We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jasper, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Stay for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were visiting the Smoky Mountains National Park and seeking a hotel near the closest entrance to Cades Cove. There is very little in the way of quality selection in this area. This is a wonderful, small, older motel. Yes, a motel, the doors open to the outdoors and when the curtains are open everyone can see in. That is the end of the downside. The curtains closed tightly so you had privacy when they were closed. It has great wooden floors (probably a laminate). The bathroom appeared newly renovated with great tile and was extremely clean. They use European style toiletries, so you have the dispenser on the wall for soaps, shampoo, lotion, etc. The towels were thick and luxurious, about as good as you will find anywhere. The room was very large with an appropriate amount of furniture. The heater/AC was a in wall unit above the bathroom sink controlled by a remote control device. We never turned the TV on but it was an old style, tube television in a very nice piece of furniture. The free wifi worked perfectly. As probably mentioned by everyone you receive a basket of goodies when you arrive and it is refreshed daily with all sorts of snacks including pre-packaged pastries each day. This was nice because we were leaving early and the restaurants in the area did not open early enough for breakfast. Our price was unbelievably low for what we got, $79 per night. We will be back here for our annual trip to the Smokies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    94
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
226
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The motel is parallel to the road, but set way back from the road. From our room, our view beyond the road was of Little River and a spillway with some rapids below that. The spillway made a great waterfall sound. Between that waterfall sound, the heat & air blower and the insulated windows, we couldn't hear the outside traffic at all.

The motel was very clean. We had 2 opportunities to test the responsiveness of the hotel staff and they were up to the challenge. First, the shower had an issue and sprayed a lot of water onto the floor. We told the maid and she had the owners there in a flash. The other incident was when the remote ran out of battery power. I called and the owner was there almost instantly with fresh batteries.They provided a basket of goodies every day. THANKS!

In addition, this motel is reasonably priced. I've stayed in a variety of places in Townsend through the years, but had been won over by Townsend Gateway Inn. Great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicCityHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My sister and I are not big shoppers. We came to area just to veg out and see nature. This hotel is perfect for a quiet getaway. Very, very, clean , hardwood floors, comfortable beds, small fridge, and even a gift basket with fresh treats every day of our stay. Less than 10 miles to Cades Cove, which is where we wanted to be . Will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwell NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose this Inn based on the reviews. They were all correct, it is a great place to stay. The area is quiet, the rooms are clean and the owners provided a goodie basket. We would recommend this to all and will stay here again when we return to the area. The only downfall was the room next to us where the women wanted to talk all night. No fault of the owners. Great place to stay and the rocking chairs are a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MothertRockwellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got back from staying 3 nights and was a very nice stay. Owner was very cordial and helpful with whatever needs there was. Room was very comfortable and had everything you needed. And loved the goody basket that they refilled daily. The Rocking chairs on our front porch added a warm homey feel. But most of all, they welcomed our Labrador that came with us on our vacation and was able to feel comfortable with her being there. Owners are Dog lovers also. Sometimes it's hard to find a Motel that will welcome your pet, and they were able to do that! We will be back....... Thank you for our stay.

Room Tip: Had corner suite (on end), worked great with having dog.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wasn't real crazy about the liquid soap....smelled like Right guard deodorant. But liked having the recycling bin in room to help out.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here. Close to Cade's Cove. Room very clean. Owner left basket with snacks/muffins. A very nice touch. Quiet area in the Smokies with a few restaurants in the area which were convenient. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to this area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank elegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights and was a very nice stay! The beds are comfortable, rooms are very nicely decorated and updated. The owner had the heat turned on when we arrived, very cozy. We received a "goody basket" daily, very nice touch. Will for sure stay here whenever we are in Townsend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubby3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing