We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you should stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rowlett, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is where you should stay.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was very welcoming after a long drive through the mountains. Beautiful large room with nice hardwood floors and comfy bed. The rocking chairs out front of our room are great for relaxing after a long day or watching the sunrise. Pete is a great host, delivering a nice welcome basket and recommending the best places to eat. Our only regret is not spending more time at the inn. So much time sightseeing we didn't get to fully appreciate this great place. (Cade's Cove is beautiful this time of year) Clean, quiet, and cozy with the homey feel of an old Mom and Pop highway inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerryMefford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    98
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
141
234
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Clean hardwood floors, comfortable beds and pillows, great hamper full of goodies replenished every day and a great cookout on the last day of our stay.

Very friendly (truly helpful) staff. Hospitality @ its best. A very pleasant change from the corporate chains.

Please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: About 15 minutes drive from Cades Cove entrance. Don't miss Riverstone Restaurant. Simple bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalaniEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nappanee, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Ok here I am again. On my way home from Florida stopped in again. It just gets better and better. The fall leaves were beautiful and weather perfect. The Gateway had a bonfire and a guest whose husband had just gotten her a guitar sang under the stars. The room as always was very clean . It was chilly and turned on the heater and was very warm and cozy. The owners go out of the way to make guests feel welcome. Need any info and they will help you. I have meet many people now that keep on coming back. I just hope I can get a room when I need one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank behoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PURVIS MS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

MY husand and myself followed by our son and his wife called Gateway and talked to the owner Pete to get a reservation.He was most helpful in getting us a room for one of the busiest weekends in the mountains. The inn was very clean, beds were comfortable, not too hard and not too soft. They brought us a welcoming basket that they replenished everyday.There were rocking chairs in front of your room on the porch for you to sit in and watch the activities. I felt like i knew Pete personally, he made you feel so welcome. My son and his wife loved it also. When we go back to the mountains this is where we will be staying. Rates very reasonable, people were very friendly.Highly recommended, especially for older couples such as us.Sandy Graham from Purvis MS.

Room Tip: We had a king size bedroom and our kids had a double bed room. Both were very accomodating to all ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a great place to stay in Townsend. Our stay was from Oct. 9-14, 2012 and we will be staying here again on our next trip. The staff is very friendly and helpful so that your stay will be great. The rooms have hard wood floors and the beds are really comfortable. All the rooms have rocking chairs out front for you to enjoy your stay. Also we enjoyed waiting to see what the goodie basket would have when we returned from our day out. So if your in Townsend and looking for a place to stay go by and see the folks at Gateway Inn and be sure to tell Mike hello. Thanks again for making our vacation this week fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimLee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Found this place on Trip Advisor and was very happy. All brand new rooms with hard wood floors and comfortable king size beds. Each room had rocking chairs on the front porch. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and visit. They don't have a breakfast but they do give you a goodie basket full of snacks when you arrive. This was an old hotel that stood vacant for many years. It really is refreshing to see Townsend have a "brand new" and comfortable new place to stay. They also have small cabins on site but I didn't see the inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pride31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

2 night stay. This hotel was a perfect location for Cade's Cove. Although an older hotel, it has been renovated and met all of our needs. Comfortable beds, working a/c and t.v., microwave and frig. Noise blocking concrete walls. The treat basket was an added bonus. Loved sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch smelling the fresh mountain air. Within walking distance to a well priced restaurant. Great biking or walking path in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knockingon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
185 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
2,192 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing