We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place but pricey and they nickel and dime you to death.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremont Outdoor Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremont Outdoor Resort
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place but pricey and they nickel and dime you to death.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed one week in a premeir cabin.We found the staff courteous but not overly friendly. The grounds are kept very clean as was the cabin. But, we had a six person cabin @ $115 a day, which is high, but had to pay extra for every guest over 2 people. You have to pay extra for a second car. You must pay extra for guests to come visit you as well as just picking you up. Lots of rules for children to follow. Lots of talk from guest throughout the campground regarding high price to camp in the park. Overall, nice place but get out your wallet!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    16
    10
    10
    18
See reviews for
43
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at this campground for a week using one tent site and one camper site with 8 children and 4 adults. The sites are pricey, however I will say they are worth it. After reading some of the bad reviews we were expecting to meet ogre's working as the staff here, but to the contrary everyone was very pleasant and helpful. I think some people may mistake a staff that enforces the rules as being rude and unfriendly, but in reality as long as you are good campers and follow the rules so everyone can enjoy their time there then you should enjoy this place....ok, now for the good, the bad and the ugly.....

The Good:
- VERY clean and large shower / restroom facilities ( 2 bath houses on site w/ 4 showers each and multiple sinks and toilets)
- Clean swimming pool and game / arcade on site.
- Full Laundromat with 6 washers & 6 dryers
- River campsites offer fantastic view
-Short & scenic ride to Cades Coves and rafting/tubing spots.
-Church associations offered free camp wide fellowship with snacks, games
and fellowship each morning and evening.

The Bad:
- Sites are VERY close to each other so there's almost no
privacy or breathing room between campers.
-Fire pits / rings are poorly constructed and a safety
hazard which small kids could easily fall into. The fire pits
on most of the sites were in bad need of repair.
- Picnic tables in tent area were rotten and falling apart. One of
our lanterns broke when someone sat down on the
picnic bench and the lantern was sitting on the table. The whole
table slid and tilted and the lantern fell over and busted. Needs
repairs and replacements on those.

The Ugly...
- Each night we were there, a black bear would enter the campsite and rummage through the trash dumpsters, seemed like animal control specialist needed to respond faster than they did.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atomic-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here 7 days in a travel trailer with our 2 children (girl 10, boy 16). After all the negative reviews I was a little hesitant to stay here but we have had a very pleasant experience. Not one problem with the staff. We stayed on a premium riverside site which was beautiful. Unfortunately, because of all the rain the river was closed to tubers while we were there. We did leave a day earlier than planned and did not receive a refund which i new in advance (left to see our dgt in nc on our way home). The campground was well maintained, the people were friendly, it was in a good location near cades cove. The site were not large but I've seen much worse. About 40 minutes from the Sugarland Visitor Center and Gatlinburg. We did not use the bathroom facilities or pool while we were there. We were gone from the campground most of the days while we were site seeing. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: we stayed by the river in the A section, site 21. it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the "premium" cabins. The cabin was decent but It smelled really bad. I had to go the store and get air freshener. For the premium price I expected better.

A guest of mine came to the campground to pick me up and take me out for dinner. The campground charged them $3 a person to drive up to our cabin just to pick me up to leave. Where's the common sense? That was a returning customer deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motojays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We camped in a motorhome at Tremont for 9 days and found the facilities Clean, and very well maintained. We had a riverside site in the "A" section, which is across the river from a 2 lane highway, which was fine as the sound of the river drowned out any traffic noise. All riverfront sites have a small deck which turned out to be very useful since it rained on and off for the first few days we were there. The campground is very Park like with lots of trees and grass and each Lot is staggered between each site (so you don't look directly at the RV Next door!) We looked at the other RV parks in the area and NONE were even close to being as nice as Tremont.

Since I waited too late to book our site, we were only able to stay 7 days on the river but the folks in the office (especially Gail) were absolutely awesome by working her schedule for us to move across the way from our original site. The grounds crew actually came over and hooked up our tow dolly to his golf cart and put it in the new location for us!

The proximity to the Great Smokies/Cades Cove was excellent! and it was just a beautiful 30 minute drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. I will Definitely stay at Tremont again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docsnow05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The environmental ambiance of the Tremont RV Resort is phenomenal, e.g. the babbling brook the proximity to the Smokey Mountains, the weather,and clean bathrooms. However that’s where the term Outdoor Resort comes to a screeching halt. I don’t mind paying top dollar for a top dollar site, but I certainly did not expect to pay top dollar for a less than average facility. My first impression of the facility is that it resembles an RV parking lot... The sites are packed within inches of each other, no privacy between sites, no BBQ grills on any of the sites, my site was unpaved, uneven and slopped, the fire rings are rusted through and the attitude at the main office was abysmal. This was my first and quite frankly it will be my last visit to this location. Even with the 20% discount it was less then favorable. Plenty of other facilities available which I am almost sure are better value.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlRauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had stayed at many campgrounds. Our son has medical issues and we had to find a site that had power for given medicine. I'll start by saying the showers/restrooms were very clean. Other than that this place should be avoided if your a tent camper. The owner will insult you in front of your children. The fire ring is a small portion of an oil barrel, not very safe. The site we had was on a hill with no pad for tents. We had 2 days of rain and mud. When we tried to rent a cabin for our last night we were told 2 day minimum. There is no grill for cooking food. We did not stay our full 3 days. I would find another campground if your tent camping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KarlH399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
2.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremont Outdoor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremont Outdoor Resort

Property: Tremont Outdoor Resort
Address: State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Tremont Outdoor Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing