We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Townsend”
Review of Smokin Joes

Smokin Joes
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Townsend”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat on Sunday afternoon while staying in Townsend for a few days. We happened upon Smokin Joes and the parking lot was full...a good sign! We were not disappointed. All three of us had the pulled pork sandwiches. My wife and daughter got the broccoli casserole and fried apples; while I got a double helping of fries. The meat was smoked really well and the sauces were great! Prices were really good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cafebeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    148
    77
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kodak, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in the Smoky's”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We live in Sevier County and decided to try what everyone has been raving about! Everything was beyond excellent!! Ribs were fall off the bone delish, brisket was best ever and fried green tomatoes and hush puppies were over the top some of the best. Our new destination for BBQ, worth the drive!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bklsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“awesome food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We wandered out of the Smoky Mountains in search of something to eat. We happened upon Smokin Joe's and we were glad we did. The ribs, the pulled pork sandwiches, and all of the sauces were good. All four of us loved it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ of East Tennessee!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I love BBQ! Since being stationed in the south 20+ years ago, I fell in love with BBQ. Not the kind that is covered with bottled sauce that came off the grill, but chopped or pulled pork. My first real BBQ was a pig picking at my Guard Unit function. Smokin Joes reminds me of that first day of the pig picking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“get there early before they run out”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you want some of the best brisket in the world this is the place, but don't go too late or you will hear the dreaded sorry we are out. The pulled pork sandwich is an awesome meal also. Try those fried green tomatoes you will be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smokin Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing