place to stay.
Few problems with service for room, but nothing major.
Room was very clean and well furnished.
The basket of snacks each morning was great.
The A/C is controlled by light switch. It is mounted high on the wall, so it is difficult to adjust, unless you climb up on the sink.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwcole53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

All the reviews on here are right on--this place is PERFECT!! Clean, comfortable, great location, etc.--could not find one thing to say bad about this place. Would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: Call Direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campobello, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The room was extremely clean and was very nice. The welcome basket of snacks was great since we hadn't eaten and wanted to get to Cades Cove right away. Good amenities in the room. Loved the hardwood floors. Great location in Townsend. We will use this motel again in the future. Service was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponytang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

What an amazing place . We Stayed in Cabin # 2 wow. They have totally rebuilt the inside of the cabin, really sweet . Flat screen TV , everything is new .We road to townsend and parked our stuff at the cabin then road the Smokies , they also have discounts set up with some local restaurants great action the hosts went out of their wayto make sure we were taken care of .(Mike gave me a tour of the hotel rooms and they are just as sweet all new also) . Thanks Colleen and Mike we will return soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Call ahead they were busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bustersdaddy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

On August 17, my husband and I, and another couple left Colorado for a very long motorcycle trip in celebration of my husband's 50th birthday. This was a surprise trip for him with our destination being Townsend, TN. Townsend is a perfect location because it is close to the infamous Tail of the Dragon 11 mile ride with 300+ curves, an entrance to the Great Smokey Mountains, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. What we loved about Townsend was it seemed to be the quiet side of the park, which was just what 4 tired motorcyclist needed.

The Townsend Inn...what a wonderful place we picked to stay while there for our 4 days. When we arrived we were met by one of the owners in her golf cart. She quickly got us into our cabins, where we couldn't wait to wipe the road-dirt off our faces, and then off to eat. The cabins were clean, full of Tennessee charm and we loved the baskets we got every morning. We had treats to take with us on our motorcycle rides each day, which allowed us to get up, and go. Everything was newly remodeled and I loved the clean bathrooms, the soap dispensers, and the make-up removal pads. Also, I am Gluten Free so when I requested to have more Gluten Free snacks they accommodated me without hesitation. Also, I called before our visit and they told me about a store in Alcoa that carried many GF products.

If things weren't perfect enough I had arranged to have my husband's birthday party there. This was wonderful decision. Mike cooked us BBQ ribs, potato salad and coleslaw, and of course tea. Colleen had everything decorated and we had a wonderful birthday celebration. We ate a lot of BBQ while on our trip and I have to say Mike's ribs were amazing! Of course I needed a GF cake mix for the birthday cake, which I found at the health food store and Colleen even offered to make the cake for us so we could go tour that day without having to worry about it. That is one of the things I liked the most about the Inn was the proprietors just felt like one of the family.

We stayed at many places along our 3,625 mile motorcycle ride and this by far was my favorite and so perfect for that down-home ambiance that we expected Tennessee to offer.

Thanks Colleen and Mike for such a wonderful 4 days in "Ya'll" country.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
12.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing