We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townsend Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nappanee, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

After reading the reviews decided to stay. Was not dissapointed,rooms were very clean and the vintage style was really a nice touch.Dave the owner is great,he is doing a great job bringing back the GATEWAY.I will go back ago for sure,was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    89
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
131
223
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Dave the owner actually checked us in. Good value, good sleep experience, clean, and we felt cared-for. LLittle things were done well, such as real glasses instead of plastic cups. Townsend TN was a pleasant surprise in the Smokies, and Townsend Gateway Inn was a pleasant surprise in Townsend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firemandave60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Can't say enough good things about the Gateway Inn! We love the newly remodeled rooms - so sleek, clean, modern yet still mountain-cozy and...something new for Townsend, green! I'm always a little nervous about staying at the single-story-park-in-front-of-your-door hotels which were built in the 50's but I honestly can't wait to come back. Will definitely stay here for future trips to Townsend. As far as service is concerned, I've never met friendlier or more accomodating owners. We visited on a freezing cold weekend and were a little concerned about how long it would take to heat up the room. Less than five minutes after speaking with the owner, he was at our door with extra space heaters just in case we wanted them too. Mix a Smokey Mountain view with New York/Rustic-chic style, Southern hospitality, and Eco-friendly efforts and you've got the Townsend Gateway Inn. Definitely the best stay around.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david3117, owner at Townsend Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Jennifer, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnjwg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

My Husband and I where visiting the Smoky Mountains with family, when we came across the Townsend Gateway Inn. The owners where extremely welcoming. They gave a tour and history of the hotel, which has been recently renovated. The rooms are very cozy, clean and just so relaxing and comfortable. We woke the next morning to a very nice greeting by the owners with a really good, simple continental breakfast. We toured the area and found there is so much to do. We plan on making a trip back this summer to take advantage of the area tourism and wonderful hospitality at the Gateway Inn. Would highly recommend this hotel as a great stay if you are visting the area. The Nielsen Family, Florida

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

Our family recently stayed at the Townsend Gateway Inn, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are newly renovated and are very nicely decorated and very clean. It was a very cozy place to stay, and the rates are very reasonable. So close to Cades Cove too ! Put this on your list of places to stay if you are ever in or near Townsend, TN : )

Vicki Z.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicster407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 89 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
12.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 89 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing