We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, tastefully remodeled”
Review of Chilhowee Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Walland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I definitely recommend this marvelous bed and breakfast. My husband and I were very comfortable, and had a wonderful 2 nights. We received first class treatment all the way, even a full sized bar of soap! My only wish is that we could have stayed longer. I would love to sit on the porch in a rocking chair listening to the sound of the river for many more hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Chilhowee Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were only able to spend 2 nights here, but were so happy we did! John and Carolyn are excellent hosts, the scenery is awesome (despite being on the tip of spring!), breakfast amazing and evening dessert a perfect way to end the day! Our room was beautiful and comfortable, as was the breakfast room and the lovely front porch! We were made to feel very much "at home" and are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickibradfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

John and Carolyn were perfect hosts. They didn't hover, but if you needed some information regarding the area they were prompt to share what they knew. Their dining advice proved very gratifying. The fall beauty was on full display and if you like to hike you have abundant choices.
Their Inn is kept spotless and the history of the building is on display throughout. I would recommend this Inn for a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights this week at this wonderful B & B and we loved every minute! Carolyn and John are the best innkeepers we've ever met and we felt like we were staying with family. Their warmth and attention to details are amazing. We enjoyed them sitting with all of us guests and just visiting with us. This is the first B & B we've visited that served desert every night - what fun! We enjoyed the view of the river and loved the history of the inn. John is a big Tennessee football fan and we're big Alabama fans and even though our teams were playing this weekend, he was so still so kind to us. :) We WILL be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our second trip to the Inn. Another wonderful weekend. John and Carolyn are the Best hosts. It was a Beautiful, Quiet and Relaxing weekend. The breakfasts and homemade desserts were Amazing. We did the Dancing Bear Restaurant on Friday and the Firefly Cafe on Saturday Night. Both of our meals were excellent and we would highly recommend these restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaJuana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a great time during our short stay. Carolyn makes a large country style breakfast that will not leave you hungry. We were there on my birthday and Carolyn went out of her way to prepare country ham for me. She and her husband John are excellent hosts. The birthday card was a nice touch.

The Inn is convenient to Hwy 321 and Townsend and the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. It's also close enough to Knoxville to use for Tennessee Football weekends.

The Inn is a nicely restored early 1900's home with large rooms and a combination of antique and modern furnishings. There's a large front porch that invites you to sit and enjoy the company of friends and family.

We had a great time during our stay. This is easily one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohiovol5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My mom and I came to the Smokies to hike this Spring and stumbled over the Chilhowee Inn by chance, planning to stay one or two nights.We ended up staying six nights because we had such a wonderful experience. It was the perfect mixture of privacy and hospitality and was the most perfect place to come back to after days of 8-12 mile hikes. Can't recommend it highly enough! If you are in the area forget Gatlinburg! Come stay at "the peaceful side of the Smokies".

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent! Bit in some the bathroom, though private, is across the hall. It makes...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
5.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
195 reviews
6.1 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
515 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,394 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
574 reviews
5.2 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Inn

Address: 5291 Old Walland Hwy, PO Box 143, Walland, TN 37886-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Walland
Price Range: £99 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the Little River, in the foothills of the Smoky Mts. Conveniently located near National Park, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chilhowee Inn Tennessee/Walland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing