We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite that great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Checked glowing reviews for TGI on TripAdvisor and booked accordingly.
An older family run place with large clean rooms but dated furniture, tv, and if there is such a thing, 'dated wireless' which came and went all afternoon/evening.
Friendly staff and convenient to the Park, but somewhat over-rated for the money by other TA reviewers in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

what a neat place to stay! Beautiful rooms that are tastefully decorated and very clean. Nice rockers on the porch. Very friendly owners who treated us very respectfully and helpful about reccommending where to eat. We only stayed one night but wished we had planned longer. Well done Michael!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Nice place, clean rooms, convenient to park, reasonably priced. Met or exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanbao184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

WOW!! What a GREAT place to STAY! This is not a chain, owners are American, they live just off the property, and they RUN it! Just like the good 'ol days and the way it should be! SUPER nice and obviously very attentive to the small details.

Our room was number six. Now when I say CLEAN, I mean CLEAN! The floors were wood so if there was ONE SPECK of dust anywhere, you could have seen it. The room was spotless from one end of the other. Newly remodeled, if this place were in Nashville the rate would have been $200/night easily. Outside were rocking chairs to enjoy the sights/sounds of the Smokey Mountains and Townsend.

The room was SUPER quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. We were given a basket of treats to enjoy each day such as muffins, cookies, Nutragrain bars, etc. How great and thoughtful that was to just get a quick bite and head out in the mornings!

No doubt when a return trip is planned to Townsend, we will be staying HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What a pleasant surprise the Townsend Gateway Inn is. Extremely clean (inside & outside) with well appointed/decorated rooms and comfortable bed. It has all the amenities you really need including coffee maker & hairdryer. Flat screen TV and a whole bunch of channels....even more than the Hilton had in Charlotte. Friendly and accommodating owners/staff greeted us with a basket of goodies that was really appreciated. Such a nice and peaceful town with a variety of home style family restaurants too choose from. We rode in on our motorcycle and I must say, this is a perfect location for riders to base out of when doing the Tail of the Dragon or other scenic rides. And the price cannot be beat. We sat outside on the rockers under the awning and enjoyed the evening view in quiet. My wife still talks about how nice a place this is.....we can't wait to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: This is hardly worth mentioning.....but, I use a feather pillow at home....the foam pillows here wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zofoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Townsend Gateway Inn is exactly what it says it is. It is almost at the entrance to the Smokey Mountain National Park. It is clean and neat. There are restaurants a walk away. You can cross the street and sink your toes into the icy cold waters of the Little River.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

the rooms are very nice and clean.Can't beat the price. beds are comfortable.and we enjoyed our weekend visit there. Will for sure be back

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
12.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,604 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing