We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LARGE ICE CREAM Servings!!!”
Review of Little River Ice Cream - CLOSED

Little River Ice Cream
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“LARGE ICE CREAM Servings!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a delightful setting! The Ice cream servings are HUGE and the service was awesome and very friendly! We will be back again! Thanks

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kane350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wise, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ice cream experience in smokies”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This ice cream shop inside a converted caboose has great service, friendly staff and plethora of ice cream choices. We had a mini reunion there and placed 17 orders that they got everyone right and everyone left with a smile. We'll be back the next time we are in townsend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelwR7322YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun venue, average food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Soft serve ice cream isn't really ice cream, but more like a fudgecicle on a cone. Frozen, flavored water with who knows what kind of additives to make it appear to be ice cream. Hand dipped ice cream is Mayfield, and you can't go wrong with that!
They also have fast food type fare, like burgers and other sandwiches. It was hot outside and not all tables have an umbrella. Overall, it was a pleasant atmosphere and the novelty of the caboose is one that tourists and kids will enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Yummy ice cream”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place has great ambiance with picnic tables to relax and eat some great food or treats. There are hula hoops for the kids or you can play a game of cornhole. The chocolate peanut butter shake and the brownie sundae are our favorites. We visit multiple times every trip to Townsend

Helpful?
Thank Jkhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
“Fun little ice cream shop”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The ice cream was excellent and my daughter loved being able to play with hula hoops they had there. My wife liked the fact they made an ice cream shop out of an actual real train caboose..

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing