We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in the middle cottage. It was very clean other than the mice droppings found in the kitchen drawers. I had to clean everything I used in the kitchen. The coffee pot was only a 4 cup and there wasn't a big pan to cook spaghetti noodles in. There also wasn't paper towels or a wine opener. I think they could stock the kitchen better. I loved the walking/bike trail being right out my door and the fact you could hear/see the dam across the street. The bed and futon were comfortable and the location is great if your planning on going through Cades Cove often. We loved that we could bring our dog with us as well. The price is right for what you get so we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Townsend Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

This family-owned motel is a comfortable place to stay near Smoky Mountains National Park, Tremont, Cades Cove and Tuckaleechee Caverns, among other attractions. Restaurants, grocery store, bike trail, river sports -- you could spend a week without leaving the area. And, who would want to leave with such warm Southern hospitality?! Instead of having to eat breakfast on the motel's schedule, guests are given a basket of goodies for snacks and continental breakfast at will. The king rooms are large, clean, nicely furnished with refrigerator and microwave, as well as coffee maker. We enjoyed having the shampoo, conditioner and lotion in wall containers -- very nice touch. We'll head to the Inn again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandAngel13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Another awesome stay at the Townsend Gateway Inn! Super clean and cozy cabin, friendly and helpful staff, and the peaceful side of the Smokies! What more can you ask for? Very satisified and can't wait until we can return again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satisfied_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was our first visit to the mountains and we picked the best place to stay.The location is very convenient and it's close to alot of places to visit. The cabin was very clean, spacious and cozy. The basket goes without saying a "Great idea" and having our own kitchen to cook and have coffee whenever we wanted it was awesome. My family enjoyed the stay. The host was very kind and was always available for assistance. I am planning on going again this year. It's a "MUST VISIT" location, take my word for it.
Barb2011

Room Tip: If you have children the cabins are a good deal. They are spacious and they will love the T.V.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Clean, new inside. Friendly owners.
I live in Townsend and just came across this pic I took last Christmas morning.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very welcoming host, rooms are spacious and clean with good free wifi and big parking spaces. Location is excellent especially for cases cove. It is at the far end of Townsend which makes it quieter as there is less passing traffic. Welcome basket of muffins/ pastries coffee and cheese snacks a nice touch. Townsend is a nice base for exploring the smoky mountains as it has not been ruined by mcdonalds, KFC and other similars like nearby gatlingburg and Cherokee. Would totally recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The price was good & the room was average. The only thing I didn't like was that they didn't have coffee or breakfast until 7 a.m. If you want to see the "smoke" in the Great Smokey Mountains, you need to be at the top of the mountains by 7 a.m.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNDiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
196 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing