We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
“Very Impressed!”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This little inn is a GREAT place to stay! I wasn't expecting much to be honest. The room was just adorable (super clean), I loved the shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser in the shower, the Welcome Basket of snacks in the room was a pleasant surprise and the price was unbeatable! When visiting the Townsend area in the future, I will definitely return for a stay at the Townsend Gateway Inn!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhairedgirly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    97
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
139
229
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We travled with a group of 21 and half of the guests stayed here. We really enjoyed the place once we arrived and it was better then expected. We had some issues reserving rooms ahead of time and that was causing us some concerns. I was helping to coordinate the reservations and despite calling 6 months in advance rooms were not assigned until 2 weeks before our arrival That was not comforing to those of us who want to know everyting is all set. However upon arrival the rooms were clean, the decor was simple but nice. Room heaters were old but they worked well. Overall the guest rooms were nicer then some higher priced inns we had stayed at. The managment offered to do a BBQ dinner for the group and after traveling for 5 days it was nice to have an evening where we could just relax together. We really enjoyed the food and accommodations. It was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattesoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My wife and I recently spent two nights at The Townsend Gateway Inn. We made our choice after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor.
I would to say that the reviews were right on target,as we found it VERY CLEAN and quite.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull. It's location,a short drive to Gatlinburg and Cades Cove made it an ideal location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cootieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LITTLE ELM, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Two brothers and a sister have updated and made this place a wonderful place to stay for the money. Rocking chairs outside your front door. Typical older style motel where you can park in front of your room. Hardwood flooring, quilts on the bed, goodies for you in the snack basket included with your room.

The restaurants are all close by - but be careful they close the doors early - 7:30pm at some places.

It's a wonderful way to experience entering the the GSMNP without having to deal with highly touristy area of Gatlinburg. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. Good value for the price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Made our reservations based on the reviews here. We stayed in a room, not a cabin. It was a very clean motel but the "porch" is not really what I would call a porch it was more like the walkway in front of the rooms that had rocking chairs on it.. The view from the porch is of the road though you can see trees across the street. There is a table in the room but only one chair so it wasn't a good place to play cards or sit and eat. The heating system is not the most efficient. It would have been nice to have a heavier blanket since the room was chilly at night (with the heat set on 74) and if we had been staying more than one night I would have asked for extra blankets.

On the plus side the rooms smelled fresh and clean. Loved the laminate floors rather than carpet. It was very convenient to the park.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gagrandma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were fortunate that one of the cabins was available for our stay. It was decorated in a bear motif lodge look with pine paneling & Aspen log furniture. The bed was most comfortable and the bathroom and kitchen looked brand new. There were picnic tables between each cabin. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and helped us to plan an area tour by car. We especially enjoyed meeting Mick the motel cat. The weather was fantastic and the leaves everchanging. We will be sure to return again next fall. If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful vacation, we think this is the place to find it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie911sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
466 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was our second stay here and certainly not our last. We love this area and were so pleased to find such a gem in Townsend. As other reviews has stated, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The owners are helpful and friendly and we got to meet Micky, the cat on this visit. You really can't find anything around this nice and the price is great as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing