We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracehill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gracehill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Townsend B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were very lucky to find Gracehill last minute. Both of us live in Russia and we came to run NYC marathon which never happened in Nov 2012. It was very sad and we decided to leave the city for a couple of days. A friend of mine recommended me to go to Smoky Mountains and now I can definitely recommend that it worth to fly around the world not to see Smoky Mountains only but a GraceHill! I can not call in B&B because it not. It is a hidden 7 star hotel on the top of the mountain. Personally I am very well travelled and have been to more that 50 countries, experienced different luxury hotels, but Kathy's house gives you not only a beautiful accommodation but great, unique welcoming experience. Breakfast setting and meals itself are mind blowing. Safely back to Moscow now with our baby girl, we are very thankful to you, Kathy, for the perfect job you do to make your guests feel special. All the best for you! Hopefully to be back one day!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Gracehill is a beautiful mountain retreat with first class amenities. High in the Blue Ridge Mountains, the views were breathtaking. We had the glorious fall foliage to give us a golden palette. I cannot put into words how beautiful it was. To add to this special trip we had perfect accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. The Innkeeper here pays attention to very detail. Fresh flowers were in every room and snacks and drinks were always available. Information was also helpful on places to see and things to do. Gracehill was a unique experience in every way. "You should go!"

J Dame
Sikeston, Mo

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I just spent three nights at Gracehill B&B. Words cannot adequately describe the setting, the decor and the wonderful breakfasts that Kathleen provides for her guests/friends. We felt as if we were visiting an old friend with her and her Mom's hospitality. We learned more about the area as Kathy is conversant with the history and geography of the mountain. She gave us great tips on places to see and dine. The view is amazing. The inn is so well thought out with the decks, patio, rose garden and pond. The furnishings are chosen with care and good taste. The breakfasts are delicious and presented in such beautiful settings from the china to the crystal to the napkins with little touches in the centerpieces and plate decoration. I am so glad that we chose this inn and we plan on returning again. It was first class all the way. I plan on attempting to replicate the recipes but know mine will fall far short of Kathy's. Great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The website for Gracehill B&B initially sold me – I loved the beautiful pictures and wealth of information. But after a few emails and phone calls to owner/innkeeper Kathy Janke, I was definitely looking forward to meeting her as well. My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and our 4 night stay proved to be everything I had anticipated, and more. The view is spectacular. The house and gardens are gorgeous. Everything is comfortable, peaceful and calming. Don’t miss the quiet and view of early morning fog from the front porch. Go sightseeing or hiking and return for a jaw-dropping sunset view from the hot tub. Last but not least … Kathy herself is a real delight – so talented and personable, happy to share her knowledge of the area, and helpful with plans and directions. She’s also a fabulous cook! Our 3-course breakfast each day was a different menu and place setting from the previous, and as beautiful as it was delicious. The weather was fine enough to eat outside two mornings – what a treat.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, awesome decor, high ceilings. We stayed in Key Largo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twodillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This B&B is an interesting stop in Eastern TN. High up a mountain away from the tourists in Dollyland and other areas nea by. The drive up the hill is over a mile and the B&B could be a the 4000 foot elevation level.

The owner is very dedicated to her B&B and her guests. First class all the way. She also knows where to see the mountain sights and what roads to take. She even knows where the bears are and on what road and at what the location. Sorry Katthy- you will be asked about the bears by every guest in the future.

Bears in the Smoky's and Moose in Maine within a two month time period. Life is good.

We enjoyed our stay. The 5 Star rating for breakfast should be higher. Maybe the best anywhere. Please allow time to enjoy the morning meal. Allow at least an hour maybe a little more. You will not need lunch.

Not much more I can say. This is the best in this area.

Room Tip: Allow time for the views in the mornings and a great breakfast. These two things make this one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

4 of us (2 couples) enjoyed a 2 day stay. The owner/proprietor/chef/social director/concierge is Kathleen and she is remarkably accomplished. Our bedrooms were top notch and the breakfasts were worthy of a Michelin rating. Sitting on the spacious veranda watching the sunset was so relaxing and drinking coffee in the morning watching the changing sunlight playing on the mountains was a great way to start a day. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There isn't a "bad" room here; but we had a steam shower and a fireplace in our room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathie859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Having just visited Gracehill for the weekend - this spectacular place creates a definite mood upon arrival. Kathy, inkeeper and exquisite hostess, has the rare gift of sincere hospitality. Her passion for excellence is reflected in every part of what makes Gracehill so special. The attention to detail -- rooms, decorations, flowers, flowing water, Jacuzzi..is unsurpassed. Kathy's detailed knowledge of the history, transporation options, and available activities in the eastern TN area accentuates this true "get away from it all" location. Kathy's breakfast on the Verandah each morning, watching the sun break thru and over the mountains in panoramic view -- this is an experience par excellance and add's that extra touch.

Staying here reminded me of what the Vanderbilt's experienced during the gilded age. This is definitely a must if you are visiting eastern TN.

Room Tip: All rooms are specifically unique and exquisitely decorated. There is enough privacy to completely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
4.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Country Cascades
Country Cascades
#17 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.1 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gracehill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1169 Little Round Top Way, Townsend, TN 37882-3434
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 3yrs in a row, Best Scenic View from a B&B in the U.S., Inn Traveler Magazine. The highest home in the county with a 360-degree view of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Award Winning Gardens, Fireplaces, Whirlpools, Steam Shower, Fitness Center, Massage Therapist, Library, Free Wi-Fi, Guest Computer, Fax, Copier, Phones, Laundry, Complimentary Stocked Snack Bar, Large HD flat screen TV's with Satellite, Blue Ray DVD Player, and Private Balconies. Three-course elegant breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing