We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem just outside Smokey Mountain Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem just outside Smokey Mountain Park”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We Stayed at this Inn June 3 & 4, the rooms are newly remodeled and very comfortable and clean. Rooms have a frige and microwave. We were called a few days early by the manager and
asked if we wanted to take a trip to a special firefly viewing ( at no charge) it was very interesting and very nice they called to ask us if we wanted to participate. I highly recommend this Inn!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dond0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    97
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
139
229
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of May. Very nice place and people. Wifi was a little weak in the room, but worked fine outside. We will stay here again in the future. Great location for motorcycle riders. Close to everything, but far enough away for peace and quiet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel because it was away from the hustle and bustle of the other side of the Smokies. I have stayed at MANY hotels and would have to say that this is by far my favorite. We were a little hesitant because of the size and apparent age of the property. However, there is nothing bad that I can say about this place. It is small, 17 rooms and 3 cabins. We were very happy with our room. My wife is very picky when it comes to how clean a room is... and she was happy. That says a lot. The room was very well kept. Furnishings were appropriate for the size of room. The owners have made this place into a hidden 'gem'. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk. However there is a phone that goes straight to the owner. She was there is less than 2 minutes. She was very friendly and helpful and was a good source of information for where to eat locally. That night they made a fire to sit around and the kids were able to make s'mores. The next night they had a outside movie to sit and watch. Again, one of the owners were there. I could go on and on and on..... but there is no need. This place is excellent and you WILL NOT be disappointed. Trust the reviews and pay this Inn a visit. We will for sure stay here again.

Green Features: They have a recycle bin in your room so everything does not go in the trash. They are doing their part to help protect the environment.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
327 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We haven't stayed here in a couple of years and it is still a great place to stay while you are visiting the Smokies. It is a family run Motel and as always was clean and spacious. We will not stay anywhere else when visiting Townsend. It is a great place to base your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
466 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I really don't have anything new to add about Townsend Gateway Inn. It remains a extra clean, quiet place to stay. They did have nice, thick, new towels for this visit and the bed linens are still great. We take advantage of the mini fridge in the room to store breakfast items and have breakfast in the room. They have room to store your bikes, we brought ours this trip to ride in Cades Cove, which is nearby. You can't do any better in Townsend, we stay here each time we come.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort oglethorpe Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked 3 nights after reading the other reviews. They were correct,. It is a wonderful find. The rooms are large and clean. We have traveled a lot, and I have never been given a goodie basket. It is restocked every day. This is a very nice touch to your stay. The people are so nice. The rooms are quite and I did not hear any road noise at night. Good pillows. We have found a new place to veg out!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6 with a king bed
See more room tips
Green Features: Only 2nd time I have found a motel that said if you want to use the towels again, to hang them up and they did not pick them up. Most motels just change them out any way. I use a towel twice at home
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were visiting the Smoky Mountains National Park and seeking a hotel near the closest entrance to Cades Cove. There is very little in the way of quality selection in this area. This is a wonderful, small, older motel. Yes, a motel, the doors open to the outdoors and when the curtains are open everyone can see in. That is the end of the downside. The curtains closed tightly so you had privacy when they were closed. It has great wooden floors (probably a laminate). The bathroom appeared newly renovated with great tile and was extremely clean. They use European style toiletries, so you have the dispenser on the wall for soaps, shampoo, lotion, etc. The towels were thick and luxurious, about as good as you will find anywhere. The room was very large with an appropriate amount of furniture. The heater/AC was a in wall unit above the bathroom sink controlled by a remote control device. We never turned the TV on but it was an old style, tube television in a very nice piece of furniture. The free wifi worked perfectly. As probably mentioned by everyone you receive a basket of goodies when you arrive and it is refreshed daily with all sorts of snacks including pre-packaged pastries each day. This was nice because we were leaving early and the restaurants in the area did not open early enough for breakfast. Our price was unbelievably low for what we got, $79 per night. We will be back here for our annual trip to the Smokies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing