We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treat”
Review of Little River Ice Cream - CLOSED

Little River Ice Cream
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
“Great Treat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great find. We wanted to stop for ice cream for the kids, but the grownups were hungry for real food. This worked great. Tasty ice cream and plenty of real food to choose from. The Philly was very good as were the chicken fingers. Service was very friendly, despite the rain.

Heads up, apparently we lucked out the day we were there because they usually close when it is raining. If you are really looking forward to a visit (which you should be) and it is raining, you might want to call first.

We will certainly stop in next time we are in the area, rain or shine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
344 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ice Cream at a Caboose”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is so cool. Tucked on Hwy 73 just outside of Townsend, TN you will spot a red caboose, beautifully restored. They serve burgers and other food items, but the soft serve ice cream with flavors injected is the real treat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sally8363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“LARGE ICE CREAM Servings!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a delightful setting! The Ice cream servings are HUGE and the service was awesome and very friendly! We will be back again! Thanks

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kane350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wise, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ice cream experience in smokies”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This ice cream shop inside a converted caboose has great service, friendly staff and plethora of ice cream choices. We had a mini reunion there and placed 17 orders that they got everyone right and everyone left with a smile. We'll be back the next time we are in townsend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelwR7322YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun venue, average food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Soft serve ice cream isn't really ice cream, but more like a fudgecicle on a cone. Frozen, flavored water with who knows what kind of additives to make it appear to be ice cream. Hand dipped ice cream is Mayfield, and you can't go wrong with that!
They also have fast food type fare, like burgers and other sandwiches. It was hot outside and not all tables have an umbrella. Overall, it was a pleasant atmosphere and the novelty of the caboose is one that tourists and kids will enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little River Ice Cream also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing