We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customers for Life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CANTON
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Customers for Life!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Gateway Inn and will be the only place we stay from now on when we visit Townsend. I can't say enough how clean this place is and how friendly the owners are. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and are comfortable.Loved the baskets of goodies they give out daily.See you in the fall Gateway INN

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CantonGagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    100
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
148
236
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night at this place - we arrived late and left early in the morning to visit Cades Cove before the rush of cars and people.
Only 9 miles from Cades Cove, this place is a great location! However, this is a small town where shops close early. We bought our grocery at Pigeon Forge.
We had booked a double room with 2 beds because this was cheaper. The room was huge and included all the amenities to prepare and store food (fridge, microwave, coffee maker). The complimentary basket was well appreciated too.
The men at the front desk was really nice and helpful.
We would come again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a very well run, clean inn located just outside the Smoky Mountain National Park. It is a superb location near so many attractions (Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Cades Cove, the Tail of the Dragon, Foothills Parkway), yet it is a very peaceful quiet spot. When you get an actual key to your room with the plastic fob, you feel like you've gone back in time....... to a good time, when things were simple. Our room was spacious and as I said before, clean. Very clean. We had a king bed as requested (that slept so wonderful) and the room had a mini fridge and microwave. I could repeat what others have said about the goodie basket and nice hardwood floors....yes, those are really nice amenities. What we loved most was having the rocking chairs on the porch to sip our (not so good) coffee in the morning, or cocktails in the evening. For some reason, we have never been able to get coffee to taste very good coming from hotel room coffee makers. The little pouches of coffee just seem to lack something, so we usually bypass that and just get coffee from the lobby. Well, you can't do that at the Gateway Inn, so we just made do with the coffee packets provided. Two other things that I'd like to see added would be better lighting in the vanity area, and tissues provided. We just used toilet paper instead. The bathroom and vanity areas have dispensers containing soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner. This helps keep things neater and cleaner looking. This would be our first choice if staying in the area again. It is a great value for a wonderful place.

Room Tip: I'm sure it may depend on what size bed you request, but some rooms get morning sun and afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swarren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Agree with the most of the other written reviewers, but feel their star rating is a bit high. This is a family run/owned, nicely refurbished 50's type motel. Mike was very helpful and friendly. We liked that it was a small motel with spacious units, comfortable beds (one in our room had a memory foam topper), nice linens, refrig, microwave, and hardwood type floors. The solid flooring was a nice feature making the floor look and feel clean. One step up from the parking lot onto the porch and into the room was convenient, too. Enjoyed the rockers on the front porch with the river spillway across the highway providing a good view, unless the parking lot was full of vehicles, which blocked the view. The location is great, right on the outskirts of Townsend, near the park entrance, easy walking distance to a couple of tubing outfitters, restaurants, and ice cream shops.

Overall, the room was very clean. Upon opening the door, the room had a bit of a musty smell, but we quickly got use to it. When we opened the cabinet doors beneath the sink, the smell was stronger. One day our beds weren't straightened (being eco-friendly, we didn't expect the sheets to be changed), but we did expect the beds to be made. We reused our towels several times. When we put them in the floor or tub, they were picked up, but not replenished. When we noticed, Mike quickly replenished them for us. The shower curtain was beginning to develop a bit of a pink tinge (precursor to mold) on the lower edges.

The breakfast/lunch snack baskets were nice, but we're accustomed to a breakfast area where the selections are broader. One day the basket was replenished, but Mike took care of that, too. If there was a basket item we particularly liked, we'd tell Mike and he made sure we had it.

The a/c was located above the sink in our room with the on/off switch on the wall. Another reviewer mentioned a remote to change the temp. We never saw a remote for our unit and it appeared to be an older model a/c that didn't have a digital temp control. Maybe we should have asked. Regardless, it cooled the room quickly, but we had to shut it off/on when it got too cool or too warm. Once the room was cool, a ceiling fan would have kept us comfortable by distributing the air, but there wasn't one in the room. The a/c was quite noisy, too. Again, not a problem for us because it drowned out any noise coming from outside the room. TV was an older model, not flat screen, but it worked fine.

People traveling with children might be disappointed because motel doesn't have a functioning pool. We often find the pool area to be noisy, so we were glad that it didn't have one. Some of the nearby campgrounds allow people to use their pool for a small fee. Or, you can enter the river at several nearby places to play in the water.

Being a small place, it doesn't have an exercise room, breakfast area, or business center. No problem for us as we were getting plenty of exercise during our outings, we brought cereal and milk with us, and we had access to a friend's computer, but worth mentioning because at most places we stay these are standard.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to others, but with the above mentioned caveats. We plan to stay at the Gateway the next time we're in Townsend because of its location and it is a good, solid value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired-luvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corydon In
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We certainly agree with all the good reviews listed. We are a group of mostly "senior" hikers who have been getting together since 1995. Our hikes have dwindled from 10-12 miles per day in our early years to anywhere from 3 -8 miles a day now. Our first year was in the Smokies and we hiked to LeConte for overnighter.Anyway we have been many places. We always go Thanksgiving weekend. Well even though we have stayed in the Smokies probably 3 or 4 of our trips we always stayed in Gatlinburg. We only last year 2011 Thanksgiving found this really special place. We had 12 people there. We had 2 cabins and 4 motel rooms. The staff (family) was very friendly and always accomadating to our needs. Yes, we loved the goody baskets and appreciated the cleanness and the quietness. We will be heading to Ohio to Hocking Hills this year BUT anytime we head back to the Smokies we will be sure to stay at The Townsend Gateway Inn. should have written this sooner but thanks from Melvin and Betty and The Happy Hikers

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed nice but we loved the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettylou46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

OK, didn't mean to scare you with that title. BUT.....

My wife and I love Gateway Inn. But in their drive to be ECO friendly, they about drove me nutty. We stayed several days and enjoyed everything except the cleaning crew.

On night one, we walked into a sauna. Out side temperature was 80 and the room was about 85 degrees. This is understandable because no one wants to waste the AC on a vacant room. But it did not cool off until the wee hours of the morning and neither of us slept well.

The next morning, we showered and headed out for our first hike, a 1/2 day route.

Before leaving the room, my wife told me to NOT pick up the towel on the floor behind the toilet where she accidentally dropped it as she wanted it replaced. We also left the AC on a reasonable setting of 78 so the room would not be sweltering when we returned.

Returning 5 hours later, covered in sweat and four layers of trail grime, we found the room picked up. But the same towel was back on the rack and the AC was turned off. We went back down to an ice cream shop to cool off and headed for out next adventure because the room was too hot. Housekeeping kept turning off the AC with record heat in Townsend.

Didn't appreciate the note from housekeeping on the last day that I should leave them a little tip on check out. I should have left them a note to do their job and not tamper with the AC settings.

So here is the trick: Have a talk with the guys that run and own Gateway Inn (they are wonderful) and take the AC's remote control when you leave your room.

My wife and I WILL STAY AGAIN. It really is a good place. I just don't want you having the little glitches tempering your enjoyment of the place.

Gateway Inn is probably our new favorite place to stay and we loved the goody basket in the room; nice touch.

This is not your local cheap chain motel. These guys put a lot of thought and hard work into each room. As another review stated, "It is more like a Bed and Breakfast than a motel".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June 2012. Older motel, but it has been restored and is soooo nice. Each room has quilts on the beds. It feels more like a B & B rather than a motel. In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee. They gave us a small basket of goodies (breakfast pastries, pretzels, crackers, etc.) and our choice of coffee or tea. It was more like staying with a friend. Great view with a front porch with rockers. Right across from the river and a waterfall, which we could hear from our porch in front of our room. Very good price, and they even gave us a discount because we were staying so long. We highly recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
659 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,276 reviews
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing