We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

They have a great view of the Smokey Mountains from the front rockers on the front porch. Staff is great and always willing to offer suggestions for food and activities. We have stayed here for the last three years, when in town for fly fishing excursions. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the daily goodie baskets are great. There is a fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room, which comes in handy for early morning breakfasts and late dinners in room after a long day of fishing. Prices are very reasonable and you get a chance to slow down and enjoy the scenery.

Room Tip: They have individual cabins as well as rooms, but all have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    95
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
226
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here in July before going to Gatlinburg with the kids and we really enjoyed the place! The people were nice and the basket of snacks were great! We explored Townsend and at the GSM Entrance and this was a great location. This is a nicely renovated motel and I plan on staying here again sometime.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We just came through with a group (19 of us) and had the pleasure of spending a few nights at Townsend Gateway Inn. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the proprieters are freindly and helpful. They even set up a cookout for our group with great food and an awesome desert. Our entire group felt that this was the best stay and the most fun meal we had on our 8 days of traveling. We will definitely return on our next trip to the area

Room Tip: Several rooms have a great view of the Little River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandkmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed two or three nights during winter, and it was nice... Quiet, clean, cozy (warm even with a space heater), friendly proprietors, and a snack basket. It was not overly crowded, which is always nice. We would definitely stay here again. The proximity to Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Knoxville was just right. The 'motor lodge' style of building was sort of retro, and neat :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toms river new jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 and were happy with our choice. It's a very small lodge ( 18 or so rooms) and this is probably why the owners are able to offer their guests the hospitality that they do. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable . During our 2 night stay I always saw someone from the office out and about taking care of things. In the morning as we were enjoying sitting on the rocking chairs the owner came walking by and took a seat to chat with us. They made us feel as if we knew them. They also fill a basket everyday with goodies which I thought was so sweet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zozobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PURVIS MS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We just returned from our Cades Cove trip and naturally since we have found Gateway Inn that is where we stay. It is so peaceful and relaxing. Love the people, they are so friendly and helpful. They never make you feel rushed when talking to them. The beds are comfortable, room is clean, goody basket always refilled each morning. I am sure if anyone will try it once they will return for the second time and times afterwards. Keep up the good work. Sandy and Jimmie Graham of Purvis MS.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel location is a great advantage. Just 0.5m away from the National park entrance. I called Mike a night in advance when I was in Atlanta. He was courteous to give me directions and suggestions to make the best use of the weekend. My main intention was to do some photography and enjoy the nature.

The rooms are big and my room could easily accommodate a family of 4 people. Snacks are provided as part of the package. Pizza hut, subway and other outlets are walk-by distance to this place. It is located in the periphery of Smoky Mountains where lot of birds are chirping most of the time. There is ample parking space too.

It was a good to spend time in this place with good hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing