We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burns, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just got home from our stay at the Gateway Inn in Townsend. We stayed in one of the little cottages and it was very cozy and clean. I am a cleaning fanatic so I don't give out that compliment freely. The only thing I would have changed is maybe a small tv and a fan in the bedroom but that's just my opinion. We usually visit Townsend several times a year so the Gateway Inn will now be our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    97
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
139
229
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I needed a place to stay overnight to pick my daughter up from Tremont early the next morning and chose it because of the reviews I read here. They were so right. I wished I had asked for the name of the lady who checked me in because she was so pleasant and helpful...gave me recommendations for dinner and brought me a fabulous snack basket. My room was much bigger than I thought and the AC had been left on for me so it was nice and cool. Everything was very clean and comfortable. In the morning, I sat out on the porch in a rocking chair and drank coffee and thought I might could stay there all day becasue it was so relaxing. Hopefully we'll be back when we can stay longer.

Green Features: Appreciated that there was a recycle bin in my room.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We love this place. It is our 3rd time to stay at Townsend Gateway Inn. It is so clean, quiet, and relaxing. This is the only place we stay when we go to the Smokey Mountains. It is close to good places to eat. We enjoy walking the path along the road and just relaxing on the by the fire pit at the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. We love the view from the hotel porch. We also love the ability to enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our first time to the Smokies...we could not be happier with our lodging choice! Great little cabin, and the kitchenette & fridge adds so much...we even made slice and bake cookies tonight! The owners stock a snack basket for us each day, and they include items specially chosen to appeal to both us grownups and our 9-yr-old grandson.

Queen bed is very comfy, and the whole place is spotless. I actually had to lower the A/C, and I'm hardly ever "too cool!" Grandson sleeps on the futon...typical hard mattress there, but kids don't care and all the bedding was ready for us to make up his special area. Pots, pans, utensils, and dishes enough for four.

When not sightseeing, you can play horseshoes, enjoy the large TV, or take walks to nearby snack eateries or attractions. Tonight, we walked over to a chainsaw artist shop and took pictures of his totem poles!

Great place, quiet town with just enough to do but no crowds, and as close as you can get to the park itself without tent camping!!!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep more than two adults, opt for the "lodge"...but the cabin is great if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherylynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Where else can you personally interact with the owners.They were most accommodating.We had pre-arranged a firefly viewing at Elkmont and we're not disappointed.I highly recommend this motel and you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: The first four or five rooms have been recently updated.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent green routine.Recycling bin in each room.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_M60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely motel May 29-30. We arrived late in the evening 9 p.m. or so and found many of the guests sitting in the rocking chairs in front of their rooms. We had traveled all day more than 10 hours, and were pretty tired, but we joined everyone else. Rocking chairs cool breezes and a glass of wine. What a nice way to finish off a tiring long and stressful day. The room was spacious and very clean. We had no complaints. We slept hard and awoke early and rested the next day. If you are visiting Cades Cove, this is the perfect place to stay. The prices were to our liking and provided high value in our opinion. We will definitely go back. They called us the other day to let us know that they had found 6 pairs of socks in the bureau. They were not ours (we noticed that previous guests had left them). I was impressed that the staff would try to chase down the owners of a few pairs of socks. It exemplified the great customer service that we saw as their guests. Well done Townsend Gateway Inn.

Room Tip: They have cabins. Next time we will try those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Family owned so property and rooms very well taken care of and very clean. The 2 brothers and sister could not have been more accommodating during our stay. We stayed in one of the cottages which was perfect for the 3 of us. The hotel's family got us in to an attraction that was already full, gave us the name of a great hike, and even helped when one of our party was ill.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our cottage but they also have single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing