We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”
Review of Richmont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmont Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Townsend B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was my first stay at Richmont Inn. It was initially built about 20 years ago, and I remember hearing about it over the years so glad I was able to finally visit (I live about an hour away). I stayed in the main building and my room had a beautiful view of the mountains. The room was very nice and appeared to be very clean. The owner,Jim, was especially nice and gracious. I would say the grounds need some attention and tidying up a bit. None of the water features appeared to be working and there was damage to one of the buildings on the property from a lightening strike and was waiting repair work and the main building was having some work done as well. The breakfast was a little disappointing - the stuffed french toast...way too sweet for me, but they did offer yogurt and cereal. I've stayed in many B&B's over the years and have had some fantastic breakfasts..so that's what I'm comparing it with. All in all it was fine, but the owners just need to do some TLC around the grounds.

Room Tip: If you're staying here, you should get a room with the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KashiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    30
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Sequoyah room on the third floor, but we had a look at some of the other rooms as we had a choice had we wanted to change. The rooms are all beautifully furnished and spacious. The following morning we got to experience the stunning view from the breakfast room, the Inn is perfectly situated to take full advantage of the amazing scenery. The Inn is wonderfully peaceful, it was a lovely place to spend time.
Situated about five minutes drive from Townsend itself the Inn is reached through a manned barrier, there is a golf club with a good restaurant about half a mile up the road.
The candlelit dessert with coffee is a lovely treat in the evening as we're the breakfasts, although if you have any particular preferences or dietary requirements it would be worth letting the owners know in advance as the choices, whilst delicious, are fairly narrow.
Jim the owner made us feel very welcome and was very knowledgeable on the local area. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are travelling to the Smokies.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saxon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waukesha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Chief Attakullakulla room and found the entire experience to be quiet, peaceful and tranquil. Jim and Susan are true Southern-hospitality hosts! Jim was most helpful in planning our days. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Hooray for the french toast/croissant style with rummed bananas - my husband's favorite and 3 cheers for the French Baked Eggs! We looked forward to the evening desserts and coffee -- you will not be disappointed in their house speciality - creme brulee! The b&b is close to the park; which we found to be a real plus as we spent all of our time there. Also a plus, there are plenty of dining opportunities all within 5-30 minute drive. We are in the midst of planning a family reunion and hope to return to the Richmont Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill and carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joiner, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

For my grandparents 58th wedding anniversary I booked the a room here the owner Jim was the greatest! My grandparents came home from their trip raving about how nice and charming the owners were. Also they said that the rooms were lovely. They are planning a return trip next year. They loved the dessert at night and I had ordered a in room basket for when they arrived they said the food was wonderful. The best place they had ever stayed the night in! They did say it was a little hard to find but enjoyed themselves . The bed was soft and rooms were very clean!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Cant say enough great things about the Richmont! We have been several times and it gets better each time! Townsend is the most wonderful side of the Smokies - truly peaceful. And it has best access to Cades Cove which is our favorite part of GSM NP. Rooms are beautiful, food is excellent, so relaxing. We got a great picnic lunch to take to the park, ate along a creek in Cades Cove - perfect getaway!!! Put this one on your bucket list!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
305 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at this lovely, somewhat old fashioned B and B definitely on the quiet side of the smokys --- away from the very commercial towns of Pigeon Forge (truly unbelievable, and not in a good way....) and Gatlinburg. Jim is such an interesting host; we loved the time we spent speaking with him. We also really enjoyed our Fondue Dinner on Saturday night. Despite this being the "quiet side," we found a few decent places to eat. Also, a five minute drive away is the Laurel Valley Country Club with magnificent views. You can have a drink at the restaurant and stare at the mountains. Unfortunately for us, the National Park roads were closed for part of the time because of storm damage, but we found enough else to do, including taking the tour at the local cave, which is similar to Mammoth, although more commercial. There is wi-fi but no TV in the rooms (there is one TV in the small cafe), but if you need TV, you should go somewhere else. Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at the Richmont Inn and we couldn't be happier with the experience. The owners are so accomodating. Breakfasts at the Inn are included and are heavenly! Blueberry pancakes one morning and french toast stuffed with rum glazed bananas the next. The views of the Smokey Mountains are incrediblel, just outside your room. Plus, the Inn is located in Townsend TN, so it's much quieter, less crowded and MUCH less commercial than other Smokey Mtn cities in Tennessee. We reserved a suite and had the whole first floor to ourselves. The beds are so comfy, as are the accomodating guest chairs with foot stools. Bathroom shower was huge and the jacuzzi was a nice touch for those who like to "soak". We plan to return to Richmont Inn in the fall.

Room Tip: You can view each suite or room online. All have fabulous views. Suites are in a separate bldg from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiodj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
2.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
19.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Mist Country Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmont Inn

Property: Richmont Inn
Address: 220 Winterberry Ln, Townsend, TN 37882-3623
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 room luxury inn minutes from the heart of Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Spacious rooms and suites feature spa tubs, wood-burning fireplaces, homemade breakfast and candlelit dinner included daily, private balconies with stunning mountain views, and acres of wooded grounds to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richmont Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing