We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Princesses First Tent Camping Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I love camping. So we wanted to introduce our 3.5 year old and 5 yearr old girls to the experience. This place was awesome from start to finish. Very clean campground with extremely clean bathouses. There were also portable toilets placed throughout campground and these things were extremely clean. The playground, pool and arcade were awsome for the kids. The sites are nice and shady. We were on the river and the site was large enough to not feel cramped. There is a picnic table and fire ring on the site. I would suggest tent pads and air matresses as our tent was partially on gravel. The Staff at this KOA was superb. Extremely friendly. These people always were riding around on their carts and delivering ice or wood to campers, cleaning, directing lost campers (me), and answering 3 million questions with a smile on their face. I would definately recommend this KOA to anyone, especially those with small kids. We are already planning our next trip and it will be back here at this KOA. No doubt about it.

Room Tip: Definately go with riverside site no matter if you stay in cabin, camper, or tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

In early August three of my camping buddies and I spent three nights in Lodge Two in this KOA. We are all over 45. We chose the campground because of its easy access Cades Cove and other parts of the western side of the GSMNP. We had a great view of the river from our deck. We watched tubers float down the river through a thin stand of trees. One afternoon we were the tubers. You can launch rent and launch at the KOA. One guy got the bedroom with his own TV. I slept on the fold-out couch in the living room. The loft was spacious enough for two queen size matteresses (one came with cabin).

The deck was spacious, had a table with four chairs and a large gas with side burner. The decks of the adjacent lodges are rather close but their L-shaped gave some privacy and a chance to chat with the neighbors.

The kitchen space inside included a microwave, an under-the-counter frig and sink (also served as "bathroom" sink). This cabin was more expensive than the other cabin we stayed in on the NC side but was newer and had the pay for view of the river.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our cabin was spotless. It looked new and probably was. Nice patio and fire ring for camp fire and the pool was clean and close. Not much to look at as far as scenery within the campground where we were located, but there are some water front sites. I enjoyed walking around as most of the place is nicely shaded w/ mature trees. It was a little weird at first at check in, as the computers were down and seems as though corporate doesn't allow their employees to rent cabins if this happens?!?!?!? Staff did make an exception and rented me a room after a weird conversation and my getting upset about it. Kind of made for an uncomfortable introduction, however, the remainder of my stay the staff was very, very nice. A store/gas station is attached and the location of the campground was wonderful. Right at the foot hills of the Smoky Mtns...It is REALLY quiet this side of the Smoky Mts, which was a nice change of pace compared to Cherokee, NC. Overall, it was nice...pricey, very pricey, but worth it for a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the water if you want scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Last year we stayed in Gatlinburg at a hotel. It was too busy for me. Our balconly overlooked the river which I really liked, but right across the river were Condo's. Here at the Townsend KOA, we stayed in a "Kozy Kabin", it was right on the river with a swing on the porch. There were trees across the river and maybe one or two RV's showing through the trees. I really liked the view. The cabin did not have bathrooms, but the Comfort Station was very very clean with private showers. We never had to wait in line. The Cabin also had air!!. Everything was very neat and clean. Townsend is in between, Cades Cove and the Sugarlands Visitor Center. About 20 minutes each way. This was the first time my daughter and I camped on our own and it was a great experience. By the way, there is a small fridge in the cabin too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwendalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent a week in a deluxe lodge # 9. These lodges are next to the highway, but we rarely heard the noise. The lodges have all the basic comforts and were clean and well maintained.
All have a small patio with gas grill and patio furniture ( an umberella for the table would be a nice touch). The lodge provided a great base for the our Smoky Mountain adventures. Be advised the lodges are small and not ideal for hanging around the cabin. The larger lodges along the river would be better suited for hanging around the cabin.

Room Tip: Note: Bring extra towels. A cooler was helpful for keeping drinks cool and minimizing the traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therman17404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we have stayed here at least one million times. this is our "time share" our "home away from home" our "little piece of heaven"! yes, it is expensive...but worth every penny! by this time next week,sisters and their husbands from kentucky and florida will be camping right on the river. later, we will be joined by our children and grandchildren from kentucky and georgia. it does not get any better than this if your love the river and the great smoky mountains national park. it just doesn't! that's all i can say!

Room Tip: call early...get a camp site on the river. it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My family of five spent five nights at the Townsend KOA, from May 23-May 27, which included over Memorial Day weekend. I had booked on-line a two-room "kamping kabin", which sleeps up to six people.

Check-in went really fast, and the lady working in the office very friendly and helpful. We were assigned cabin #14, which is the aptly named "River's Edge". We drove up to it, and parked. Cabin #14 is located on a small hill overlooking the river. There are a few steps on the hill (maybe 10) to walk up to it. The cabin has a large front deck, almost hanging directly over the river. It also has a porch swing. Off to one side of the cabin is a little grassy area with picnic table, fire ring, and water spigot. I thought the camping cabins a decent space apart from one another. Cabin #7 in particular is set back a little ways (but is still on the river).

Inside, the cabin was very cute, quaint, and clean. A double bed in the front room, along with a dorm-style fridge and a bench. The window air conditioning unit was also in the front room. The back room has two sets of bunkbeds and a small table. We felt it was plenty of room for our family of five. You do need to bring your own bedding, towels, etc.

There were two port-a-potties located right in the cabin area. They were very clean and did not smell at all except by the end of the holiday weekend they were getting a bit grungy. The main bathhouse in the middle of the campground was always spotlessly clean. The men's and women's bathrooms were separate, with six or seven bathroom stalls in the women's side (not sure about the men's). There were three sinks and lots of counter space. The showers were located in the same building and were all private. There were seven of them; the doors to them opened into the bathroom hallway. They were not designated by gender, but since they were individual that didn't matter. They had a lock on the door and a small changing area. The bathrooms were never busy; it was rare someone else was even in there when I was. The showers did get busy between 8-10 at night though over the holiday weekend. My daughters and I did have to wait about ten minutes on Saturday night for a shower to free up.

Lots of activities here. Nice, clean pool. Playground with slides, swings, climbing wall. Arcade. Bike and tube rentals.The main draw of course is the river. There's a small, pebbly beach area which anyone can access to swim or wade in the river. There was another area open to all campers by our cabin that had easy access to the river; people fishing seemed to like this area (more quiet than the beach). They also had planned activities through-out the weekend such as a wagon ride, tye dying, pancake breakfast, bingo, a few other things. Unfortunately, we were always out and about during the day so didn't get to participate. It would be nice if they would do some of that stuff in the evening.

There's a gas station and deli right there that makes getting supplies convenient. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Most of the campground was very wooded and pretty. Any of the river sites were especially nice. I did think the sites for the big RV's were small, but that seems to be typical. I also thought the lodges by the pool too close together, and they had really nothing scenic to look at. All the cabins and lodges on our end though were very nice.

Room Tip: Get a river site or cabin. Try for cabin #7 if looking for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Dancing Bear Cabins
Dancing Bear Cabins
#9 of 22 in Townsend
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Address: 8533 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in what's known as "the peaceful side of the Smokies," the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA neighbors Cades Cove and the countless black bears, deer, plants and flowers that make their homes there. With the tranquil Little River hugging the property line, endless hiking trails weaving through the wooded tapestry surrounding the kampground and swinging bridges suspended nearby, each day at this KOA promises a new adventure. Nearby attractions like Dollywood, Tuckaleechee Caverns (a 25-million-year old cavern system) and miles of tubing and biking guarantee great fun for your vacation. On-site, visit the Little River Village restaurant for a batch of fudge, grab your tackle and cast your line and enjoy free wireless Internet during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townsend / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing