We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience with family.”
Review of Dancing Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dancing Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Very poor experience with family.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Staying in the Meigs Trail cabin at Dancing Bear Lodge with my wife and two daughters. Poor service and facilities. The bathtub won't fill due to the faulty drain stopper. The advertised Wi-Fi doesn't work. Worst of all they supplied a pack and play for our youngest but did not include the bottom support mat, leaving thin nylon over the support rods. There is no staff on site after 6:00 so we had to call the property manager at home...twice. Awkward to say the least. Shame because this could have really been a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DancingBearOwner, General Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We have just recently resumed management of the Dancing Bear property and unfortunately your stay appears to have taken place during the transitional period after the Lodge fire. We have worked through some of those issues and hope you will give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    86
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
144
306
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fire on 11/14/13 destroyed the main lodge and restaurant at Dancing Bear. The cabins however were not touched. We had three cabins reserved for the holidays and are going to make other plans since there won't be food service and the other special touches the Lodge is noted for. They will rebuild the structure but not sure when that will be. We have heard great things about Dancing Bear so we look forward to a future stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The lodge is a short drive from home but we felt hundreds of miles away. Within minutes of turning off the highway we felt in the middle of nowhere. We arrived at 3 to check in. The lodge is really beautiful. The front desk folks were very friendly and the check in process was very smooth. We stayed in the Little Greenbrier one room cabin. It was exactly what we needed. Wood burning fireplace (already set up and fire starter logs were delivered to our door a shirt time after our arrival), nice big, comfy bed, small couch and tv. There was a small kitchen and large tub which we did not use. There was a swing and hot tub on the back porch. A gentleman from the lodge staff happened to be at a nearby cabin and told us that he had just changed out the hot tub water so it would be ready in a couple if hours. We set up a couples massage at our cabin as well and we would definitely recommend this service. We had dinner at the lodge restaurant which was fantastic and very romantic by the fireplace. Continental breakfast the next morning was also very good. A variety of muffins, bagels, homemade jams and jellies. Also quiche and my husband loved the banana bread. Checkout was equally as smooth as checkin. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a sister resort to Big Bear Lodge where we were dining but can not stay just one night so we booked Dancing Bear Lodge. The accommodations were nice, we stayed in the lodge but it felt cold without a fore roaring in the beautiful fore place. As a previous subscriber mentioned there was a lack of experienced personnel on the property with little knowledge of the surrounding area to share with guests. They were friendly but the depth of customer service was missing.
On the other hand Big Bear Lodge was outstanding. Even the young waiters were well trained in customer service.

Room Tip: The chef is supposed to be very good but the restaurant was not open even for appetizers. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaNPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

While we loved our cabin, a luxury cabin, very private and even comes with hot tub, we were disappointed with this lodge's service. The staff consisted of 20yr olds, with no depth of knowledge of real service. They were friendly enough, but clueless. Serious mistake not to have senior management running things. It was our anniversary, as was reported in our reservation, and at the end of our dinner, the 20yr old waiter said 'Happy Anniversary!' , without any offer of a complementary dessert or coffee! Also, no coffee in the lodge before 8:00am? Yes, we had an ancient coffee maker in our cabin, but on the morning we are leaving, a cup of coffee at 7:00am would have been nice. The restaurant was pricy for what you got. My trout was so oversauced that I could not tell it was trout! Oh! The final insult: ALL food and drinks purchased included an 18% tip! This service did NOT warrant that!
The owners need to rethink their staffing choices and services. Not a good value for over $300/night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltoes1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stop through the Smokies on our way to Nashville from Asheville. It was a holiday weekend so we were having trouble finding a cabin to rent in Gatlinburg. I remembered that the Dancing Bear was the sister property to Blackberry Farm and decided to give it a try. They happened to have one cabin left so we booked it. The entrance, drive up, and lodge were all very pretty and nicely decorated for fall. Once our cabin was ready we checked in and took the short drive to our cabin. We had originally wanted to book one of the Luxury cabins but since they were sold out we booked the deluxe. Luckily, our cabin was the very last one at the dead end, which was nice for privacy, having only one neighbor. Keep in mind however, no place here is too private. You are next door to another cabin and can see them through your windows no matter which cabin you book.

The cabin was nice. It was a little more rustic and smaller than I though it would be from the website and other reviews. The entire cabin, except for the bathroom is all one open space. We weren't looking for anything too fancy though so it was fine for us. Wood burning fireplace was a nice touch, and the feather bed was very comfy. Some who likes a normal mattress with some firmness would hate this bed, however. The only major downside was the bathroom. It was very small. The shower head could stand to be replaced (it sprayed everywhere) and the shower curtain was extremely light weight, causing it to blow around and stick to your body. Also, there is no ventilation in the bathroom so it gets very steamy if you don't leave the door open. Another thing to note is there is no closet, only a bar about a foot long under the TV to hang clothes.

Dinner was yummy and the smores by the fire outside were great. (I read about this online but no one told us about it on our stay, so we just wandered around and found the fire and smores goodies outside on the deck off of the back of the restaurant).

Overall a good trip, but not sure it was worth the $300 a night for such a rustic cabin. We will probably return for dinner sometime but would probably look for a cabin elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in Newfound Gap, one of the deluxe cabins, located at the very end of the road, furthest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had talked about a trip through Tennessee after he retired and so I was always tearing out articles about places to stay and eat throughout the state. Saw a little item about Dancing Bear in Southern Living and filed it away. I'm so glad I did. We splurged for the LeCompte cabin next to the lodge. It is great. Big bed, big fireplace, comfy couch, full kitchen and rocking chairs on the front porch. Our cabin is lovely. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is fine. There is a different quiche of the day, muffins, bagels, cereal, and yogurt. We ate dinner twice and both times everything was great. We both said we'd come back again in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewboldBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
2.9 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
660 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,276 reviews
14.4 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Lodge

Property: Dancing Bear Lodge
Address: 7140 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, Townsend, TN 37882-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dancing Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains, Dancing Bear Lodge is known as East Tennessee's ultimate vacation basecamp offering charming Southern hospitality. It's picturesque location and luxurious amenities offer guests an opportunity to relax and rejuvenate after trekking mountain trails and exploring surrounding areas. With 36 acres featuring intimate rustic cabins and countless sports and activities, Dancing Bear Lodge creates a comforting retreat tailor-made for the adventurer in all of us. We welcome our guests to experience the best the Smokies have to offer by reserving one of our charming cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dancing Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dancing Bear Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing