We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip for two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose this Inn based on the reviews. They were all correct, it is a great place to stay. The area is quiet, the rooms are clean and the owners provided a goodie basket. We would recommend this to all and will stay here again when we return to the area. The only downfall was the room next to us where the women wanted to talk all night. No fault of the owners. Great place to stay and the rocking chairs are a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MothertRockwellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got back from staying 3 nights and was a very nice stay. Owner was very cordial and helpful with whatever needs there was. Room was very comfortable and had everything you needed. And loved the goody basket that they refilled daily. The Rocking chairs on our front porch added a warm homey feel. But most of all, they welcomed our Labrador that came with us on our vacation and was able to feel comfortable with her being there. Owners are Dog lovers also. Sometimes it's hard to find a Motel that will welcome your pet, and they were able to do that! We will be back....... Thank you for our stay.

Room Tip: Had corner suite (on end), worked great with having dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently stayed here. Close to Cade's Cove. Room very clean. Owner left basket with snacks/muffins. A very nice touch. Quiet area in the Smokies with a few restaurants in the area which were convenient. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to this area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank elegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights and was a very nice stay! The beds are comfortable, rooms are very nicely decorated and updated. The owner had the heat turned on when we arrived, very cozy. We received a "goody basket" daily, very nice touch. Will for sure stay here whenever we are in Townsend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubby3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked three nights. We checked in on New Years night somewhat late. It was a chilly night and the owner had the light on in our room and had turned on the heat so that the room was welcoming and comfortably warm when we arrived. At check in, the owner asked if we preferred coffee or tea. We explained that we don't drink either so he offered hot chocolate. As we finished unloading our luggage, he brought a basket of goodies to our room which included the hot chocolate, mugs, spoons, and a variety of snacks. The room was very clean and I especially loved the hard wood floors. The only issue we encountered was that ESPN was not available in the room. Not so great when traveling during the college football bowl season :) We enjoyed our time but due to sickness had to leave a day early. Due to snow in the area, we had difficulty getting out of the parking lot. I gave the owner a call (he was at home next door) and he came to help us out by putting sand under our tires and driving the vehicle down to the street. This hotel was a great find and we hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smiths4AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had been staying at a different location in Townsend when a terrible storm came and knocked out all power and running water at our remote cabin. We couldn't reach the management company and weren't comfortable staying somewhere remote without power or water, so we packed up, called Townsend Gateway Inn, and were able to get a last-minute booking in one of their little cabins with the kitchenette. The owner was in the middle of eating dinner with his family, but he stopped to help us get settled in and get our kids comfortable so they could go to bed. The unit was exceptionally clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family of four. The kitchen facility was great and saved us money on meals, and we appreciated having a door between the living area and the sleeping area. It was also very affordably priced, had a beautiful view, and was surprisingly quiet given the proximity to the road. I wished we had stayed here for our entire stay in Townsend. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The individual cabin was quiet, with a door between the kitchen/living room and bedroom. Great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JennHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After leaving Gatlinburg a day early because of a cabin rental fiasco, I called and made a reservation at the Townsend Gateway Inn. What a delight! This will now be my new "go to" lodging when visiting the GSMNP. As a former RV'r, I watched this motel remain closed, and wished someone would come along to restore and reopen it. Well, the new owners very lovingly restored it, while maintaining a warm and welcome feel in the rooms. The views from the rooms are also very pretty. We were greeted with a wonderful goody basket with hot chocolate, cookies, chips and danishes, as complete as any 5 star hotel! Thank you for making us feel so comfortable! We will be back, and will recommend the motel to all of our friends and family!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedLilySpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
723 reviews
11.9 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
650 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing