We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Quiet Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering River Resort
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Quiet Spot”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Went here for a weekend camping trip. Never been here before. Restroom facilities were very clean! Most sites for camper did not have trees / shade. Pool was nice but sauna wasn't working. Access to the river was fun and relaxing. Some noise from the road is evident at night. Very close to Smokey Mountain National Park (10 miles). You can take a tube up to a bridge close by and ride it down river a bit to the campsite. Other tubing places are near by too. Overall, nice quiet retreat if you want a nature trail kind of get away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy_JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

First let me say that this was our first experience with this campground and a horrible one! We made our reservations a couple months prior to check in and was going with some other friends who also made their reservations at the same time. We told the lady we wanted to be next to our friends and she said that would be no problem at all. So here it is a day before our check in (our friends decided to add another night and check in a day early) I get a phone call that she had made a mistake and checked in someone else under the same name and now we weren't gonna be able to be in the same site or even close to our friends. The worst part is they acted like they could care less and wasn't at all enthusiastic about fixing the mistake that THEY made!!!! So needless to say we will not and never will stay in this campground!!!!! HORRIBLE PLACE WITH HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!! Stay away!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We spent two nights in one of four cabins at Misty River and would return in a heartbeat. It was quiet, peaceful and beautiful. We did not have an RV but we did look at the facilities. The bathrooms are private and spotless. There are large fields to walk pets. (Note: carry a poop-scoop or bag, else you will be charged $49.99 for clean-up. There is a very witty notice on the counter where you check in.) A large in-ground pool was not yet open. There is a play area for children. The staff was friendly and helpful with advice about where to eat.

Room Tip: There are four cabins on the river. Two are decades old but have been completely renovated and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We received a free night stay in the campground from the business where we purchased our new camper. I called to make the reservation & told them we wanted to stay an additional night. We didn't have to put down a depost because of the free night. We got there at 6:00 p.m. & the office was closed. A paper with our name (spelled incorrectly) was taped to the office door, telling us our lot number & to come to the office after 11:00 a.m. the next morning to check in.

We were going to Dollywood the next morning & would be long gone from the campground by 11:00. We didn't plan to be back until late that night & leaving early the next morning. There would be no way for us to get to the office when it was open to pay for the second nights stay. We decided to pack up early, take the camper to Dollywood with us, & just go on home after our day at the park.

We never got to see anything at the campground because it was dark when we got there & freezing the next morning when we left. I did notice that one seat on our picnic table had a hole burned through it & was sitting on top of the fire pit.

The place might be better in the summer, but we won't return to find out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitney37354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a very nice campground! The staff is friendly and helpful and the mountains are beautiful. It is close to the tail of the Dragon. I can't wait to come back again this summer when it is a little bit warmer to ride the bike. What I like best is the private bathrooms. More campgrounds need a bath house like the one here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mount33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here mid October in a travel trailer. Everyone from the park was very friendly and accomofating to our needs. The park was clean and had nice facilities including laundry. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our pups also enjoyed their time here, as there is much room to take the dogs to play in the wide open fields. It was very pretty out when we were there as well. It is relatively close to Cades Cove, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jasonlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

If your looking for the Convienance of Town,then this place is good. It's only about 15min outside of Maryville,Tn. It's right next to Hwy 321 and all you can here are all the Motorcycle's and Traffic from the Road. I would not recommend this for that "Privacy" Type of place for Vacation. The Bed's in Serenity Cabin are Hard and Not Comfy. The cabin Supplies aren't great. As far as being Clean,the Housekeepers work really hard and Do a really good job. The only Complaint I have about that is I over heard the Owner Smart off to one of the Cleaning ladies...Not sure how they always treat there staff,but I wouldn't put up with it. And I know there housekeepr's must work really hard.
I don't think they Appreciate there staff, Would I recommend this place?...Probably not it's just to close to the city and Rates aren't worth it.

Room Tip: Noisy-No Privacy,to close to the Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
5.6 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
6.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
21.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
10.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering River Resort

Property: Whispering River Resort
Address: 5050 Old Walland Hwy, Walland, TN 37886-2346 (Formerly Misty River Resort)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a dream come true for a romantic getaway. Enjoy log cabins on the side of the Little River in the Smokey Mountains. From your bedroom window you can count the trout in the river and when you have a warm fire in the fireplace and your loved one by your side as you listen to the river just outside your window; nothing in the world could be better. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering River Resort Tennessee/Walland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing