We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be well cared for in this peaceful, beautiful B&B”
Review of Chilhowee Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Walland B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You will be well cared for in this peaceful, beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

John & Carolyn Pullias have put their heart and soul into this historic Inn. My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful, clean, comfortable room with wonderful hospitality. Breakfast was great and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to visit the Walland/Townsend area. The Inn has been restored using as much as the original home could offer and it was obvious this is John & Carolyn's "labor of love". If you stay here, you will be welcomed with warmth and graciousness that is the heart of the people of East Tennessee. If you are a history buff, John is happy to give history on the Inn and the area in which it is located, dating back to Civil War days. They have some great pictures of the Inn and the area as it used to be in the early 1900's. Anyone who stays with John and Carolyn will leave relaxed and happy!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbswart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I had the opportunity to spend one night at the Chilhowee Inn while traveling for business. It was a delightful experience. The Inn Keepers are wonderful people and make you feel like one of the family. The Inn is over 100 years old and they have worked to preserve the history of the Inn. The room, the rocking chairs on the front porch over looking a river, and the service was excellent. Each morning they serve a "country breakfast" and at night you are served homemade pie and ice cream. They are located at the foothills of the Smoky Mountains which allows quick access to Gatlinburg TN and to restaurants. I would highly recommend this wonderful experience to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeSomerset_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Chilhowee Inn on the weekend so we could attend a family celebration in the area. Our stay felt like we were visiting family – the furnishings are attractive but not pretentious antiques which you’d be afraid to use. John and Carolyn regularly checked with us to be sure we had all we needed and also spent time with us enjoying a perfect Smoky Mountain evening on their porch. The dessert and breakfast they offered were beyond our expectations. It was difficult to leave this very special place.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The rooms and service were better than expected. The southern breakfast was abundant and delicious. There is so much to do in this area with the Smokeys so near by and close vacinity to Pigeon Forge and Dollywood. If you want pampering to be the start and finish of your day, make the little drive past Townsend and stay with Carolyn and John. You will not be disappointed. It's a great value also!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithlk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Chilhowee Inn last October, after spending a week hiking in the Smokies. We have stayed many places surrounding the national park in the past 20 years, but nothing compared to the Chilhowee Inn for the overall experience. Because of this, we booked our reservations for the following Valentine's Day before we ever left the inn.

The Inn is a superior experience in so many ways: the history, the building itself, the views of the river and the mountains, but especially the host and hostess: John and Carolyn are the best at making you feel relaxed and at home, and the country breakfast that is served is delicious!

This is a gem: a bed & breakfast with clean, comfortable rooms, attentive hosts, exceptional food, and an affordable price.

If you are looking for an authentic Great Smoky Mountains experience, do not miss the Chilhowee Inn!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobobLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

If you plan to visit Smokey Mountain National Park, Pigeon Forge, Historic Gatlinburg or anywhere else in East Tenessess, treat yourself to a wonderful experience at the Chilhowee Inn. Inn Keepers John and Carolyn Pulius are delightful. The Inn is located on the Little River, less than 10 miles from the Park and very rich in history. You will be made to feel at home with a wonderful breakfast, choice of comfortable, well decorated rooms and beautiful common areas. You can relax on the spacious front porch in a rocking chair to the soothing sound of the river. I plan to return in the spring with my family for a visit to enjoy all of the areas attractions.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertpotts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
5.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
6.1 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
507 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
115 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
11.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Inn

Property: Chilhowee Inn
Address: 5291 Old Walland Hwy, PO Box 143, Walland, TN 37886-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the Little River, in the foothills of the Smoky Mts. Conveniently located near National Park, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chilhowee Inn Tennessee/Walland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing