We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay and the place keeps getting BETTER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My sister and I enjoy staying here during ChristyFest in Townsend. The Motel is always perfectly clean and this year we were in one of the rennovated rooms. NostaIgically speaking, I missed the cement block wall look, but it is so beautifully redone, I can easily get over it...then I noticed a small area in the bathroom where the original wall is still visible. YEAH...I loved the contrast in perfection. Sweet Sister has asthma and one day I did notice some dust bunnies hiding in the air condition filter. The a/c was cleaned pronto and we were back to perfection. If you don't like being bothered by outside noises, this is the place to stay. One night when we arrived, there were approximatedly 10 motorcycles parked outside the rooms, and one lonely van (my sister's). The next morning all the motorcycles were gone and we never heard a single VEROOM. The walls are just that thick! As before the daily treat basket is great and the view from the rockers is relaxing. I never noticed the river / dam in front of the Motel till this stay , when I heard it from the rockers...sweet.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 of the rooms and they have all been clean and quiet. My only recommendation woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivoryjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

This motel has been in Townsend for many years. All the rooms have been redone and are very nice - especially the sparkling, clean bathrooms. The snack basket (including coffee) was an added treat! The staff was very courteous and helpful in recommending restaurants and other things to do in the area. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room but next time will check out their private cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed here for one night with two friends while exploring Great Smoky Mountains NP. We loved it! It was clean, very nicely decorated, quiet and safe. The owner was very friendly and accommodating and allowed us to do late check in, since we'd been out in the park until after sunset. Very nice place and we would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I enjoyed six nights saying in cottage 3 in July 2012. The cottage was very clean. The bed was so comfortable. The daily snack basket was always good (and it was kind of fun to see what you would get next!). Mike was so helpful and easy to talk to. This was our first time to stay in Townsend and it was great. We enjoyed day trips to Cades Cove, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge. We also drove down the Foothills Parkway for some beautiful vistas of the Smokys. Sunday morning we enjoyed worship at the Church of the Cove - very friendly. It was just such a nice trip and every day we came back to our cabin and relaxed with tv and wifi and it was just great. If I had to make a suggestion it would be that the futon couch was hard as a rock! The mattress on the futon needs new life! I loved the old chair in the living room and took several naps there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We rented two rooms for a three-night stay late July. Room 7 has been remodeled, but room 10 hasn't yet. She told us that when we checked in, which was nice. I stayed in room 7 and it was lovely and very clean. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. My niece stayed in room 10, so I checked it out. It is still very nice and just as clean and comfortable. They keep you in snacks and coffee, they are friendly and helpful and the hotel is well located. You won't have any unpleasant surprises here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsme018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our second time staying with Townsend Gateway Inn. It is a wonderful place to stay and the owners are great. Cleanest place I have ever stayed anywhere! The goody basket is a welcome treat! Love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed in this Inn because of several great reviews. All the info was correct. Everything was clean and I loved the old feel charm that this had. My bed was comfortable along with the pillows and the linens were clean. I am really particular about beds and linens and everything on the bed was clean to my satisfaction, which is hard to do. We met Pete and Colleen who are 2 of the propietors. Very nice people who are great at what they do. We were comfortable and will be staying there on our next vacation to the Smokies. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sillapresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
12.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,605 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
20 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing