We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed a week in one of the Cottages at Townsend Gateway Inn. It suited our needs very well. It was clean and comfortable for the two of us, and location was quiet and close to Cades Cove. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I liked the wood floors over traditional carpet since it minimized that bad "mountain, musty" smell you normally get at hotels in the area. The Inn is also within walking distance to the Carriage House Restaurant, which was great for getting breakfast and dinners.

There were a few minor things to note. The shower used a low flow shower head so the water pressure wasn't great. Not really a huge deal, it just took longer to rinse off. The dish TV would frequently have issues connecting and losing signal. Not a big deal for us since we rarely watched TV. And we sometimes had issues with the WiFi. Again not a huge deal since we didn't need to be online. I only mention these as minor notes to others since they may be an inconvenience to some people. However, for us the overall stay here was quite pleasant and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler1616GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    94
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
226
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ga
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice, appreciated the refrigerator and microwave. Take your own pillow. Wood floors makes it clean, nicely remodeled bathrooms. Enjoyed the rocking chairs on porch. Try Firefly Cafe in IGA shopping center, good breakfast and dinner was great too.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyH1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Based on the reviews, I picked Gateway Inn on my last visit to Townsend. Really a very nice place. Owners have updated the rooms..hardwood floors, very nice bathroom, nice bedding. For the price can't say anything negative. The owners were very nice as well! Will stay again on my next visit. FYI the pool was not operating.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have been rennovated..but just ask. Miss Lilly's is a good place to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KashiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great comfortable room, clean, good shower, basket of goodies refilled often. They were mopping the sidewalk outside all of the rooms one day when I came back from visiting the mountains! What more could you ask for. And they recycle! Closest to Cades Cove! You will not be unhappy! Highly recommend them! Avoid the crowds and stay in Townsend. Plenty of restaurant, gas stations,etc!

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped the same style and they offer cottages too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordovadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This Inn was everything we could ask for and possibly hoped for. The room was immaculate. The new wooden floors shone to the point we could almost see ourselves in them. The mason work in the bathroom was beautiful. Pete, I assume the owner, was a very nice man and the workers seemed to be happy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Restaurants were all around the motel and the manager suggested the best places to eat and he was ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just got back from our stay in Townsend.. We stayed in a cottage at Gateway it was nice, great staff, clean room, nice bath that had been up-dated.. Bed was HARD !! Towels were worn and stiff.. We knew when we went it was not a 5 star so we got what we expected.. It is fine for a quick trip to the MTNS..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedartown, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We love to vacation in the mountains, but this is the first time we have actually stayed in Townsend. This will be my place to stay from now on. My mother and I spent the week of July 29-August 5 at the Gateway Inn, and I have never stayed in a motel where the service was any better. The owners and staff were extremely nice and willing to do whatever they could to make our stay comfortable, from taking our letters to the post office to offering to help with my mother's wheelchair. We were also impressed with the cleanliness of our bedroom and bathroom. You are withing walking distance of several restaurants; and even though you are near the road, it is very quiet and peaceful. I look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 12 is near the ramp to the porch and has hand rails in the bathtub. Two double beds give a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing